We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and great hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto to your Saves list
ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nijojo-mae, Horikawa-dori, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-0055, Kyoto Prefecture (Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #94 of 334 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 stars 647 Reviews
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Excellent location and great hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

First of all the view from our room was facing one of the biggest tourist attraction in Kyoto (Ni-jo-Castle), hence the view was quite stunning, especially at dawn. The room itself was spacious and well decorated. Hotel was very high-class, and so was the hospitality. Every weekend they host different musicians and they will be playing live at the lobby or bar in the hotel, which was quite interesting to see. Location is in front of the castle as mentioned, however could be a good 30-min walk to downtown area.

Room Tip: Try get the room facing the castle if possible, the view is stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    302
    119
    42
    11
See reviews for
166
213
77
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kaneohe, Hawaii
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

The staff at this location were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is attractive but a little out of the way, but provides a shuttle service to the main train station which was great. The rooms were clean and well maintained though a little small. The staff here was most helpful - we got wonderful dining and sightseeing tips throughout our stay. The restaurant - with the breakfast buffet while a little pricey for everyday had the most beautiful view of the waterfall and had a great selection of breakfast options. Our bunch is big on sit down breakfast -and there aren't a lot of breakfast places around the area except grab and go. The hotel is a quieter area and is located right across Nijo Castle.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel, we had a very pleasant stay here. It's clean and comfortable and it is in a great location. Close to the metro station and easy to get round. Service was great, well spoken English. Free wifi which is a bonus. There is a great ramen noodle shop close by, it's a must try!

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here in November as part of our annual holiday, as this year we had decided on touring Japan. The hotel is lovely, with the dining area facing the awesome cascading waterfall. This hotel has beautiful rooms, larger than most other hotels we stayed in during out holiday in Japan. We stayed in a deluxe twin rooms and really enjoyed it. The room was very comfortable and always kept clean. What made our stay at this hotel truly great was the excellent service. All the staff from the front desk to the housekeeping were amazingly friendly and always willing to put a smile on your face. This is truly a great hotel to stay in when visiting Kyoto in Japan.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

The hotel is a bit tired looking but the staff are very friendly. Locationwise it is about 10 mins drive from the train station, but there are regular hotel shuttle going back and forth to the station.

It is next to Nijo castle, and there is a subway nearby. We got upgraded to a room with the castle view. The room is the same size as any other hotel in Japan. It is clean and the beds are comfortable. Because it is wintertime, they turned on the heater in the rooms. However, this made the air very dry. I woke up in the night because it was so dry. I think the hotel understand this, as they had provided humidifier in the room. I had to turn it to the max as the room was very dry.

Overall, for the right price, a good hotel to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear MzNomad,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We are pleased to see the staff was a highlight of your visit, and you enjoyed your stay overall. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

My neighbor and I stayed here as part of our package tour of Japan in October. The rooms are pretty standard but it was those mechanical toilet seats that really had us amused. Only to later find out these devices are very standard throughout Japan. The location was great as it was very close to the Nijo Castle and its amazing "singing" wooden floors. Also within walking distance to some decent restaurants but since it rained on us quite a bit we found taking a cab to the shopping district (covered arcades) a better choice with a much larger selection of eats and shopping. The shuttle to train station was handy but felt so sorry for the driver having to listen to the hotel promo video all day, every day! A last word of advice, get to breakfast early or you will be waiting for a table although the wait was never terribly long.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

The hotel is lovely, a wall of cascading water outside the dining area. The kimono clad receptionists and staff graceful and helpful. The rooms were spacious and well appointed. We found the food choices expensive, generally all inclusive breakfast / lunch/ dinner, nowhere to get a cup of coffee and a bun! And we had to pay to use their pool/spa facilities. Location was a couple of minutes from the Shogun's Castle and the number 12 bus which took us to the various . temples and places of interest. It was about 15 minutes from Kyoto Railway Station and the road was always full of traffic and the free shuttle bus stopped very early in the evening so we had to get a taxi back .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANAUKY, Guest Relations Manager at ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you so much for your stay and your feedback through Tripadvisor.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us here and enjoyed the surroundings.
At our Koto Lounge located on the first floor just next to the cascading waterfall, the menu has a selection of breads as well as expresso coffee.
Never the less, thanking you again for your stay and wishing you all the best and of course safe travels.

Kind Regards
Simon Finch
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto

Address: Nijojo-mae, Horikawa-dori, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-0055, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#22 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto 4*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ANA Hotel Kyoto looks almost out of place with its modern exterior nestled amongst the sublime beauty and historic grandeur of Japan s old capital. This however belies the traditional hospitality and classic atmosphere to be experienced within her four walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Rakuten and Tingo so you can book your ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyoto Ana Hotel
Ana Hotel Kyoto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.