We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service, Service, Service and Comfort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kanra Kyoto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kanra Kyoto to your Saves list
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   185 Kitamachi, Karasuma-dori, Rokujo Kudaru, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 600-8176, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 333 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Service, Service, Service and Comfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This hotel is a gem. Bouique hotel focused on service and your experience. Stayed for 4 nights. Staff are amazing - dedicated to you for your stay. Largest bed I have ever slept in - 2 queen beds put together. Had the duplex suite - worth the money for space and amenities. The cedar bath is great after a day of touring - and it holds two comfortably! The outdoor zen area off the downstairs living room is a treat for sipping sake. Bath amenities are top flight. The top-of-the line Toto will not disappoint in the bathroom. Our room faced the street, but was shielded from most street noise - light sleepers may need white noise. One thought is that with the size of the bed, suitcase storage can be limited. When you enter it is Zen-like - colored lighting, small restaurant. The taxi drops you off beside the 7-11 as the entrance is slightly down a side street - this adds to the feeling you are definitely in Kyoto - this is good. Most guests appeared to be American or European. Overall - 5 stars. Highly recommended. Taxis in Kyoto are expensive for getting around - 640 yen to start. Metro is limited as Metro does not exchange with private railways or JR, but a 2 block walk away to Gojo Station. Get the JR Pass and use it for the trip from Tokyo and vist Nara and Arayshimaya. Nara is well signed; Arayshimaya unsigned for English - but you will get lots of help when you are standing in front of a signpost. Hotel is a walk from the tourist sites, but learn to use Metro, bus and trains and you will get the better travel experience. Amazing trip made exceptional by the staff at Kanra.

Room Tip: Duplex or large suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ホテルカンラ京都, 予約担当 at Hotel Kanra Kyoto, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing our hotel to stay with.
Next time, we would love to have you stayed in other kinds of rooms at our hotel as well, and know how you would find the different concepts in style then.-hoping you would enjoy just as much. Furthermore, please let us advise you the little tips to get around the town making the full use of public transportation. You could be, hopefully, surprised how efficient it could get once you know the trick! We look forward to serving you again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    68
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
48
113
12
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My parents and I stayed at Kanra for 3 nights. Kanra is a modern hotel with traditional Japanese touch. We stayed in the superior room, it looked just like in the photos from their website, feel more spacious and very comfortable. The entire place was pleasant, clean and beautiful. The staffs were wonderful, speak excellent English, help us arranging the restaurant and taxi, always responded quickly to our needs.

It's about 15 min walk from Kanra to Kyoto Station. Other than many restaurant choices in and around the Kyoto Station, we also went to supermarket to buy fresh fruits and vegetables, which we normally didn't get to eat enough while traveling. Other than food, the central location allowed us to return in the afternoon, took a little rest at the hotel and out for fun again after some recharging. This was extremely helpful since we walked a lot in Kyoto.

The lighting in the room was very soft and surely not bright enough for lady to do makeup, we asked for a sitting chair next to the window so the problems solved while there's plenty daylight in the morning.

We had a great stay at Kanra and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ホテルカンラ京都, 予約担当 at Hotel Kanra Kyoto, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us.
We understand, welcoming guests daily from all over the world, that the needs of our amazing guests vary broadly and requires individual attentions in order to make us provide the best experience possible to them. Please let us share your ideas, and we would love to see what we could do about it.
We would very much look forward to serving you, again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Beautifully designed small hotel in modern japanese style. Very nice and helpfull people, good food in the restaurant the kitchen, western with japanese influence. Bikes to rent during day time. Even if in walking distance to the station, I would have prefered to be little more downtown or up to Gion.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ホテルカンラ京都, 予約担当 at Hotel Kanra Kyoto, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us.
We are only grateful to hear that you are satisfied with our service. We look forward to welcoming you again, anytime. Please let our concierges arrange the places that the only locals would know, and secretly favour, to visit for your next stay. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

In our recent trips to Japan we've stayed in 7 different hotels, and this is clearly the best. Its a boutique style hotel that combines Japanese and Western styles effectively to give a great atmosphere and design. The beds were extraordinarily comfortable, and quite a welcome change from sleeping on futons. The only thing I'd fault the rooms on is lack of storage space: although the room was very generously sized there was very little space to hide our luggage.

The service was fantastic throughout our stay. They even provided us with complimentary electric powered bicycles (quite an experience - you press a button and suddenly your peddling does so much more!) to explore Kyoto, along with maps and guidance on where to go. I highly recommend at least one day of cycling around Kyoto.

