We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Miyako Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added New Miyako Hotel to your Saves list
New Miyako Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Nishi Kujoin-machi, Minami-ku, Kyoto 601-8412, Kyoto Prefecture (Southern Kyoto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 344 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This hotel is a stone throw away from Kyoto Station. Easy to find, and great amenities around. There is a tourist information counter which gives excellent english walking tours of which the starting point (from taking bus) is from the station itself. Besides this hotel is a huge AEON mall where you can get food, Daiso, toys r us and even a gap outlet!

Room is comfortable, but small which is atypical of all Japan hotels. There are a few options for breakfast which may get very crowded and long queue early in the morning before the tourists set off for their day's plan. I personally like the traditional Japanese breakfast set to the international buffet.

I will stay this hotel again when i visit Kyoto again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    672
    235
    54
    20
See reviews for
385
353
105
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The location was decent and the rooms spacious. Walls and ceiling were patchy with what looked like water leakages and seepages. The wall was also cracked. Body wash dispenser in the bathroom was dirty with rings of dirt - yucks. Wi-fi signal was also very weak.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA, USA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

While there is almost no such thing as being centrally located in Kyoto, this hotel is in a great location since you can reach most areas of the city easily by train/subway, bus, or on foot. It's located across the street from the main Kyoto JR station, which has more stores and restaurants than many malls we've been to--anything from quick snacks to gourmet, sit-down meals. The 10th floor of the Isetan department store is packed with traditional Ramen houses, so be sure to have a meal there and check out the roof deck while you're up there!

The staff was helpful and everyone spoke English, and the doormen always made you feel welcome on your way in. The lobby was a great place to hang out, and the Internet access there was fast enough for VoIP/Skype calls (the in-room Internet was a bit too slow).

If your budget allows, spring for one of the Premier Floor rooms: they are significantly newer, more modern, and larger than the regular rooms. Even the hallways have a modern, trendy decor on these floors. Request a view of the courtyard/garden to avoid the noise of the JR station across the street.

Breakfast tip: stop by Sizuya across the street in the train station for a big selection of cheap breakfast pastries and sandwiches (you can even pay with a Tokyo transit Suica card)!

Room Tip: If your budget allows, spring for one of the Premier Floor rooms: they are significantly newer, more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed here 3 nights. Location is awesome, opposite the JR station! Its a bit tricky to make sure you get out of the station on the right side but there are plenty of signs in English and the Japanese people are always willing to help. Rooms are super clean and the size is OK for japan standards. Used the luggage storage as we arrived early by train..this was done very professionally. Staff are very welcoming and professional. This is certainly the location you would want to stay at in Kyoto if you want to be in the middle of everything with transport, food and sight seeing options in abundance. Use the subway and bus stations ( which are very close) to get to all of Kyoto's best sites which are scattered all around this beautiful city!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

So the perks of this hotel - Great location, friendly staff, good food at the breakfast buffet in the morning.

I do not know if all the rooms are like this but we really struggled with mold/mildew smell in our rooms. They moved me twice because I have a severe allergy to mold and I could not breathe in two of the rooms. I noticed there were dry watermarks along the wallpaper which indicated there was water damage at some point. They switched me to a different side of the hotel and I did not have any problems there. The rooms felt much like a dorm but that's okay. If you're out and about exploring Kyoto and use the rooms to sleep in you're alright. The staff was very accommodating and understanding when they had to switch my room. The employee actually stayed with me when we got to the second room to make sure I was going to be comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Level Contributor
99 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The location is very convenient as it is located by the train station, very close to the bus station. The train station includes a mall and lots of restaurants.

Rooms are small as with all Japanese hotels, but at least foreigners can fit in, not like the real Japanese hotels where Japanese lodge

It has a nice sky bar

Room Tip: By the station side, there could be an entertaining view, yet more noisy. So if you prefer absolute...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
630 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 411 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

If you arrive by train and are tired from continuous travel for 24 hours, getting out of the Kyoto train station on the right side may be your greatest challenge. Depending on the line on which you arrive, you may need to escalate over the rails and back down to street level. The problem is that with all the shops and levels, the signage does not consistently point you where you need to go. The Hachijo West exit is the one you want to take. If you are on a level with no signs specifying that exit, change levels and follow signs for Exit 7, or West exit or JR West exit until you see signs for Hachijo West exit. This exit is opposite the bus Porta and subway terminals that are on the east side. On one level following the Pedestrian Walkway will take you to the signage that you need. As you approach the Hachijo West exit there are stairs down to the right and an escalator to the left. The stair side is the direction you need to go but if you need to take the escalator with your bags you can do so and then turn 180 degrees for a long block walk to where you will see the New Miyako Hotel sign high up on a large white structure just across the street.

The New Miyako Hotel was our home for six lovely days and nights. We had a run of the house room in the older section and found it sufficiently large and pleasant. The hotel was very competently run and extremely convenient to train, bus and subway. The concierge was very helpful. The bell desk loaned us great see-thru plastic umbrellas. We had our own internet access device so the complaints by others about slow internet access in the evening did not apply to us. The device was handy when we were out on the street because it was portable and we could look up maps and track our progress on buses so we knew where and when to get off. We didn't eat at the hotel but did pick up food at the train station for breakfast and dinner and the price there was right. Nice experience over all.

Room Tip: Our room in the older section on the fourth floor looked out over the train station and we could se...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#23 of 344 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 2,156 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
#115 of 344 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 stars 810 reviews
City Center
Hotel Monterey Kyoto
Hotel Monterey Kyoto
#50 of 344 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Century Hotel
Kyoto Century Hotel
#70 of 344 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 stars 404 reviews
Southern Kyoto
Ibis Styles Kyoto Station
Southern Kyoto
Almont Hotel Kyoto
Almont Hotel Kyoto
#25 of 344 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Miyako Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Miyako Hotel

Address: 17 Nishi Kujoin-machi, Minami-ku, Kyoto 601-8412, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Southern Kyoto , Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#20 Family Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Miyako Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 714
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Odigeo, Otel, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your New Miyako Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Miyako Kyoto
Hotel New Miyako
New Miyako Hotel Kyoto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Miyako Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.