We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must Stay hotel!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kanra Kyoto

Save Saved
You added Hotel Kanra Kyoto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   185 Kitamachi, Karasuma-dori, Rokujo Kudaru, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 600-8176, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 142 Hotels in Kyoto
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A Must Stay hotel!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

I am blown away by this hotel. The room is both authentic yet modern. Beautiful design and decor. Feels like Japan. Not your corporate feel. Wooden bathtub and lively shower, the entire shower room smells like a pine forest. The huge bed is very comfi. My only complaint isthat room maid knocked on the door around 8:30AM despite "do not disturb sign". She woke me up. But not do bad since lots to see in Kyoto:)
This hotel will certainly be one of the most memorable luxury hotels I've ever stated at!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ホテルカンラ京都, 予約担当 at Hotel Kanra Kyoto, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing our hotel to stay with.
We are very sorry for knocking on your door in the morning and woke you up while it was unrequired at all. In spite of this trouble caused by our mistake which should not ever repeat, with all respect, we appreciate your generosity for turning it into an early start of the day to expand the Kyoto experience of your own! We look forward to serving you again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    59
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
46
104
11
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Unbelievably good. The quality of the room and its fittings will make you giggle with astonishment and excitement. First class hotel and ranks right alongside some of the rooms at the big hotel chains like Ritz Carlton and Fours Seasons groups I have stayed at. The exception is that here as the hotel is so small the service goes beyond anything I have experienced before. Simply amazing. The entire front desk couldn't have been more helpful with suggestions and recommendations and one of them (Tabata) went out of her way to make our stay as enjoyable as it was. Our two nights there went too quickly. Tip - Take advantage of the free bicycles the hotel offers and take yourself for a self guided tour of the city. Given you can ride on the footpaths it makes for a fanstatically safe way to see the sights. Oh...and get your breakfast outside the hotel. What they charge at the in house restaurant for breakfast is rather sill so we just skipped it and ate at local cafes for a fraction of the price.Can't recommend this hotel strongly enough. Nor its staff. All first class. The only drawback would be total lack of stroage space. Zero. none. But lilving out of a suitcase for 2 nights is not a hardship at this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ホテルカンラ京都, 予約担当 at Hotel Kanra Kyoto, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us, and providing such overwhelmigly positive review of the stay. All the staffs here at Hotel Kanra Kyoto are more than happy to help making you feel that your time spent here is worth the memory of life time. We would very much look forward to serving you, again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This hotel is a gem. Bouique hotel focused on service and your experience. Stayed for 4 nights. Staff are amazing - dedicated to you for your stay. Largest bed I have ever slept in - 2 queen beds put together. Had the duplex suite - worth the money for space and amenities. The cedar bath is great after a day of touring - and it holds two comfortably! The outdoor zen area off the downstairs living room is a treat for sipping sake. Bath amenities are top flight. The top-of-the line Toto will not disappoint in the bathroom. Our room faced the street, but was shielded from most street noise - light sleepers may need white noise. One thought is that with the size of the bed, suitcase storage can be limited. When you enter it is Zen-like - colored lighting, small restaurant. The taxi drops you off beside the 7-11 as the entrance is slightly down a side street - this adds to the feeling you are definitely in Kyoto - this is good. Most guests appeared to be American or European. Overall - 5 stars. Highly recommended. Taxis in Kyoto are expensive for getting around - 640 yen to start. Metro is limited as Metro does not exchange with private railways or JR, but a 2 block walk away to Gojo Station. Get the JR Pass and use it for the trip from Tokyo and vist Nara and Arayshimaya. Nara is well signed; Arayshimaya unsigned for English - but you will get lots of help when you are standing in front of a signpost. Hotel is a walk from the tourist sites, but learn to use Metro, bus and trains and you will get the better travel experience. Amazing trip made exceptional by the staff at Kanra.

Room Tip: Duplex or large suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ホテルカンラ京都, 予約担当 at Hotel Kanra Kyoto, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing our hotel to stay with.
Next time, we would love to have you stayed in other kinds of rooms at our hotel as well, and know how you would find the different concepts in style then.-hoping you would enjoy just as much. Furthermore, please let us advise you the little tips to get around the town making the full use of public transportation. You could be, hopefully, surprised how efficient it could get once you know the trick! We look forward to serving you again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My parents and I stayed at Kanra for 3 nights. Kanra is a modern hotel with traditional Japanese touch. We stayed in the superior room, it looked just like in the photos from their website, feel more spacious and very comfortable. The entire place was pleasant, clean and beautiful. The staffs were wonderful, speak excellent English, help us arranging the restaurant and taxi, always responded quickly to our needs.

