We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful high class hotel across the Nijo Castle in Kyoto” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto to your Saves list
ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nijojo-mae, Horikawa-dori, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-0055, Kyoto Prefecture (Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #91 of 342 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Brossard, Quebec, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A beautiful high class hotel across the Nijo Castle in Kyoto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

After a week in Tokyo we go to this 4 stars hotel in Kyoto which is situated in a quiet back street very close to landmark Nijo Castle. The hotel provide shuttle bus service to and from Kyoto Train Station. But if you are new to this, you should go around the station to the shuttle parking which is in front of the McDonald situated on the back side of this train station. Best way is to ask for direction as the station itself is a huge building with many shops inside and outside. The hotel is conveniently located at 5 minutes walk to another subway station.

The hotel interior is exquisitely decorated with big painting and its 3 restaurants (1 on main floor and 2 below) serve both japanese and western delicacies. The main floor restaurant has a entire wall of glass looking over a long but narrow japanese garden complete with bamboo trees and pond. What a nice view to sip a morning cup of coffee. There is a swimming pool and a gym but you have to pay to use them which we don't like.

Our room is surprisingly spacious with two double beds even if we only pay an equally surprising rate of only 140$ a day for something that normally goes for at least double. Maybe the hotel was in its breaking in period as it had only been opened a few month ago and the personnel was still figuring out why the wifi didn't work in the lobby. But it worked in our room albeit its slowness. There is no laundry room at this hotel and breakfast costs in the 30$ and a full supper would run for a triple amount. Our room is very quiet.
There is a substantial size grocery store 15 minutes walk to the right when you go out to the main street facing the Nijo Castle where you can buy sushi, cake, wine, ice cream

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    343
    131
    46
    13
See reviews for
189
240
87
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Dorado Hills, CA, USA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
316 helpful votes 316 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We stayed here as part of a tour package. The first room we got smelled of cigarette smoke, but a call to the front desk got us moved. The hotel has a pretty waterfall feature outside the lobby windows, the staff are friendly, but not all equally helpful. If you don't like the first answer you get, wait a few minutes and ask someone else behind the counter. The beds are relatively comfortable and there is a pillow menu. There is a free shuttle to and from Kyoto's main train station, which runs every 15 mins. (It's a punk bus - hard to miss!). The station has lots of restaurants, shopping, transportation options and proximity to the Kyoto Tower. The Daiso 100 Yen store is on the second floor of the tower (where you can also find Starbucks and McDonalds nearby if you tire of Japanese fare). Only three blocks from the hotel is an excellent Italian restaurant called Uruu -- pizzas and pasta, salad, etc. are all very tasty. Ask the concierge for a map and directions (it will seem like it's in an alleyway!). The Nijo Castle is right across the road, but the main shopping district is a 30 minute walk, subway or bus ride away if you don't want to use a cab, making this location a but off the beaten track.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear ZoomLady,

Thank you for taking time post a review about our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you found our bedrooms comfortable and hope you had a good night sleep during your stay. I appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel's features and friendly staff.

I am sorry for any inconvenience you may have experienced with the check in process. I have forwarded your comments to the Front Office Manager to ensure similar incident does not happen in the future.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Best regards,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This hotel is right across the road from the Nigo Castle, we stayed here recently on a visit to view the Cherry Blossom, it is maybe not the latest in International Décor but to sit and have the wonderful breakfast with an amazing "waterfall" water feature just outside the huge glass wall is lovely!, personally we went to take photographs of the exquisite gardens and shrines that are all over this ancient city to remind us of our visit, not the bathrooms and bedrooms of the hotels!. The staff are very anxious to help and to be greeted by a beautiful young lady in national costume behind the concierges desk is much more memorable than needing to be in a hotel that might be anywhere in the world! Kyoto and indeed Japan is so different that we were enchanted by this uniqueness, there are many restaurants catering for all possible tastes, a narrow alley that runs right beside the river in the Ponto-cho district that has many small restaurants, on one side they all overlook the clean and spotless river, we ate at the one with the red umbrellas
outside, they all have different ways to catch your eye, from stunning orchids to many lanterns or exquisite little water features. Nishiki Market will have your eyes popping out at the staggering display of foods on display. The Arashiyama Bamboo grove will leave you speechless as one can only gaze at bamboos so tall, graceful and way over your head that your imagination takes over!
Would recommend getting a good guide book{ lonely planet?} There are many
iconic gardens in and around the city but do remember to allow time to let them all work their magic, and do wander around the Nijo castle across the road from this
very good hotel indeed, the staff are all very helpful and anxious to help.
Can't believe that nobody seems to have mentioned the nice warmed loo seats that are a bit disconcerting to start with in Japan but one really misses them when you get back!!

