We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get what you pay for.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of New Miyako Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added New Miyako Hotel to your Saves list
New Miyako Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Nishi Kujoin-machi, Minami-ku, Kyoto 601-8412, Kyoto Prefecture (Southern Kyoto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 344 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Perth
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Get what you pay for.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was ok. Our room was right down the end of the long corridor which meant a big walk to get back to the room and we were also very close to a crosswalk which meant constant beeping and chirping from 7am until 10pm. That's ok if you don't like your sleepins. Wifi only in the lobby and I assume the next floor or two up if your room is centrally located. Very nice staff and good location. Recommended for the budget conscious only.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    673
    235
    54
    20
See reviews for
385
354
106
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney,australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This place is close to the station, convenient also to shops, a big supermarket and many inexpensive eating places. The room was a good size given that it was considerably less expensive than other places we stayed at. It had all the conveniences we wished for however the bedspread/quilts on the bed were synthetic and very slippery meaning they slid on to the floor several times a night and interrupting sleep.Other than that I thought it was great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Our second stay in New Miyako in Kyoto once again confirm what a delightful place they have right by Kyoto station. It is convenient to the subway, trains and the buses that are so useful to ride to vist the attractions in Kyoto and the environs. The shops and restaurants in Kyoto station are all a short walk away. Most helpful is the convnenience of two tour information services run by volunteers at the station itself providing valuable information to the sights.
The check-in service is very efficient and so is the baggage storage for those who are early for check-in or need more time to shop after check-out. The rooms are large by Japanese standard (more akin to western-size hotel rooms) and so is the bathroom. A definite place to return on furutr visits to Kyoto..

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the inside courtyard for that extra peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
130 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

At just Y16,000 for two rooms (and a total of 5 people), this was the cheapest hotel we stayed in during our trip to Japan. The hotel is large, relatively new, and located just outside Kyoto station. This made it very convenient for getting on the train and subway. The rooms were typical Japanese hotel rooms with a plastic bathroom, but we had no complaints. We were in Kyoto to see ancient temples, not to stay in the hotel.

Room Tip: Excellent value -- a rarity in Japan
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
162 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Very well kept (we stayed in the South Tower, supposed to be better) and located – just across Kyoto rail station, the New Miyako was a great choice. The tour bus departs from the other side of the station, so it’s even more convenient.

The room was of a decent size, immaculately clean, and services – front desk, concierge and bell boys (and girls) worked very well.

Baggage service was actually funny: as check-in in Japan is usually late – from 2 to 4PM – once you walk inside the lobby an army of bell girls take your bags, give you receipts and bring them to a safe room. I had to get something from my backpack just when it was going inside the room, and I was not allowed to do so: I had to wait outside with my receipt, get what I wanted, and then the backpack was returned to its safe place. Different, but you do feel very safe! There was a long line there at the actual check-in time, but the “army” gets the bags quite well.

There are shops – including a nice grocery - and good restaurants at the station just across the street, so it’s very convenient if you want to save at breakfast and also for your meals. Kyoto station looks more like a big mall than a train station. You can be confused for a while to get where you want: train, bus or shopping?

There is a cab rank at the hotel and the porter will make sure the driver will bring you where you want to go.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This hotel is a stone throw away from Kyoto Station. Easy to find, and great amenities around. There is a tourist information counter which gives excellent english walking tours of which the starting point (from taking bus) is from the station itself. Besides this hotel is a huge AEON mall where you can get food, Daiso, toys r us and even a gap outlet!

Room is comfortable, but small which is atypical of all Japan hotels. There are a few options for breakfast which may get very crowded and long queue early in the morning before the tourists set off for their day's plan. I personally like the traditional Japanese breakfast set to the international buffet.

I will stay this hotel again when i visit Kyoto again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The location was decent and the rooms spacious. Walls and ceiling were patchy with what looked like water leakages and seepages. The wall was also cracked. Body wash dispenser in the bathroom was dirty with rings of dirt - yucks. Wi-fi signal was also very weak.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#23 of 344 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 2,161 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
#115 of 344 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 stars 810 reviews
City Center
Hotel Monterey Kyoto
Hotel Monterey Kyoto
#50 of 344 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Century Hotel
Kyoto Century Hotel
#70 of 344 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 stars 405 reviews
Southern Kyoto
Ibis Styles Kyoto Station
Southern Kyoto
Almont Hotel Kyoto
Almont Hotel Kyoto
#25 of 344 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Miyako Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Miyako Hotel

Address: 17 Nishi Kujoin-machi, Minami-ku, Kyoto 601-8412, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Southern Kyoto , Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#20 Family Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Miyako Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 714
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, JAPANiCAN, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Rakuten, Odigeo, Otel, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your New Miyako Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Miyako Kyoto
Hotel New Miyako
New Miyako Hotel Kyoto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Miyako Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.