It's about 15 min walk from Kanra to Kyoto Station. Other than many restaurant choices in and around the Kyoto Station, we also went to supermarket to buy fresh fruits and vegetables, which we normally didn't get to eat enough while traveling. Other than food, the central location allowed us to return in the afternoon, took a little rest at the hotel and out for fun again after some recharging. This was extremely helpful since we walked a lot in Kyoto.

The lighting in the room was very soft and surely not bright enough for lady to do makeup, we asked for a sitting chair next to the window so the problems solved while there's plenty daylight in the morning.

We had a great stay at Kanra and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ホテルカンラ京都, 予約担当 at Hotel Kanra Kyoto, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us.
We understand, welcoming guests daily from all over the world, that the needs of our amazing guests vary broadly and requires individual attentions in order to make us provide the best experience possible to them. Please let us share your ideas, and we would love to see what we could do about it.
We would very much look forward to serving you, again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Beautifully designed small hotel in modern japanese style. Very nice and helpfull people, good food in the restaurant the kitchen, western with japanese influence. Bikes to rent during day time. Even if in walking distance to the station, I would have prefered to be little more downtown or up to Gion.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ホテルカンラ京都, 予約担当 at Hotel Kanra Kyoto, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us.
We are only grateful to hear that you are satisfied with our service. We look forward to welcoming you again, anytime. Please let our concierges arrange the places that the only locals would know, and secretly favour, to visit for your next stay. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

In our recent trips to Japan we've stayed in 7 different hotels, and this is clearly the best. Its a boutique style hotel that combines Japanese and Western styles effectively to give a great atmosphere and design. The beds were extraordinarily comfortable, and quite a welcome change from sleeping on futons. The only thing I'd fault the rooms on is lack of storage space: although the room was very generously sized there was very little space to hide our luggage.

The service was fantastic throughout our stay. They even provided us with complimentary electric powered bicycles (quite an experience - you press a button and suddenly your peddling does so much more!) to explore Kyoto, along with maps and guidance on where to go. I highly recommend at least one day of cycling around Kyoto.

The hotel is walking distance from Kyoto train station, and well positioned as a base to explore from. We didn't try the restaurant as there are so many specialist places to try in Kyoto it seemed as shame to waste an eating opportunity on hotel food!

Overall I highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ホテルカンラ京都, 予約担当 at Hotel Kanra Kyoto, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us.
We are only grateful to hear that you are satisfied with our service. We look forward to welcoming you again, anytime. Please remember to mention that you would like those rental electric bicycles to ride around to us, as the number of the available bikes is limited. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We spent five nights at this hotel based on the reviews here on T.A. We absolutely loved it. The room was very generous in size and we could have our daughter on an extra bed without it taking over the living area. The bathroom was spacious with a lovely cedar bath and we loved those heated toilet seats!
What made the hotel exceptional for us was the fantastic service from the women at reception.
Almost each night we would ask for a restaurant recommendation based on what we felt like eating and they always came up with something delicious. They booked the restaurant for us and organised the taxi, calling our room when it came and advising the driver in Japanese where to take us. Ask them for the gyoza place....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ホテルカンラ京都, 予約担当 at Hotel Kanra Kyoto, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us.
All the staffs here at Hotel Kanra Kyoto are more than happy to help making your trip as extraordinary as possible! Suggesting and organizing the exclusive plan of yours, including those places to dine, is nothing but our pure pleasure. We would very much look forward to serving you, again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kanra Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kanra Kyoto

Address: 185 Kitamachi, Karasuma-dori, Rokujo Kudaru, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 600-8176, Japan
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 142 Hotels in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kanra Kyoto 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kanra Kyoto is a modern designed hotel in style, and yet aiming to acquire and provide the uniquely sophisticated service of Ryokans(the traditional Japanese hotels) to every single guest. The 29 rooms decorated with the minimal touches and scents of Kyoto are the “Small Luxury”. Once you step in to the lobby, you are immersed in the cozy warmth in the sun and the rejuvenating coolness under the shades of the green leaves that will emotionally take you to the front garden of the “MA-CHI-YA”(the historic Kyoto’s townhouses).Our famous Hiba-cypress wooden bathtub and a separate shower are built in each room.We would do our best to assist your trip in Kyoto to be the precious memory of a lifetime.*Free Wi-Fi throughout the facility.*Located approx. 12minutes on foot from the Central Exit at JR Kyoto station, 1 minute walk from the Exit 8 at Gojo Subway Stop to your right(the South direction). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Rakuten, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Kanra Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kanra Kyoto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.