We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great choice for each season!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Mundo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hostel Mundo to your Saves list
Hostel Mundo
596 Tenbincho Kamigyoku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 602-8105, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 152 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
1 review
“great choice for each season!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

the staff here can really take care of you, in many times were help a lot! they're also travel many times. i stay here around 2 weeks, quite clean, good atmosphere, traditional japanese house, located at the center of this ancient city, close to supermarket, Onsen, also bus station which i'd say it's the best way to travel around Kyoto, and it's always nice to have a cup of hot tea anytime you want. one of my best stay :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    8
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
9
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Really nice stay here. If you want a stay in a traditional Japanese home then this is it. Make sure you print off the directions they give you on the website from the JR station; once you walk it once you will be fine. The guys here are so nice, shame we didn't get to chat with them much as we were asleep or out and about taking in Kyoto life. Just be careful if you are 6"4, I headbutted quite a few beams walking around :P

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Hostel Mundo provides more than just a comfortable and relaxing shelter. The house is a well looked after traditional Kyoto town house with many lovely details. The owner was incredibly friendly and helpful. Having a communal kitchen and living room means guests can interact with each other.

Excellent value for money for the great experience. Will definitely stay again!

(P.S. Traditional Japanese house does imply the walls are made with paper which is not the best noise-resisting material, just be mindful if you choose to stay in the female dorm)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

I had a lovely stay here last year. I was travelling alone but met some new friends at Hostel Mundo when I joined in the gyoza party that was happening on the first night I arrived. The owner is really friendly and helpful. Next time I go to Kyoto I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

This was the first place we stayed in when we arrived in Japan and we couldn't have been happier. It's an old house that's been 'converted' into a hostel but in reality it just feels like you're renting a room in someone's house and that 'someone' is super friendly, relaxed and very helpful. He was full of suggestions, directions, and information concerning Kyoto. We stayed in a private room upstairs which had a comfortable bed and not a lot of room for anything else but this suited us as we were only there to sleep and the heater kept it very warm. Facilities are basic and homely and the owner has a number of bikes that he rents out very cheaply. We were ther in Jan 2011 at which time it had only been open for a few weeks? so am keen to see how it's going approaching its first year of operation. I hope it's doing well for the owners sake - a genuinely nice fella.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
munich
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

The location of the hostel is central. The room was quite small in size but clean. The staff of the hostel arer very friendly and kind. Generally, the atmoshere of the hostel made us feel like home. The styling of the hotel was like a typical traditional Japan place.Free wifi and free laptop use was also a plus. Finally, cheap rent of bicycles is available.
On the other hand, there is no sound isolation, so if you are sensitive in noise maybe you ll have problem.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlin
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

This is the first time I have slept in a traditional Japanese house and I would stay at Hostel Mundo again anytime. The location central(literally in the center of Kyoto). The owner is very sweet, friendly and helpful, it was always great to have a chat with him.The shower room is quite small though and the toilets are outside so it can be cold in late autumn and night.The hostel also has bikes you can rent for the day at a great price.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel Mundo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Mundo

Address: 596 Tenbincho Kamigyoku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 602-8105, Japan
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 152 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com, HostelBookers, Rakuten and Odigeo so you can book your Hostel Mundo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Mundo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.