We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Cannot be faulted” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto to your Saves list
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Higashiiru Kawaramachi Sanjodori, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-8004, Kyoto Prefecture   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 342 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Spore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Location Cannot be faulted”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Hotel is about 20 mins taxi from Kyoto station and about 15 mins walk to the main streets (shijo-dori) of shopping malls. Next to the hotel entrance on the right is a very good western café where we had breakfast there both days when we were there. The café also has a very good bakery. Medi-ya supermarket is just few steps away to the left and opposite the hotel is a very good western fast- food restaurant, food, portion and price is good. Love the strawberry milk drink. Continue walking alittle further down on the right are the shopping arcades, there’s 100 yen shop, more bakery shops, restaurants and eateries, souvenir shops, boutiques, beauty and convenience stores and many, many more. It leads to Nishiki Market which we missed due to time constraint. I bought some “Kose” beauty care which is much cheaper here than home. If you walk south on the vertical main street you’ll see brands shop like “uniglo”. I prefer the shopping arcade as the shops are more varied, interesting and closer packed. On the left of hotel across the street after passing the very charming canal is the restaurant alley “pontocho” which stretch all the way to the main street (shijo). From here you can actually walk to Gion (geisha district), Maruyama Park and Higashiyama & Kiyomizudera Temple (a MUST visit, we took the city bus there and walk back). The hotel is very well located where you can walk to tourist attraction places passing through interesting sights, shops and eateries in the neighborhood.

As for the hotel itself, I wasn’t very pleased with the staff service or maybe one staff. With so many great reviews from TA, the disappointment felt was even greater. We were 3 adults and we were given a double “executive” type of room that comes with a build-in desk. Together with 2 chairs and 3 beds, there is hardly space to use the pantry counter and our 3 medium size luggage bags! I asked the staff if they could move us to a room without the executive desk to free us the much needed space. She was very sulky, rude and unhelpful and repeating to us that all the rooms are the same. She later made it known to us that such similar room without the built-in desk is available but we will have to pay more. Our booking was for a superior room, if having to pay more for a deluxe room we can accept it. But her attitude and the way she put it to us really gets on my nerve. It really spoilt my arrival to Kyoto which I was looking forward to after having read so many good reviews from TA. I felt that this staff definitely needs to be better trained or retrain to be tactful with customers. Aside from the particular staff lady with a bun, the other staffs are ok and I remembered a blonde gentleman in suite (probably the manager) was very courteous and polite when I was checking-in at the front desk. But this pleasantness was short live because of the above incidence.

The room we had for 3 adults is just too cramp, the executive desk and chairs took up the much needed standing space for the pantry and our luggage bags. Other than these bad experiences, the other things like beds, shower facilities, cleanliness are good as with most hotels of this price range. However I must say that I am quite impressed with the finer things provided like the green tea, and coffee which I thought was of fairly good quality. The toiletries are also good; I especially like the big foldable comb.

The hotel also sells the 1-day Free pass for city bus (500 yen) which is very convenient. My initial plan for sightseeing was to take the train/metro to save time. We eventually took the bus as it’s recommended by the front desk and I am glad we took the advice. It’s definitely the better way to sightsee by bus as these buses plies the tourist attraction places and it’s very easy and convenient.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    259
    51
    6
    3
See reviews for
207
298
72
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This hotel is situated in a perfect spot in the centre of Kyoto. It is close to the river, the 'Geisha' walk,the Imperial Palace and a number of other tourist sights. There are numerous restaurants in the vicinity and the area is a great place to walk around. It can be a little tricky to get to first time around but bus numbers 4,17 and 205 from Kyoto station stop right around the corner. You need to get off at City Hall. Board the bus at the rear and pay ¥220 when you get off at the front. The correct change is needed and there is a machine at the front that gives change. On the subway catch a train to Karasuma Oke station ( T13) then change for Kyoto City Hall (T 12). It is a pretty easy system and it takes about 20 minutes.
Rooms are a good size and very well appointed with fridge,safe,kettle,kimono etc. Everything is very modern, very clean and extremely comfortable.The hotel has a guest laundry with a washer and dryer which can come in very useful. The staff are extremely helpful (thanks especially to Brent) and will assist with all activities.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, RI
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is a truly lovely hotel, with excellent location, and great value for the money. It was our best experience in Japanese hotels (which also included a Kyoto ryokan, a sky-scraper in Tokyo, and a Japanese chain hotel in Nagoya). Gorgeous room and bathroom, kind service, bakery nearby. The only one of the four that we'd go back to in a heartbeat.

Regarding the location: Kyoto is big on public transportation, subway and bus as well. You can't really walk between all the major sights. What really matters, then, is how close your hotel is to the subway or a major bus stop. The Royal is in a nice, central location, close to both main subway lines; and those can take you pronto pretty much anywhere. This is not true for most other locations in the city. Do not fear the bus system, though -- with a one-day or two-day pass (or cash, if you wish) one boards at the rear of the bus, watches the electronic announcement system for their stop, and gets off at the front by showing the pass to the driver. The pass comes with a free bus map.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, New Jersey
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

just a short bus ride from the Kyoto train station, this hotel was a quiet hideaway in the midst of Kyoto. Staff were helpful, and amenities were provided (cotton night dress, tooth brush, etc. as always done with Japanese hospitality). I'd go back, simply because it was convenient, clean and a pleasant location. Breakfast was eaten at the bakery next door to the hotel, simply because it was less expensive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Great staff and service at this hotel will make your visit to Kyoto even more memorable. There's even a wonderful boulangerie called Shin Shin Do on the ground floor of the hotel (not related to hotel), which serves excellent breakfasts. The location is so convenient to Gion, Yasaka Shrine, etc.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Great value for money (for Japan) and excellent service from hotel staff, especially Brent from Front Desk and Inoue from Concierge services. Huge plus points on location with subway and bus stops just 5 minutes away, plenty of bars/restaurants and a supermarket nearby. Rooms are nice (maybe a bit small), with air purifier in smoking rooms, and a coin-operated laundromat on the 2nd floor. This will be my go-to hotel in Kyoto. Overall super hotel, and will recommend without any hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The first room we were allocated in the hotel was frankly horrible. There are no double beds in the hotel and it is not possible to push the twins together. It backed onto a fire escape and was next to a late night 4th floor bar which playing loud music until after 6am. The room felt like a 2 star hotel. Next morning we requested a room change and were pleasantly surprised by the difference in the standard of the rooms - it was like being in a different hotel! Large and spacious with a great bathroom. The hotel staff are professional and courteous. The concierge was very helpful. The location of the hotel was great within walking distance of main areas and attractions of Kyoto. There is an amazing French Patisserie next to the hotel which was excellent for breakfast. If like us you intend to travel by train from Osaka, take the train to the SANJO station as its a 5 minute walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: If the room feels small and cramped and looks onto the fire escape do request a change, there are de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto

Address: Higashiiru Kawaramachi Sanjodori, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-8004, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 342 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, JAPANiCAN, Despegar.com, Rakuten and Priceline so you can book your Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.