We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peace House Sakura

Peace House Sakura
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Peace House Sakura to your Saves list
Peace House Sakura
1.5 of 5 Japanese Guest House   |   188-1 Kadowakicho, Higashiiru, Gojoagaru, Yamatoojidori, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto 605-0843, Kyoto Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 168 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed in a triple room, it was quiet because it locates at the end of the hallway. Beddings were comfortable and clean. But I don't know why the cupboard for storing extra blankets were hanging on the wall. I banged my head twice there when making my bed. :( The common area is tiny, filled with people eating breakfast. Flood of shoes accumulated at the entrance, not very organized. You can borrow sandals from the hostel and go for a stroll. I found a local public bath house around the block (gosh how much I love Japanese bath house!) so that's definitely a huge bonus of our stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    12
    6
    8
    3
See reviews for
1
12
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

I'll make this simple.

1. You can't check in until 6:30pm. With heavy luggage, possibly a bad thing. When it's 0 degrees outside, not cool at all. We knocked on twice around 6pm, red nosed and hopeful, like Mary and Joseph out in the cold. Were they letting us in before time? Not a chance. We had to wander round for another 30 mins. What exactly do you need 8 hours for? (checkout at 10am.)

2. The room is small and has futon & bedding stuff in and that's pretty much it.

3. The place is freezing in winter.

4. The room is also freezing in winter. They don't offer you a heater. I wore my clothes and a hoodie to bed, with the extra blanket, and was still cold.

5. The only warm room is the bottom front room where a few people hung out, but we weren't invited in so we didn't feel comfortable 'invading', never mind using the kitchen.

6. There IS a microwave on your floor but no kettle so we weren't even able to make hot drinks to warm up.

7. We weren't shown anything or talked to except for our payment to be taken. I'm pretty sure you can find better accommodation at this price that you won't suffer from exposure in.

Finally, I'm not a whiner, I've been backpacking for 4 months and this hostel was simply just lacking. I'm sure it's better in summer when the temperature is warmer!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed for two nights in a double room in the basement. If you have big luggage, the stairs are narrow and steep. The room was old and run down, as were the sheets, which didn't seem very clean. The bathroom on the first floor was quite dark and dirty. On the plus side, there is free wi-fi and the location is quite good. However, I would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

This hostel some how managed to loose our reservation therefore we had to stay in a room in the basement and they then told us we would have to switch rooms 3 times during our stay...after we had payed! I have now learned not to pay before seeing the room because it was classed as a 'double room' yet underneath a very thin matress on the bed was a single bed with a wooden shelf=not a double bed at all.
The room stunk of damp/mould which made my clothes smell too. The matress had a vile stain on and there was rubbish in our corridor including contact lens wrappers!
When we had to move rooms (only once as we decided to go to osaka) we went into the room where the workers seemed to have been living. I do not know where they stayed meanwhile but that was just as bad. It was tatami mats instead but there were draws and things with make up in and personal belongings.
The social area was pretty nice besides the multitude of workers (maybe their friends too!?) used it ALL day and night which felt as though you could not really use the facilities avaliable- esp the computer which i had to ask to go on many times to just check emails.

Overall the location was good and it did look as if the upstairs rooms were really nice- tatami matts, windows etc. Just make sure you do not stay in the basement.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

One good thing about Peace House Sakura is that it is perfectly located, in the southern part of the city, old town, in a walking distance to the Gion area. Being able to easily go around Gion at night, a traditional neighbourhood with still a taste of old japan, and geishas appearing and disappearing, is just magic. There is also the Maruyama-koen park and temple nearby worth the visit, especially if you are travelling during the cherry blossom time, since this is a gathering point for people to eat and drink at night (plenty of offer of local food to try!).
The hostel itself was ok. We had a room on the floor -1, so we could not experience being in higher (better?) floors, but it was clean and quiet, with some tatami and bunk beds and a japanese closet with sliding doors. Nothing outstanding but good.
Our bathroom was on the ground floor, it was clean and i was surprised about the modern japanese toilet they have (with hot seat).
Something was really strange about this place though: they did not have proper reception and you are a bit left by your own. I still don't understand how this place is working. Some girls helping at the reception desk are here during check-in time and the evening. We arrived before check-in time, the door was close and thankfully we could enter with other tourist that have the code (otherwise you are left waiting outside with your luggages). Nobody was there, so we left our luggages in the corridor like other people did and went back later. I wonder how they have a control on who is coming in and out, but well, it seems to work out and people and staff are relaxed.
There is a small common room where people gathers to have a chat/drink at night. But well i would mostly recommend the place for its location, as definitely enjoyed the neighbourhood and surrondings.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

This is a hostel with tatami rooms, shared bath and toilet. There's a room with kitchen, common dining and computer room.

Would have liked to give a higher rating but the problem is the noise. Can hear everything happening in the 2 story building. Every flush of toilet and every sneeze. Also, bed linens are supplied but no towels or slippers. The shoe rack is overflowing with shoes. Oddly, more shoes than guests.

Stay away from rooms 2a-2c, as far as I can tell, the windows are shielded by a piece of metal. No light or egress in case of fire.?!?

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

We have travelled around Asia for 4 months and this may be our favourite hostel. The rooms, bathrooms and communal areas are kept spotlessly clean and the facilities are very well equipped. The staff and other guests were great, it was small enough for most people to sit together in the evenings and chat, relax and share travel stories and tips.

The location was also great, near one of the main stations and on the edge of the old Geisha district Gion, which also means it is walking distance to many of the main attractions in town (the major temples and so on) and the downtown district for a bit of partying/shopping too.

The staff here were exceptionally friendly and helpful. We stayed in their sister hostel in Osaka and, when we left something behind, the owner even brought it with her on a visit to Kyoto.

We went for a budget private double, which we thought was very good value indeed, our cheapest hostel in Japan by far. The only little problem we encountered was that the bed in our room was really a western style single bed with a wooden shelf next to it, with a double futon spread across the whole thing. I am quite a light sleeper so could feel the join between the mattress and the wood underneath the futon meaning we ended up pretty much squashed onto the single mattress area, so if you are also a couple wanting to book a budget double then you may want to ask about that (it was the room in the basement level).

We would highly recommend this hostel and I for one wouldn't stay anywhere else on a future trip to Kyoto!

Room Tip: Ask before booking budget private double
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peace House Sakura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peace House Sakura

Address: 188-1 Kadowakicho, Higashiiru, Gojoagaru, Yamatoojidori, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto 605-0843, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 168 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Peace House Sakura 1.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Peace House Sakura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peace House Sakura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.