We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto to your Saves list
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Higashiiru Kawaramachi Sanjodori, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-8004, Kyoto Prefecture   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 342 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Love the hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We booked this hotel via Agoda after reading the reviews on Agoda and Tripadvisor. I travelled with a 6 year old child. We got a discounted rate for a triple room and they prepared the room on that basis. However upon arrival when they found that there was only my 6 year old daughter and I, the removed the additional bed the following day.

I had an allergy to their down pillows, and they managed to remove and replace those too.

The staff at reception was very helpful and spoke very good English. of course I was particularly impressed by Brent, (forgot to ask him where he was from). When we arrived too early. I asked if he could assist me in making arrangements for my daughter and I to join a sweet making class near Nijo. He called the company on my behalf, made the reservation for me and gave them all my details and translated for me the instructions given by the shop. Also pointed me to the right direction transport wise.

The hotel is fairly close to bus stops and subways station. Since I was travelling with a 6 year old who is not accustomed with too much walking, the location of the hotel is quite central making it not too expensive to take taxis too. It cost us Y1,100 from Kyoto station to the hotel. and about Y1,200 to Kiyomizudera.

You will be spoilt for choices in terms of places to eat. On the left side and right side of the hotel. There is an International supermarket right next to the Hotel, a pharmacy just across the road and a 24 hour Burger King if its something you fancy in the middle of the night.

The hotel has free wifi which was excellent. And overall we have no complains! Good service, great room, great location! Whats there not to like?

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    259
    51
    6
    3
See reviews for
207
298
72
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Perfect located, new and comfortable rooms, best shower i've ever had and good price via booking.com. Unfortunatly the price was much higher when we decided to stay one night longer so we went to another hotel. I wish we had not.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Good
1) Good location
2) nice hotel
3) Free internet
4) decent sized rooms for Japan
5) clean room

Bad)
1) Dark black decor
2) inflexible check-in time (we experienced this quite a bit in the land of the rising sun)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Stayed at Royal Park for three nights in November. It is conveniently located, close to everything. The lobby is nice, and so are the rooms & bathrooms. The ARE on the small side, but then again we're not in Kyoto to hang out in our hotel room. Highly recommended!

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed here in July 2012, we booked our rooms through Expedia and got very good rates. We made our decision on these reviews and pleased that we did. The hotel is new and clean, the rooms are spotless and very well-appointed, and more than adequate in size (a bit of a squeeze in places, but probably larger than other comparable hotel rooms). The location is ideal - a 5-minute walk from train station, which itself is only about 10 minutes from Kyoto station. Leaving the hotel, turn left and in a 10-minute walk you are in the Ponto-cho and Gion areas of Kyoto. Turn right from the hotel, walk to the lights, cross the road and you are in the Sanjo & Teramachi area - a fascinating mixture of modern shops, markets and temples/shrines. Would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again most certainly! Just go out and walk, walk, walk - there's so much to discover in Kyoto. Bus services are also handy and convenient.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Easy to reach from Kyoto-eki; 1200Y by cab or take number #5 citybus to Kawaramachi-Sanjo stop. Closest subway is Kyotoshiyakushomae station which only take about 3 mins walk north, but for better sightseeing take Sanjokeihan station to the east so you can walk along beautiful bridge over Kamogawa River beetwen hotel and station, cost you 2-3 more mins.
Hotel itself have a luxurious lobby with calm dark coloured atmosphere, our twin room was clean and have a very clean-spotless bathroom. Toilet with warmed seat was amaze us :). Single bed was adequate enough for 1 adult and 1 child to sleep together.
Food around hotel was amazing. Cheap delicious gyudon are surrounding the hotel; step outside hotel and you'll find Matsuya on far left, Nakau cross the road, Sukiya on far left. Good japanese home cooking style Ootoya just few step on the left. Marugame soba and two kaiten sushi across each other on your right at Kawaramachi-dori. If you prefer western style fastfood, Burgerking and McD are across the road and starbuck on far left near the bridge.
From Kawaramachi-Sanjo bus stop you can reach most of the top sightseeing spots in Kyoto. I recommend taking cabs for families with young children to reach Kyomizudera, cost about 1000Y from hotel.
This hotel was all about location, Pontocho and Gion was easily reach by foot without a haze. Staff was very helpful with fluent english, they even arrange you luggage if you wish to send them to your next hotel/airport by 'Takyubin', so you'll travel easily without dragging any luggages.
Very recommended hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

The Royal Park Hotel is conveniently located near the center of Kyoto, within easy walking distance of the metro line and surrounded by all manner of restaurants, shops, and attractions. While the subway can help you get out to some of the more remote areas, we walked for hours within a three or four mile radius and had plenty to see (temples, landmarks, gardens, the notable Gion district, and restaurants galore).
The hotel itself is very modern (as of our trip, July, 2012) and well decorated in a minimalist, artsy way. No, the rooms are not large, but the bathroom was quite nice, and there was a place to put your luggage so that it wasn't on the floor and you could walk about the room.
Being American, we found it very helpful that one of the desk staff (perhaps the manager?) was born and raised in the USA, so we could easily communicate with him. He offered good suggestions and seemed better able to help us than the concierge.
I would give this a 5 star rating execpt for the fact that it is not a luxury hotel. Within its price range, I think this is an excellent value and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto

Address: Higashiiru Kawaramachi Sanjodori, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-8004, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 342 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, JAPANiCAN, Despegar.com, Priceline and Rakuten so you can book your Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.