We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for castle viewing!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto

Save Saved
You added ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nijojo-mae, Horikawa-dori, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 604-0055, Japan (Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Ranked #38 of 141 hotels in Kyoto
Menlo Park, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Great location for castle viewing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Intro & Location:

I recently rounded out a 6 day work trip to Tokyo with 2 days in Kyoto. Unfortunatly we were in a conference room most of the time but the few sites I saw (The Golden Palace, and the Nijo Castle were spectacular.) We also had an incredible dinner up in the mountains behind Kyoto (I can't remember the name of the restaurant) which was about a 30-40 trip up into the mountains and located alongside a river. It was an unbelievable location and very authentic in terms of setting, dress, and food!

The Hotel:

Our group stayed at the ANA Hotel which is in a great spot only ~15-20mins by taxi from the main Shinkansen train station and directly across from the entrance to the Nijo Castle. The lobby is enormous and fairly ornate but still has a fairly relaxed aura to it. There is a large open air bar area + the 'international' restaurant where we ate breakfast etc. They have a beautiful rock garden/wall outside these floor to ceiling glass windows which has waterfalls, coy pond etc..very peaceful!

Room:

As there was quite a large group of us we all had stock standard rooms which were fairly small but comfortable. Each had two 'twin' beds which were low and hard (typical Japanese style) with a small sitting area, tv/desk, and smallish but fully functional bathroom. The beds were surprisingly comfortable despite me being more then 6'4 (a giant in Japan) and not typically enjoying very hard beds. Tip: Try the 'granular' pillow..bizzare but amazing for your neck!

Bathroom:

As noted, it's small but clean and very functional. I was thankful for the handheld shower as most of these hotels had shower heads that were barely chest height! Great pressure and plenty of hot water and of course..the ever amusing 'electronic' toilets were standard.

Food/Restaurants:

Our team had the first night
'in' as many of us only arrived around dinner time, and we ate in the Teppanyaki style restaurant on the basement level. It was fantastic and the British/Japanese chef was very amusing and informative throughout the many courses. Are team all raved about how good the food was. We didn't get to try any of the other restaurants except the breakfast buffet which was plentiful but fairly nondescript.

Gym/Pool etc:

Unfortunatly did not have time to explore this area but the in room brochures seemed to indicate a full size indoor pool with gym etc etc.

Overall:

Despite this being a group booking and a fairly work oriented stay, the hotel itself was perfect for a 'sleep only' style visit. If you're there to simply see the sights and spend fairly little time in the hotel room itself it's ideal. The hotel is well placed, well staffed, clean and overall a decent spot to spend some time in Kyoto.

Pros: Great location for sights, clean and comfortable, plenty of food options on site
Cons: Smallish rooms, a little bit dated feeling, wired-only internet in rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a 'main road' facing room as its surprisingly quiet but looks right out over Nijo Ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    159
    269
    99
    34
    9
See reviews for
138
181
67
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Good hotel for getting round Kyoto with courtesy bus to take you downtown. next door to the Nijo Palace which is well worth a visit and the Emperors Palace which was unfortunately too much kerfuffle to visit for the brief time I had available. Interesting little restaurants behind the hotel for native cuisine

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed in Kyoto for just over a week as he and my friend's husband were attending an international meeting in the city. Our room overlooked the castle but we never got to see it! My friend and I were too busy using our JR rail passes to see other cities in the area.

On the Saturday evening of our arrive a friend came to see us from Fukuoka and we asked the front desk to recommend a good place to have soba. This was a tiny - and I mean tiny - restaurant in one of the back streets and the food was fantastic. Apparently it had been in business for centuries, but not with the same staff!

If you are interested in herbs and flowers a good place to visit is the herb garden in Kobe just a short train ride away. Also a good place to shop is the covered market area, in Kyoto, and in the food section samples are freely available.

I particularly like Japan for the food and that the country is soooo clean. Don't worry if you do not speak the language you can make yourself understood and quite a few people will speak English if only a ittle.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

This hotel is nicely situated for exploring Kyoto. Although not in the "downtown" section itself, it is only steps to a metro station that is two stops from the heart of Kyoto. Even more, being across from the palace is amazing, and the views from the terrace on the hotel's roof are absolutely amazing at night!

The staff is very attentive and helpful, and the hotel itself is comfortable and well-appointed. I found the restaurants in the hotel to be very good, which surprised me as I have become accustomed to such hotel spots being only average (at best). I would definitely recommend this spot as a great place from which to explore Kyoto and its environs

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We stayed ehre over cherry blossom season. The location is excellent - write across the road from the original palace with its squeaking floor boards to keep unwanted guests away and all. The staff were lovely, very helpful and accomodating. There is a bus which runs from the train station every 15-20 minutes which makes it very easy to get to and from the hotel. If you want somewhere right by the main shrines and activity this isn't the place - it is in the older part of town. However a 15-20 minute walk will get you there, or you can take the bus back to the station and go from there.
Overall, recommended and most enjoyable.

Room Tip: We had two rooms, both were as good as each other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

ANA Hotel is very good hotel in Kyoto. The location is perfect for exploring Kyoto by the city Bus. Daily bus ticket is sold at the Hotel's reception. One day unlimited rides by the city bus costs only JPY500/- while a single ride costs JPY220/- so it's very cost saving to buy the daily ticket. The bus stop is right in front of the hotel gate. There's shuttle bus from Kyoto Station to the Hotel (just in front of Tokyo Station's McDonal shop) so it's very easy to reach the Hotel if you travel to Kyoto by train. Hotel staff is very helpful and kind. Hotel room is nice with view to Hotel's private garden. Ninjo Castle is just opposite the hotel. In overall, I recommend staying in this hotel if your budget is enough to cover the price.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, GA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Great place folks...My first time in Japan and its top rate...They do have computers in the front lobby and the wifi will only work in the lobby as well..Its free too as is the computer for its guests... The rooms are very large and have everything one could need or ask..The staff is fantastic and will go out of their way too assist you in any way..There is a few shopping stores on the ground level too if you need to pick up some quick omiyage.....Rooms do have a tea/coffee maker inside too which helps out.....They also offer the free shuttle from 7am-7pm I believe that will take you back and forth to Kyoto Station and ANA...Again, the staff is fantastic...NO complaints and highly recommend...
The restaurants are pricey but there is so much to do and eat nearby that you can just walk yourself to another eatery...Enjoy!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with this hotel....RIght across from Nijo-jo as well....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto

Address: Nijojo-mae, Horikawa-dori, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 604-0055, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#18 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#24 Family Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ANA Hotel Kyoto looks almost out of place with its modern exterior nestled amongst the sublime beauty and historic grandeur of Japan s old capital. This however belies the traditional hospitality and classic atmosphere to be experienced within her four walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Rakuten, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyoto Ana Hotel
Ana Hotel Kyoto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.