We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel opposite a unique castle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto to your Saves list
ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nijojo-mae, Horikawa-dori, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 604-0055, Japan (Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #92 of 333 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Didcot, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel opposite a unique castle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Due to the time we were travelling (during Golden Week), we booked this hotel as an alternative for a few nights as we could not get the full time in Kyoto at the hotel we wanted.

It was very upmarket with a huge suite (the sort I would expect in a US hotel but 4 times bigger than most Japanese hotel rooms) and expensive restaurants and shops in the basement. Very helpful staff and being so close to Nijo Castle actually made it incredibly convenient and quieter than I had expected. Not many convenience stores or vending machines nearby, but the walk to find these amenities was also very enjoyable. Highly recommended if you have the budget

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    303
    119
    42
    11
See reviews for
166
213
77
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shelby Township, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was a great hotel in a great location. The room was nice and had a great view. They went all out to provide everything you wanted. They would even bring up stuff to change the scent of the room if you asked it. The hotel is right next to the Nijo castle (I mean literally right next to it) and it is near all of the normal Kyoto tourist attractions. Additionally they have a shuttle bus leaving every 5 minutes for the train station.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces west for a great view of Nijo Castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We are a IHG gold elite card holder, I was expecting a room upgrade and unfortunately all the better ones are fully booked, or so they said. So they offered a "higher floor", and 6 isn't much when the highest floor is 9. We were then given complimentary water as a substitute for not having a better room. Really? Free water? Thanks but no thanks, it doesn't mean much. I am really disappointed with this level of "service" for IHG card members. Especially since this hotel is one of or the only hotel under IHG in Kyoto. No safe in the room. The toilet lever for flushing works terribly. And when I asked for adaptor, which I need for both my computer and mobile phone, they refused to give us both. Service at the check-in place was terrible too. The girl was not gracious at all, and even passed the adaptors to the luggage man onstead because she does not have a timy bit of patience at all. Won't recommend anyone to stay here. Disapppointing.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Livetotravel1510,

Thank you so much for taking some time off of your busy day to leave us a feedback. As an IHG Rewards Club Gold Elite member we greatly appreciate your loyalty to our brand and Hotel. I am glad to see that you have rated our property's location with 4 stars.

On the other hand, I would like to offer my sincerest apologies for the reception you experienced upon checking in and for falling below your expectations regarding some of the IHG Rewards Club benefits.

Rest assured this matter is already taken into account as we always try our best to deliver the utmost service we could offer to our valued guests.

Again, thank you for your thoughts and I hope to have the chance to show you our improvements and in return reward us with your unwavering loyalty.

Sincerely,

Glenn M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

An older hotel, built in 1983 I think on a placard outside. Grand Japanese business hotel style lobby with a beautiful waterfall and koi pond scene outside the cafe/breakfast area. Decent rates for the Kyoto area, but you can get tricked if you book the standard rate and then find extra person charge of 3000 yen for total 2 people. The Kyoto Kokusai hotel next door with the same views is about 30-50% cheaper I think, so if you want a deal go stay there, although reviews show signs of aging as well.

Again, as in other reviews of Kyoto, I think service for English speakers is deliberately not up to par as the rest of Japan or for how they treat Japanese speakers. Having stayed at 3 different properties in Kyoto, this seems to be true. It's not a language issue, it's just a regional custom issue. One hypothesis might be since Kyoto was the center of culture throughout history, all outsiders are seen as being less cultured than Kyoto. Now that Kyoto is no longer the cultural, political, or economic center, they are prepared to view Japanese people as equals, but will treat foreigners in similar manners as how they treated the rest of Japan in the past, as country bumpkins.

Rooms are older but good enough, and as IHG platinum we were upgraded to a castle view room, which just meant a view of the castle complex door, which is okay I guess.

A good plus is the free shuttle service to and from Kyoto station. Punctual and efficient for getting to and from the train.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel can not take a booking and hold it. When you protest that they have made a mistake, they try to tell you you're in the wrong and too bad how sad. I have stayed in Hotels all over the world, and many in Japan, including ANA Plaza Osaka & Hiroshima, both offer good service and I highly recommend. ANA Plaza Kyoto is the worst Hotel I have ever stayed in. The Individual room thermostats do not work. The rooms make you sweat, and are set around 24C. There is no way to adjust the temperature. Avoid this hotel like the plague. I have 3 more nights to stay here, and I am looking for other hotels in the area to change to. Do Not Book Here.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Judd C,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

We look forward to your response and be of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great hotel with wonderful staff. Easy to get around because of its centralized location. Hotel has a light tobacco smell, but that's to be expected in Japan. Best buffet breakfast and shouldn't be missed. Hotel bartender (Hiro) was especially the best there is.

Room Tip: Reserved through Booking.com and got a great rate. Ask for a room overlooking Nijo Castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

that hotel was a 5 stars luxury place in the 70s. now it's still nice but in major need of updating.
the all place is very old but super clean and classy.
The staff is very helpful and professional. on site restaurants are good but not cheap.I did not agree either that you have to pay $15 a day if you want to enjoy the pool or the gym but it's typical in japan.
Finally,the location is a bit remote from downtown but the hotel offers free shuttle to the train station and the subway is right next door.
pretty happy overall.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear oliver3060956,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. I am happy to read you appreciate the efforts of our hotel staff. I apologize for any discomfort you may have experienced due to the condition of the property, amenities and hotel location. Your input will be shared with our management team to take into consideration for future upgrades. Thank you again for your comments. I hope that you will afford us another opportunity to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto

Address: Nijojo-mae, Horikawa-dori, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 604-0055, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#23 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto 4*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ANA Hotel Kyoto looks almost out of place with its modern exterior nestled amongst the sublime beauty and historic grandeur of Japan s old capital. This however belies the traditional hospitality and classic atmosphere to be experienced within her four walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Rakuten and Tingo so you can book your ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyoto Ana Hotel
Ana Hotel Kyoto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.