The hotel is walking distance from Kyoto train station, and well positioned as a base to explore from. We didn't try the restaurant as there are so many specialist places to try in Kyoto it seemed as shame to waste an eating opportunity on hotel food!

Overall I highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ホテルカンラ京都, 予約担当 at Hotel Kanra Kyoto, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us.
We are only grateful to hear that you are satisfied with our service. We look forward to welcoming you again, anytime. Please remember to mention that you would like those rental electric bicycles to ride around to us, as the number of the available bikes is limited. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We spent five nights at this hotel based on the reviews here on T.A. We absolutely loved it. The room was very generous in size and we could have our daughter on an extra bed without it taking over the living area. The bathroom was spacious with a lovely cedar bath and we loved those heated toilet seats!
What made the hotel exceptional for us was the fantastic service from the women at reception.
Almost each night we would ask for a restaurant recommendation based on what we felt like eating and they always came up with something delicious. They booked the restaurant for us and organised the taxi, calling our room when it came and advising the driver in Japanese where to take us. Ask them for the gyoza place....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ホテルカンラ京都, 予約担当 at Hotel Kanra Kyoto, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us.
All the staffs here at Hotel Kanra Kyoto are more than happy to help making your trip as extraordinary as possible! Suggesting and organizing the exclusive plan of yours, including those places to dine, is nothing but our pure pleasure. We would very much look forward to serving you, again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This whole place is beautiful, small and cosy and very well located; a little hidden but that makes it so special. Arriving at this hotel provides a superb japanese experience, the place is immaculate and the interior design is like out of a glossy book. I cant think of a better alternative in Kyoto.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ホテルカンラ京都, 予約担当 at Hotel Kanra Kyoto, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us.
Must we say that we are glad to hear that you favoured our facility and all. We would love to welcome and serve you, again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We spent two nights at this hotel as part of our honeymoon in Japan. It is a pretty good location, about a 10 minute walk from Kyoto Station or literally 1 minute from the local subway stop. The main entrance is on a small side street (turn left just before the 7-11). The rooms are TO DIE FOR!!! A mix of traditional Japanse Ryokan and modern functionality is perfect. Little sitting area, bedroom area and large bathroom(would agree with to extend the shower window as water can get everywhere) - wish I had had chance to use the bath. Lovely Shampoo/Conditioner & Shower Gel in the rooms. I could have spent a long time in the room but there is too much to see and do in Kyoto! Do make use of the free bikes for sight seeing - they are solar powered and give a little 'help' going up hill - super comfy and really make it easy to see as much as possible. I wish we had used them both days. We did not eat there so I can not comment on the food. The service was good but there were a couple of things which made me think that either they were trying to be helpful but not double checking their information was correct (I work in a resort and so understand the importance of this) meant that they told us something and so we went somewhere and it is was not correct. It may have been a language barrier (there were more Japanese guests in house when we were there). I am not being mean and we gave them points for effort and they were friendly and polite but at over USD400 per night I would like 100% correct information when I ask for it. Having said that I would come again for sure. (PS Silly comment - awesome automatic Japanese toilet!!!)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ホテルカンラ京都, 予約担当 at Hotel Kanra Kyoto, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing our hotel to stay with.
We apologize for providing you the incorrect information that must have caused you to question the accuracy and mindfulness of our service. We are very sorry for this.
We would diligently make effort to sophisticate our service, as we receive warm supports from every guest of ours.
Again, thank you for your honest comment. We look forward to serving you again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kanra Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kanra Kyoto

Address: 185 Kitamachi, Karasuma-dori, Rokujo Kudaru, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 600-8176, Japan
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 333 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kanra Kyoto 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kanra Kyoto is a modern designed hotel in style, and yet aiming to acquire and provide the uniquely sophisticated service of Ryokans(the traditional Japanese hotels) to every single guest. The 29 rooms decorated with the minimal touches and scents of Kyoto are the “Small Luxury”. Once you step in to the lobby, you are immersed in the cozy warmth in the sun and the rejuvenating coolness under the shades of the green leaves that will emotionally take you to the front garden of the “MA-CHI-YA”(the historic Kyoto’s townhouses).Our famous Hiba-cypress wooden bathtub and a separate shower are built in each room.We would do our best to assist your trip in Kyoto to be the precious memory of a lifetime.*Free Wi-Fi throughout the facility.*Located approx. 12minutes on foot from the Central Exit at JR Kyoto station, 1 minute walk from the Exit 8 at Gojo Subway Stop to your right(the South direction). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Rakuten and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Kanra Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kanra Kyoto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.