We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel for business or tourism” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto to your Saves list
ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nijojo-mae, Horikawa-dori, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-0055, Kyoto Prefecture (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #92 of 343 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
132 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel for business or tourism”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Its a very nice business hotel located in the center of kyoto with very good services, rooms, and staff.
Great luxurious lobby, and great and clean rooms. Piano bar that opens until 1am.
Very recommendable hotel for business (well located) and well communicated. They have a shuttle to the Central Station for the shinkasen.
Very good hotel and recommendable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    372
    144
    50
    15
See reviews for
208
268
92
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We were given the wrong room (two single beds instead of the double bed room that we had actually reserved). In addition, we felt that their restaurant advertised its prices - based on a sign that was placed directly outside the restaurant - in a misleading manner. The price we were actually charged for our meal was quadruple the amount we had expected. While we may have misunderstood their menu, I simply don't understand how they can charge so incredibly much for a perfectly ordinary steak and veg dinner (the dinner cost much more than a couple nights' stay). There was nothing in the food or the restaurant itself to justify this (think ordinary meal served in a small room at a bar under very bright lighting). Overall, the experience with the hotel was disappointing, though it is a lovely city to spend time in.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear beachgal415,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room assignment prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

On balance, we enjoyed our brief stay at the Hotel. Although our room was small, it was pleasantly furnished, if somewhat dated, & we slept well thanks to the comfortable bed & pillows together with a quiet air-conditioner. The staff we dealt with were all efficient, courteous & friendly, especially the shuttle bus drivers & personnel at Reception.
There was easy City Bus access to the Kinkakuji/Uzumasa area in one direction & to Nishi-Honganji Temple, & on to Kyoto Station, in the other. The Hotel's free shuttle bus service to & from Kyoto Station was also very welcome. Further, it is only a few minutes walk to the Nijojo-mae Station on the Tozai City Subway line. As others have commented, it is across the road from Nijo Castle, one of Kyoto's major tourist attractions.
There are several small restaurants & mini marts within a 10 minute walk from the Hotel & a number of vending machines for anyone wanting only a cold drink.
The small Hotel gardens are particularly impressive, especially the waterfall & pond just alongside the Lobby & the lighting display of an evening is an attractive feature.
My only negative comments are
1. our room, & bathroom in particular, were small even by Japanese hotel standards.
2. despite having a non-smoking room, there was a very strong smell of cigarette smoke in the hallway near our door, which I suspect came from the Castle Suite nearby. This smell leaked into our room & necessitated running the dehumidifier continuously as well as buying an air freshener, &
3. I emailed the Hotel a week before arriving to ask where my wife & I could catch the Hotel shuttle on our arrival at Kyoto Station but I did not receive a response.

Room Tip: If requesting a non-smoking room, also request it be on a non-smoking floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Amazing views of the Ninjo castle from our 6th floor room, beautiful! I have to agree with many of the other reviews that the rooms are dated but clean. It was great sleeping in a comfortable bed though and having thick bath towels again after staying in moderately western style hotels in smaller cities. I think it was a very good value and the breakfast buffet was very good. The free shuttle was a real plus and the entire staff was very nice!

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a castle view room on a higher floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Centrally located hotel across the road from the famous Nijo Castle. Regular shuttle to and from Kyoto station/shopping district is handy as are buses across the road to many a temple, castle and the historic town of Gion which is a must! The rooms are clean but dated. There was an unpleasant smell coming from the drain in the bathroom. Complimentary water daily was really nice as was the pillow service. The hotel is located in a backstreet of Kyoto and I really enjoyed walking the surrounding picturesque traditional old streets.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear garciat,

Thank you for your recent stay with us. We appreciate your candid review about our property. It’s nice to know that our location was convenient for the purpose of your travel. Conversely, we’re sorry you were not satisfied with the room conditions. We have taken note of your feedback and will be used to focus on improvements. Should your future travel plans bring you back to Kyoto, we look forward to serving you again.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
66 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I have actually not much to complain about the hotel:

The check-in was quick and the staff really helpful.

The room was spatious and we were allowed to stay there with all our children (aged 5, 10 and 12) if we paid for an extra bed. A part from schampoo etcetera in the bathroom we got a kit that was supposed to make us sleep better (including tea, something to put on your eyes and some more) which felt generous.

The breakfast was great, so much to choose from. But it was obvious that the breakfast room was way too small. We came different times every morning but still we had to wait 5-15 minutes to get a table. The hotel really should do something about that!

Ana Crowne has a free shuttle to and from the train station. Really convenient! But the location is not so good. It is close to the lovely Ninjo Castle but otherwise you have to take a taxi where ever you want to go. There are almost no restaurants in the neighbourhood.

One evening we used to swimming pool - and we had to pay a lot to do that! I think that is the first time ever in a hotel that I - as a guest - have had to pay. And there was nothing special or fancy with the pool.

For us the price was OK since we could stay in one room all five, but otherwise I don't think the hotel is priceworthy. I would recommend you to pick another hotel with a better price and with a better location.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We had a wonderful stay here in Kyoto, though nt in the city the free shuttle bus to the main station and proximity to a jr rail station meant we could get around easily and the service was solo good thanks to Suzuk and staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#21 of 343 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 755 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#19 of 343 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 2,107 reviews
City Center
Hotel Monterey Kyoto
Hotel Monterey Kyoto
#49 of 343 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#23 of 343 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 1,467 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto

Address: Nijojo-mae, Horikawa-dori, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-0055, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center , Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#26 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#26 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto 4*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ANA Hotel Kyoto looks almost out of place with its modern exterior nestled amongst the sublime beauty and historic grandeur of Japan s old capital. This however belies the traditional hospitality and classic atmosphere to be experienced within her four walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, JAPANiCAN, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Rakuten, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyoto Ana Hotel
Ana Hotel Kyoto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.