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the castle across the road, there is a little traffic noise but very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in April and I have to say I cant believe they have got away with it for so long. The decor is so very 1970's - maybe if they waited another 5 years it might actually be fashionable again!
We had a good sized double room - there was complementary water every day. The room was clean and quiet.
Breakfast was good although waiting time of 15 - 30 minutes every morning to be seated was unacceptable - we noticed that after 9 am there wasn't too much of a wait.
Hotel is across from the Nijo Castle but quite far from most other things of interest.
Would I stay here again? - no!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear LexiDublin,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve and continually provide the best guest experience possible.

I am delighted to note that despite the poor service you received during breakfast, you were still satisfied with the food served. I sincerely apologize for the shortfalls and for the dissatisfaction you had with our decors. We strive to be the best in the industry and regret that we were not able to deliver this to you.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Top Contributor
381 reviews 381 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Excelent hotel, wonderful facilites, very convenient shuttle bus, big and excelent room, amazing breakfast, excelent wifi, very helpful ladies from concierge( buy the day unlimited bus rides with them!)
Yes, Ana Kyoto is an old hotel, but is clearly still a wonderful hotel. Steps from Nijo Castle, if I come back to Kyoto, I will stay there again for sure! We loved our 4 nights there!
Alexandre and Renata Gomes , from Brasil

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

Our room was at the front of the hotel opposite Nijo Castle, very nice to wake up to. The hotel as a whole is average.
Our big disappointment was a girl at the Information desk, we went over to ask questions about buses, location of things etc... She kept on typing on a computer while I spoke to her, she provide no assistance, offered no suggestions, gave us nothing. We were very disappointed, after composing ourselves I went back later and found a Mr Yamada, Wow what a difference he couldn't do enough for us, and gave us a hotel bus map..... How about that.
Anyway Kyoto is a great city we really enjoyed the city, after all you only sleep in the hotel right.
PS you will see the hotel website tells you there is a free shuttle bus from the station, unfortunately they don't tell you where to catch the shuttle bus..... Exit the station on the Shinkansen side, you will see taxis etc... Walk to the left end of station, you will see a McDonalds, wait there. You will see the mini bus turn up about every 15-20 mins, it is bright purple with ANA Crowne Plaza written on the side. If you don't get the mini bus a taxi will cost you about ¥2000
Enjoy Kyoto

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear Joneses2010,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to write a review of our hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed the great view from your room and pleased you enjoyed your overall experience here in Kyoto. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel.

Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcoming you experienced and we regret our hotel did not live up to your expectations in some aspects of your stay specially your experience with one of our Information Desk staff. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve the quality and service we offer.

Once again, thank you for sharing your comments and thoughts regarding you stay with us.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Reviews are accurate, the property is in severe need of an upgrade. Unfortunately our experience was not at all positive - let me preface this review with the fact that my wife and I regularly stay in motels in the US (like a Best Western or Comfort Inn) and do not expect a lot when travelling as much of our time is spent sightseeing. The rooms of the property are well below what we would expect from a motel, so it was hard for us to fathom the Hotel was rated 4 stars. We were placed in rooms overlooking the palace, very nice view, but everything else was a let down. Carpets and furniture are from the 1970's, the air conditioning system did not work even when set to its maximum, it ended up raising the temperature during the night and it was not even that hot outside (windows are locked shut so we could not even get outside ventilation). The bathroom smelled like a public lavatory, my wife could barely go in there long enough to brush her teeth - it was nauseating. The bathtub would not drain at a reasonable rate, so you ended up showering in 3 inch deep water. The TV/Cable system is pretty much useless unless you speak Japanese (only 2 channels in other languages) or if you are willing to pay to watch On Demand movies. We were disappointed and also surprised that the hotel carries the name Crowne Plaza, it does not come close to the standard one would expect for a hotel bearing the name.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear citytracks,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Kyoto.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto

Address: Nijojo-mae, Horikawa-dori, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-0055, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#24 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#25 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto 4*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ANA Hotel Kyoto looks almost out of place with its modern exterior nestled amongst the sublime beauty and historic grandeur of Japan s old capital. This however belies the traditional hospitality and classic atmosphere to be experienced within her four walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) so you can book your ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyoto Ana Hotel
Ana Hotel Kyoto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.