We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Miyako Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added New Miyako Hotel to your Saves list
New Miyako Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Nishi Kujoin-machi, Minami-ku, Kyoto 601-8412, Kyoto Prefecture (Kyoto Station)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 333 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 stars 976 Reviews
Tisdale, SK
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The hotel was perfect being right across the street from the Kyoto Train Station. But be prepared it is a bit confusing getting the right exit from the train station to the hotel. The room was very clean, as was the rest of the hotel, and the staff and concierge service was very helpful. The beds were very comfortable and there wasn't any noise from the train station. The location was great! The only negative was the restaurants was very expensive but being across from the train station we found many reasonable places to eat there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    520
    191
    41
    16
See reviews for
292
277
84
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

It`s our first trip here in Japan and basically we do not know how to commute around in Japan. The japanese doesnt speak much of English.

We got into this hotel because it was very free to Kyoto Station. We flew in to Kansai Airport and took the JR Railway to Kyoto. The hotel is a stone throw away and we got there within 5 minutes. Opposite the hotel is a shopping mall where you can find lots of food and marts.

We had a room on the south wing which was very nice and I would say it was rather spacious. You have Lan in your room, and you can only use the wifi in the lobby< You have to ask the hotel reception for the password> Other amenties such as the shower was rather spacious too.

Location is good. You are near the subway station and also the bus interchange. Basically you can hope onto a bus and get to all the various attraction Kyoto has to offer.

Recommended for its location, and also for the spacious and clean room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed in 2 rooms for 3 nights, with my teenagers. I could not fault the location as we were across the road from the train station which we used everyday. The train station is huge and has such a great selection of restaurants and convenience stores with very reasonable prices. Hotels in Kyoto are so pricey and it was hard to make a decision but the location was superb. There's not much in the way of facilities and the rooms were a little tight but the showers were good, the beds comfortable,and it was spotlessly clean. We had breakfast included which was good but offered pretty basic western fare, it did save buying anything out until late in the day. We found this the perfect spot for our daily sightseeing, using trains, taxis and buses it was easy to get back to the hotel each time as we just aimed for Kyoto station. Kyoto is such a pretty city I would love to come back My heart is still at Kiyomizu and I need to go back there in the spring or autumn. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The location of New Miyako Hotel was a step away from Kyoto Station, which had many restaurants/shops and allowed us to easily travel around Kyoto over the 5 days we were there. The room was a little outdated, although the room size made up for this. I would possibly recommend the premium room if it is not much extra. The staff were great and very helpful. The only letdown was wifi was only accessible in the lobby. Overall, we had a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was ok. Our room was right down the end of the long corridor which meant a big walk to get back to the room and we were also very close to a crosswalk which meant constant beeping and chirping from 7am until 10pm. That's ok if you don't like your sleepins. Wifi only in the lobby and I assume the next floor or two up if your room is centrally located. Very nice staff and good location. Recommended for the budget conscious only.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney,australia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This place is close to the station, convenient also to shops, a big supermarket and many inexpensive eating places. The room was a good size given that it was considerably less expensive than other places we stayed at. It had all the conveniences we wished for however the bedspread/quilts on the bed were synthetic and very slippery meaning they slid on to the floor several times a night and interrupting sleep.Other than that I thought it was great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Our second stay in New Miyako in Kyoto once again confirm what a delightful place they have right by Kyoto station. It is convenient to the subway, trains and the buses that are so useful to ride to vist the attractions in Kyoto and the environs. The shops and restaurants in Kyoto station are all a short walk away. Most helpful is the convnenience of two tour information services run by volunteers at the station itself providing valuable information to the sights.
The check-in service is very efficient and so is the baggage storage for those who are early for check-in or need more time to shop after check-out. The rooms are large by Japanese standard (more akin to western-size hotel rooms) and so is the bathroom. A definite place to return on furutr visits to Kyoto..

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the inside courtyard for that extra peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Miyako Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Miyako Hotel

Address: 17 Nishi Kujoin-machi, Minami-ku, Kyoto 601-8412, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#19 Family Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Miyako Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 714
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Rakuten and Tingo so you can book your New Miyako Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Miyako Kyoto
Hotel New Miyako
New Miyako Hotel Kyoto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Miyako Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.