We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, Convenient, Clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Miyako Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added New Miyako Hotel to your Saves list
New Miyako Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Nishi Kujoin-machi, Minami-ku, Kyoto 601-8412, Kyoto Prefecture (Kyoto Station)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 342 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Cheap, Convenient, Clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

At just Y16,000 for two rooms (and a total of 5 people), this was the cheapest hotel we stayed in during our trip to Japan. The hotel is large, relatively new, and located just outside Kyoto station. This made it very convenient for getting on the train and subway. The rooms were typical Japanese hotel rooms with a plastic bathroom, but we had no complaints. We were in Kyoto to see ancient temples, not to stay in the hotel.

Room Tip: Excellent value -- a rarity in Japan
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    609
    221
    49
    19
See reviews for
349
320
99
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Very well kept (we stayed in the South Tower, supposed to be better) and located – just across Kyoto rail station, the New Miyako was a great choice. The tour bus departs from the other side of the station, so it’s even more convenient.

The room was of a decent size, immaculately clean, and services – front desk, concierge and bell boys (and girls) worked very well.

Baggage service was actually funny: as check-in in Japan is usually late – from 2 to 4PM – once you walk inside the lobby an army of bell girls take your bags, give you receipts and bring them to a safe room. I had to get something from my backpack just when it was going inside the room, and I was not allowed to do so: I had to wait outside with my receipt, get what I wanted, and then the backpack was returned to its safe place. Different, but you do feel very safe! There was a long line there at the actual check-in time, but the “army” gets the bags quite well.

There are shops – including a nice grocery - and good restaurants at the station just across the street, so it’s very convenient if you want to save at breakfast and also for your meals. Kyoto station looks more like a big mall than a train station. You can be confused for a while to get where you want: train, bus or shopping?

There is a cab rank at the hotel and the porter will make sure the driver will bring you where you want to go.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This hotel is a stone throw away from Kyoto Station. Easy to find, and great amenities around. There is a tourist information counter which gives excellent english walking tours of which the starting point (from taking bus) is from the station itself. Besides this hotel is a huge AEON mall where you can get food, Daiso, toys r us and even a gap outlet!

Room is comfortable, but small which is atypical of all Japan hotels. There are a few options for breakfast which may get very crowded and long queue early in the morning before the tourists set off for their day's plan. I personally like the traditional Japanese breakfast set to the international buffet.

I will stay this hotel again when i visit Kyoto again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The location was decent and the rooms spacious. Walls and ceiling were patchy with what looked like water leakages and seepages. The wall was also cracked. Body wash dispenser in the bathroom was dirty with rings of dirt - yucks. Wi-fi signal was also very weak.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA, USA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

While there is almost no such thing as being centrally located in Kyoto, this hotel is in a great location since you can reach most areas of the city easily by train/subway, bus, or on foot. It's located across the street from the main Kyoto JR station, which has more stores and restaurants than many malls we've been to--anything from quick snacks to gourmet, sit-down meals. The 10th floor of the Isetan department store is packed with traditional Ramen houses, so be sure to have a meal there and check out the roof deck while you're up there!

The staff was helpful and everyone spoke English, and the doormen always made you feel welcome on your way in. The lobby was a great place to hang out, and the Internet access there was fast enough for VoIP/Skype calls (the in-room Internet was a bit too slow).

If your budget allows, spring for one of the Premier Floor rooms: they are significantly newer, more modern, and larger than the regular rooms. Even the hallways have a modern, trendy decor on these floors. Request a view of the courtyard/garden to avoid the noise of the JR station across the street.

Breakfast tip: stop by Sizuya across the street in the train station for a big selection of cheap breakfast pastries and sandwiches (you can even pay with a Tokyo transit Suica card)!

Room Tip: If your budget allows, spring for one of the Premier Floor rooms: they are significantly newer, more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed here 3 nights. Location is awesome, opposite the JR station! Its a bit tricky to make sure you get out of the station on the right side but there are plenty of signs in English and the Japanese people are always willing to help. Rooms are super clean and the size is OK for japan standards. Used the luggage storage as we arrived early by train..this was done very professionally. Staff are very welcoming and professional. This is certainly the location you would want to stay at in Kyoto if you want to be in the middle of everything with transport, food and sight seeing options in abundance. Use the subway and bus stations ( which are very close) to get to all of Kyoto's best sites which are scattered all around this beautiful city!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

So the perks of this hotel - Great location, friendly staff, good food at the breakfast buffet in the morning.

I do not know if all the rooms are like this but we really struggled with mold/mildew smell in our rooms. They moved me twice because I have a severe allergy to mold and I could not breathe in two of the rooms. I noticed there were dry watermarks along the wallpaper which indicated there was water damage at some point. They switched me to a different side of the hotel and I did not have any problems there. The rooms felt much like a dorm but that's okay. If you're out and about exploring Kyoto and use the rooms to sleep in you're alright. The staff was very accommodating and understanding when they had to switch my room. The employee actually stayed with me when we got to the second room to make sure I was going to be comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to New Miyako Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Miyako Hotel

Address: 17 Nishi Kujoin-machi, Minami-ku, Kyoto 601-8412, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#19 Family Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Miyako Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 714
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Agoda, Otel, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Rakuten and Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) so you can book your New Miyako Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Miyako Kyoto
Hotel New Miyako
New Miyako Hotel Kyoto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Miyako Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.