We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Ryokan on the canal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RyokanYuhara

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kyoto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
RyokanYuhara
Save
You added RyokanYuhara to your Saves list
Ryokan
  |   188 Kagiyacho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8126 , Kyoto Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 334 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 stars 38 Reviews
Kuching, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Little Ryokan on the canal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We managed to find this wonderful ryokan in Kyoto through a helpful local as it was not listed on most of the websites i have been in. maybe that's also the reason that we were able to find rooms here while every rooms or beds in every other place is taken.
A family run business for many years, Yuhara- san (77 yrs old) and her son offer the building next to their family home to foreigners. its right next to a small river/canal lined with cherry trees, so you can expect a very spectacular view from the Ryokan during the Sakura season.
The rooms are huge and very very comfortable with futons on tatami mats. Green tea and cakes were being offered almost at all times from the family kitchen. Yuhara san also knows some of the best restaurants in her neighborhood and speaks english reasonably well. I have recommended this Ryokan to many of my friends and fellow travelers we met. and they all love it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    10
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
4
19
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We have stayd there 3 times over the years. If you arrive in the late afternoon Mrs. Youhara welcomes you with a cup of tea and arsk you when you like to go to bath. You put on your yokata drink your tea and wait for Mrs. Yuhara. After the bath you are redy to go out in the Black Kyoto Night and get slomething to eat. The frist time we wisited the place, Mrs. Yuhara advised us in Japanece customs. it was funny and usefull. The place is a little primitive and we like it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orchard, Washington
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

My husband and I are Americans living in Japan most of the year, so we are used to Japanese inns. After an uncomfortable night in a "modern" hotel near the train station, we so enjoyed our three nights here. Our hosts, Yuhara-san and her son, were warm and always willing to help out. We learned that this traditional Japanese inn is run as a Japanese-style inn for foreigners, so the hosts are used to and forgiving of foreigners' lack of familiarity with Japanese inn customs. The price was very reasonable by Japanese standards, but there are trade-offs. The rooms have a lavatory only. Bathing and toilets are shared. Also there are no meals offered at the inn which seemed unusual to us. Our room was spotless and well-appointed, but not much of a view. We might have preferred a room facing the canal. Our stay was quiet and relaxed. We felt very comfortable here, and it was well-located for us - close enough to what we wanted to do, but far enough away to be quiet. The only thing that keeps me from rating this property as "excellent" was the absence of Japanese breakfast served at the inn.

Room Tip: We think we would have preferred a room with a view of the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

We stayed at Yuhara with my wife for the our first night in Japan. I wish we had stayed longer, as the hosts at Yuhara were so warm and welcoming. Yuhara is located at a very nice and peaceful area with no noises bothering at night - something we came to value when we stayed at a more centrally located ryokan later. This means one has to walk a little bit to get to the main shopping/night-life area, if that is what one is after.

When comparing online, the facilities may seem to offer less than more expensive ryokans (no in-room toilet/bath for instance), but my own view of what is need changed after our trip. I think the shared toilet and bath qualifies it for more authentic japanese experience. However I recommend that you prepare yourself for the morning by getting something to eat in the morning as launching yourself out the door with an empty belly to look for the nearest cafe makes anyone a bit grumpy.

I highly recommend Yuhara. Mrs. Yuhara and her son are like people from a movie.. even though the people in Japan are very nice everywhere, we missed these ones for the rest of our trip!

Room Tip: Our room had a little balcony on the street side, where it was nice to sit and look over the little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

We stayed there 3 nights with my wife and my small child.

The ryokan is well located in Kyoto in the center of the city, however near a small canal full of mosquitos. The owner and his mother are very kind and helpfull, but do not speak a very good english. The ryokan provides a computer with free internet, but there is no kitchen, no fridge and even no boiler.

There is no room with bathroom, so we had a big japaneese room without bathroom, with 2 yukatas. There is a shower on the 2nd floor and a bathroom on the ground floor, which you cannot use freely : you have to ask the owner to prepare you a japanese bath 30 minutes before you get in... so we did not use it for our baby.
To conclude, we had a nice stay in this ryokan, but for 9.660Y per night, this was quite expensive.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

I did hesitate whether to choose Yuhara after having read about the bugs.. and even had booked another accomodation in Kyoto first. How good that I changed to this one!
It was a lovely, only 2 nights stay. The place is very conveniently located, 15 min. walk from Kyoto station in a lovely small street by a channel. Very easy to find because of this fact - I have no idea why others had problem. The place was throughly renovated in Nove 2009 so believe me, it is impeccably clean. I loved it all, first of all my room, so cosy. Maybe from the amenities I missed was a kettle in a room and hairdryier - but you can take it from the reception and I was given hot water to make my tea in the morning too. You just have to ask.
The vicitinty of a rent-bike place was an absolute advantage - with a bike sighsteeing is much more pleasant and easier.
Not to forget the landlords, oh no! Maybe it is not so imprtant for you but you can imagine how it was for me, when I heard my landlord saying to me phrases in Polish, my mother tongue - "sleep well", "see you tonight", "have a good day and nice sightseeing", not to foreget "the bath is ready" when he called me at a room. He was so nice and helpful. approached with self-made map with all places of interest around. I will definitely come back there once in Kyoto.
The place is not for night life lovers - it closes at 11 pm (to me it was great, no noise in the middle of the night) and also it doeas not serve breakfasts, but since I never take it, no problem at all. No wifi in the room but WLAN in a lobby.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

Mrs Yuhara and her son run a wonderfully warm and welcoming establishment. The whole place has been recently refurbished to impeccable standard and it was the best-value-for-money accommodation we had in Japan. In a lovely quiet neighbourhood too, yet very close and easy access to top sights. The Bamboo room is especially lovely so ask for it if you can. the river was dry when we were there which was a shame, but it would be a really beautiful setting when it's running. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to RyokanYuhara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RyokanYuhara

Address: 188 Kagiyacho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8126 , Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Ryokanyuhara Hotel Kyoto
Ryokan Yuhara
Ryokan Kyoto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RyokanYuhara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.