We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto to your Saves list
ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nijojo-mae, Horikawa-dori, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-0055, Kyoto Prefecture (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #97 of 344 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A pleasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We really enjoyed the hotel. It's a little sad that in the heat of summer the pool was heated and indoors but it's more than just a pool - it's a Japanese sauna, spa etc.On the other side of town from Gion (Geisha) district but really close to the JR line and opposite the Kyoto-jo.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    378
    150
    52
    15
See reviews for
215
279
93
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza Kyoto on a recent holiday. I chose it because I had a lot of IHG points to use and it was, therefore, a free option. I was a bit worried what the hotel would be like after reading some of the reviews. I didn't feel that the hotel was as dated as some of the reviews suggest. It is not the most modern hotel but it was not bad. The staff are not as attentive or efficient as many other Asian hotels but they are better than most European or US hotel staff. However they didn't even acknowledge my gold IHG status and I thought this was poor. I would stay there again if I wanted to earn or burn IHG points in Kyoto (but not to use the pool as they charge for it).

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Good location by metro and good shuttle bus service to station (operates from the Shinkansen side, not the bus station). Rooms were fine, but small, bathroom was in need of some TLC. Despite non-smoking room an overwhelming smell of cigarettes hit us on the last night (downstairs?). Breakfast was decent for choice, quality and value. Had to pay extra to use the pool, which was a world first for me.....

All in all - perfectly fine and recommended, but nothing outstanding.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear JAB8472,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving feedback about our hotel. I am truly delighted you found our location convenient and pleased our shuttle service suited you well. However, I apologize if the bathroom facility did not meet your standards. Rest assured your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is and allow us to redeem your faith in our award winning service.

Sincerely,

Charisse V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
136 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Its a very nice business hotel located in the center of kyoto with very good services, rooms, and staff.
Great luxurious lobby, and great and clean rooms. Piano bar that opens until 1am.
Very recommendable hotel for business (well located) and well communicated. They have a shuttle to the Central Station for the shinkasen.
Very good hotel and recommendable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We were given the wrong room (two single beds instead of the double bed room that we had actually reserved). In addition, we felt that their restaurant advertised its prices - based on a sign that was placed directly outside the restaurant - in a misleading manner. The price we were actually charged for our meal was quadruple the amount we had expected. While we may have misunderstood their menu, I simply don't understand how they can charge so incredibly much for a perfectly ordinary steak and veg dinner (the dinner cost much more than a couple nights' stay). There was nothing in the food or the restaurant itself to justify this (think ordinary meal served in a small room at a bar under very bright lighting). Overall, the experience with the hotel was disappointing, though it is a lovely city to spend time in.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear beachgal415,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room assignment prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

On balance, we enjoyed our brief stay at the Hotel. Although our room was small, it was pleasantly furnished, if somewhat dated, & we slept well thanks to the comfortable bed & pillows together with a quiet air-conditioner. The staff we dealt with were all efficient, courteous & friendly, especially the shuttle bus drivers & personnel at Reception.
There was easy City Bus access to the Kinkakuji/Uzumasa area in one direction & to Nishi-Honganji Temple, & on to Kyoto Station, in the other. The Hotel's free shuttle bus service to & from Kyoto Station was also very welcome. Further, it is only a few minutes walk to the Nijojo-mae Station on the Tozai City Subway line. As others have commented, it is across the road from Nijo Castle, one of Kyoto's major tourist attractions.
There are several small restaurants & mini marts within a 10 minute walk from the Hotel & a number of vending machines for anyone wanting only a cold drink.
The small Hotel gardens are particularly impressive, especially the waterfall & pond just alongside the Lobby & the lighting display of an evening is an attractive feature.
My only negative comments are
1. our room, & bathroom in particular, were small even by Japanese hotel standards.
2. despite having a non-smoking room, there was a very strong smell of cigarette smoke in the hallway near our door, which I suspect came from the Castle Suite nearby. This smell leaked into our room & necessitated running the dehumidifier continuously as well as buying an air freshener, &
3. I emailed the Hotel a week before arriving to ask where my wife & I could catch the Hotel shuttle on our arrival at Kyoto Station but I did not receive a response.

Room Tip: If requesting a non-smoking room, also request it be on a non-smoking floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Amazing views of the Ninjo castle from our 6th floor room, beautiful! I have to agree with many of the other reviews that the rooms are dated but clean. It was great sleeping in a comfortable bed though and having thick bath towels again after staying in moderately western style hotels in smaller cities. I think it was a very good value and the breakfast buffet was very good. The free shuttle was a real plus and the entire staff was very nice!

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a castle view room on a higher floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#20 of 344 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 771 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#23 of 344 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 2,156 reviews
City Center
Hotel Monterey Kyoto
Hotel Monterey Kyoto
#50 of 344 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#24 of 344 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 1,511 reviews
Southern Kyoto
New Miyako Hotel
New Miyako Hotel
#82 of 344 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 stars 1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto

Address: Nijojo-mae, Horikawa-dori, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-0055, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center , Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#26 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#27 Family Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto 4*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ANA Hotel Kyoto looks almost out of place with its modern exterior nestled amongst the sublime beauty and historic grandeur of Japan s old capital. This however belies the traditional hospitality and classic atmosphere to be experienced within her four walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo, Orbitz, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyoto Ana Hotel
Ana Hotel Kyoto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.