We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved everything except the location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kyoto Brighton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Kyoto Brighton Hotel to your Saves list
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   330 Shiteicho, Nakadachiuri, Shinmachi-dori, Kamigyo-ku | (West side of Gosho), Kyoto 602-8071, Kyoto Prefecture (Nishijin District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 343 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loved everything except the location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed 5 nights at the Kyoto Brighton Hotel and it was wonderful. We travelled with a toddler and we needed the extra space, and the hotel did not disappoint!

The room was spacious (even by Australian standards) and beautifully appointed, and the bathroom was luxurious with a great shower and tub!

The hotel staff were incredibly helpful and polite and most spoke English. We didn't eat at the hotel, so I can't comment.

Aside from taxis, we used the shuttle bus a fair bit to get to the train station Karasuma Oike. The bus leaves every 20mins and based on our experience, it is always on time (it cuts both ways - 10secs late and you will miss the bus!). FYI: it costs approx 1,500yen in taxi fare from Kyoto station to the hotel, not too bad if you have luggage.

The hotel doesn't have WiFi in the room but I was able to access the free lobby area WiFi by standing near the room door.

My only gripe about the hotel is its location. Food options are really limited in the area. It is a pain to get to the department stores and Gion area attractions. On the plus side, the hotel is close to the Imperial Palace and Nijo Castle.

Overall I rated the hotel as excellent as we really enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    190
    36
    10
    8
See reviews for
185
172
30
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

A very well run hotel with excellent service in a quiet residential location near the Imperial Palace park. The shuttle bus to a major subway station and central downtown avenue is handy. zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
90 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The hotel is definitely value for money. Service is excellent, and the rooms are very well-appointed. Shower and toilet facilities are excellent.
Breakfast is too expensive at 23,000 yen. There is a convenient shuttle bus taking you into town every half hour.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The staff make this place. Stayed six nights. Large quiet room. I lost my phone in a taxi. The front desk called ALL the taxi companies trying to locate it. I also recommend some of the neighbourhood restaurants - for breakfast we walked around the corner to a place called Brazil - great cheese on toast and salad served by a man who knows his coffee. For dinner we went to a great place two blocs away. Hotel restaurant is very good as well. Again, recommendations came from the assistant manager.

I liked that the hotel was in a residential area and the Imperial Palace gardens is great for runners (him) or walkers (me). It's all so close anyway - the station was only a 15 min walk. Would recommend riding bikes to all the sites - actually this is the only issue with the hotel. Their bikes are old.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
128 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Once again, checking reviews in Trip Advisor did not fail me. Kyoto Brighton hotel had rave reviews and I would like to add mine to the long list.
The hotel is near the Imperial Palace Park and quite a way off from the downtown or Kyoto station area. This made it a little bit more out of the way, since we were trying to squeeze in a lot of sights in a week-end but the fact that it was in a quiet and residential sort of place added to the charm -- after all, who would want to be right in the middle of the action in Kyoto -- a place famous for serenity and calm? Brighton was perfect -- it was an oasis of quiet to come home to, after a long day of cramming in all the sightseeing we could do.
The hotel has a huge atrium and this adds to the light and spacious feeling. The rooms are large and so is the tub -- while it wasn't a wooden tub, I enjoyed luxuriating in the hot water after a long day -- pretending I was in my private onsen.
The staff are very polite, helpful and did their best to map out a strategy of sightseeing which would allow us to cover as much as we could in two whole days. The concierge and the front desk staff spoke english so that was a big help.
There is a free shuttle bus that leaves every 20 minutes to take you to the nearest subway where you can connect to Kyoto station. But since the area around the hotel was so interesting anyway and with lots of small shrines to see along the way, we found that skipping the shuttle rewarded us with small discoveries along the way.
We had breakfast in the hotel and the choices were very elegant and refined -- much like the over all atmosphere and tone of the place. I specially liked the yoghurt that they made themselves and the breads that were baked on site.
This is a terrific place to enjoy Kyoto -- traditional Japanese hospitality and yet with all the modern efficiencies and professional and courteous service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We were made to feel incredibly welcome throughout our stay. From the manager that left some sweets and a note in our room (as it was our honeymoon) to the staff that were always willing to help with any questions we could throw at them.
The hotel itself was excellent with a number of different restaurants on site. We didn't use the fitness centre as we weren't there for long.
It's possible to walk from the hotel to the centre of Kyoto but it might take a bit of time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We have been to Kyoto in last summer and stayed at this fantastic hotel. The room and bathroom were very clean and in good size (not too small as in Japan some of good price hotel offers really tight room). There were good selection of restaurants, especially the Chinese restaurant offered good set deal even though we do not normally look for bargain food but that was one of nice Chinese meals we've had in Japan. The pool was bit small and quiet but pleasant. The room rate was very good price because of the location I think. It is bit far from city center, you need to take some bus from Kyoto station and it is located in very residential area.
In overall, very happy staying it was.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#21 of 343 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 746 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#24 of 343 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#20 of 343 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 2,093 reviews
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
City Center
The Westin Miyako Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kyoto Brighton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyoto Brighton Hotel

Address: 330 Shiteicho, Nakadachiuri, Shinmachi-dori, Kamigyo-ku | (West side of Gosho), Kyoto 602-8071, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Nishijin District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 343 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kyoto Brighton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award Winning HotelLocated at heart of Kyoto with newly renovated Atrium lobby and bar. The hotel has won 4 Black Pavilion on Michelin's guide in 2012 and is located near Nijo Castle, Nishi-jin and other must see tour spots. Facilities and servicesFree shuttle bus to Karasumaoike is available. Also there are 6 restaurants/bars offering cuisines from traditional Japanese to contemporary Western with chef from International Culinary Olympics Japan team. Spacious Guest roomsRenovated in 2010, all rooms include hotel's original brand Dream Journey Bed, large size bathtub and a cotton waffle bathrobes with night shirts. Flat-screen TV is viewable from both the bed and dining area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Fastbooking, Odigeo, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Venere, EasyToBook and Jetsetter so you can book your Kyoto Brighton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kyoto Brighton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.