We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Great & Quiet Location, Elegantly Restored Machiya

Outside Maeniiya Machiya Inn (2 bicycles available)
Outside Maeniiya Machiya Inn (2 bicycles available)
Outside Maeniiya Machiya Inn (2 bicycles available)
House located on old cobblestone lane in very quiet neighbourhood
Maeniiya Machiya Inn on cobblestone lane
Maeniiya Machiya Inn on cobblestone lane
Front view of Maeniiya Machiya Inn
Kyoto
|
Rental Home – 
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Franzipan...
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The best choice in Kyoto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

My dad and I stayed in the Machiya last week and it was a wonderful experience. The house is just beautiful, well equipped and in an amazing location. There are also two bikes in the house that allow you to explore Kyoto. We felt really well taken care of during our stay. In our two weeks in Japan this was by far the most beautiful and comfortable accommodation.
I highly recommend this Machiya to anyone planning to visit Kyoto!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Baltimore
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
asia_trav...
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay at the Maeniiya”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

I had a wonderful stay at this beautiful machiya.

Of course, if you rent a house you don't have the amenities, you may have in a first class hotel, like a pool, conferencing rooms or a buffet breakfast.
But if you're a traveller who wants to explore Japan and its culture, a machiya like the Maeniiya is the perfect choice.
After a sightseeing day full of japanese culture, you're not coming back to a solitary cell hotel room, but to a traditional house with tatami rooms. So the japanese dream goes on.

Miho-san was very helpful host and gave me a very good introduction. Tourist maps and further information is provided.

The Maeniiya is well equipped. Wifi is available for free.
You'll find a flat screen TV set with english channels, a DVD player, a fully equipped kitchen including a microwave which can also be used as a toaster or stove and
a washing machine including a dryer.

An english user manual, how to use all these devices, is provided. So don't fear Kanji-labelled buttons.

The Maeniiya is centrally located in Kyoto, in walking distance to bus stations and the subway. Bus Nr. 50 is 5 minutes away and takes you directly to Kyoto station. Other buses are 10 minutes away and take you to any direction. The subway station Shijo-Karasuma is also 10 Minutes in walking distance (if you arrive with heavy luggage use the elevator at exit 4 of Shijo-Karasuma station).

Around there are several restaurants (my favorite was 'tenkadori'), supermarkets (like Fresco) and convenient stores. There is also a post office in walking distance.

I enjoyed my stay a lot and I hope to stay at the Maeniiya again if I visit Kyoto again.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The japanese flair
Liked least: Nothing.
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
AJE
Australia
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 for a stay in November 2012
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 13, 2012
Dear Anne,

Thank you so much for the kind words you posted on our rental website.  We really appreciate it!!      

We originally bought this Machiya for the love of old Japanese buildings and to save them from being knocked down by developers.  For over a few years now, we have had guests from all around the world and it's been a great experience.  It's guests like yourselves that make it all worthwhile.

Thank you again for your kind consideration and we hope our paths will cross again.

All the best,

Akemi, Trevor and Miho
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
kev
south australia
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
5 of 5 stars Value 4 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 9, 2012
HI Kevin, Thanks for the detailed and kind review! We are happy would had a wonderful time in Kyoto. We hope to see you again and thanks again. Akemi and Miho
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Melbourne
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Wettstam
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great location and perfect appartment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We stayed for 3 days in this wonderful appartment and explored Kyoto and the surrounding regions. The location was really good and the surroundings very nice. The appartment was equipped with everything you could need and very nice. We really recommend this appartment !

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$185
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Owner
Akemi O
Speaks English, Japanese
Listed since : May 2014
Response Rate: 95 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 5 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing