We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto to your Saves list
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Higashiiru Kawaramachi Sanjodori, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-8004, Kyoto Prefecture   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 333 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 690 Reviews
Hobart
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I was really impressed with this hotel. It is only a couple of years old and incredible value for money. The lobby decor was modern tasteful and welcoming. The staff were cheerful and so helpful. Advice from the lovely concierge assured we saw the best of Kyoto in the short time we were there. The rooms were a good size with beautiful bathrooms and the location was brilliant for shopping, walking and bus's to the many sights. Gion district was about a 10-15 minute walk and had countless choices for eating. I would definitely recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask on booking in for a possible upgrade, staff are very helful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    228
    43
    4
    2
See reviews for
178
253
60
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Umina Beach, Australia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This was one of the best hotels I stayed in while in Japan.Big rooms that were spotless with comfortable beds.Great value for money.It is in a good location too,a good base to explore Kyoto.Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Modern designed new hotel in Kyoto. Location is great, easy walking to restaurants & shopping area. Room is not big, but comfortable.Small cafe next to the hotel offering good breakfast.Value for money, highly recommend

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The hotel has a great location of Sanjo bashi.
Hotel is modern suitable for the younger middle age who are on their way of making it on their own.

Rooms are narrow, with huge TV screens, modern interior which is kept ultra-clean and spic-n-span.
Bed is great (AAA) although quite firm as to Japanese taste with high quality linen.
Bathroom very modern, bath area separated from basin and toilette by glasswall and door. Superb fittings with an additional rainforest shower head. Amenity tray is lacking though, no face soap, no aftershave, no cotton wool, no comb just hairbrush, toothbrush with a minimal head (unusable).

Breakfast very good ($20-25), but you can have a coffee and a french toast at the next door Boulangerie for $5. Or go to Starbucks 70 yards away for the usual offering n price.

If you are old money or a more sophisticated upper middle age professional you might be better off at my usual hotel; Kyoto Okura Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Wow! We felt like we had hit the jackpot when we reached this hotel. Although the room was cramped (three of us in a two bedroom room - so a third bed had been squeezed in) we managed to fit ourselves and our big suitcases in, and had a wonderful time in Kyoto. The concierge were helpful (particularly with the bus timetable), the location was great for transport (either bus or train were just around the corner), and five minutes away from the central cultural district in Gion. After staying in Tokyo we were impressed by the price of the hotel and by its modern interiors, plush carpets, and space-world bar. But one of the best things about this hotel was the bakery next door! Absolutely fabulous! If you're feeling a bit homesick for western food there was a fancy pizza place on the other side overlooking the canal. All in all, would love to stay there again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. The hotel itself is nice (new and with modern decoration) and properly located (5 minutes from the main restaurants street and also walking distance from Gion district. From the Kyoto train station is 10-15 minutes by taxi, you can additionally go by metro, but that is more complicated and not worthy in our opinion).

We stayed in room 212 and honestly the room is a shame for the price we payed. 2 single beds instead of one bed for us, no single place to open our suitcases (we had to do a puzzle in the room to be able to open them!), no views at all (room is interior and in the lowest floor, so do not even try to see the sun light).

If you go there, make sure you try to specify your room details before.

A good thing that they have is that in the second floor (actually in front of our room) they have a laundry room so you can wash your clothes yourself for a good price!!

Room Tip: Try to specify your room requirements before. We stayed in 212 and we did not like at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This is definitely the hotel to go to if you are do not want to stay in a ryokan in Kyoto. The location is just great for walking, shopping and going out in the evenings. Transport to other areas is also very accessible by bus, taxis or underground.

The hotel itself is very nicedly designed with a spacious attractive lobby and reception, a nice bar and very comfortable rooms. Service is excellent and the staff are very friendly.

Would definitely love to go there again and highly recommend to all.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto

Address: Higashiiru Kawaramachi Sanjodori, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-8004, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 333 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten and Tingo so you can book your Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.