We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended!! i <3 Kyoto Hana Hostel ;))” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kyoto Hana Hostel

Save Saved
You added Kyoto Hana Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kyoto Hana Hostel
2.0 of 5 Japanese Guest House   |   229 Kogawacho, Shichjo Agau, Akezudori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 600-8149, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 232 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!! i <3 Kyoto Hana Hostel ;))”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Great location, great price, and lovely lovely tatami room ;)
Super clean & Awesome staffs!!! And sooo peaceful. Great for couples and family.

Stayed for 7days and I'd been recommending to EVERYONE who is going to Kyoto, MUSTstay at Hana Hostel.
Pay for hostel rate but stay like a 5star hotel ;)

Location: Super near Kyoto Station and some great eating place nearby. Ask the staff for recommendation! Thy will direct you to the best Ramen & Okonomiyaki around the corner ;) yumyumyum. Thanks Shizuka, Erika, Mio & Mana for the great hospitality and great advice on where to go and to eat (like a local). I am missing you guys very much and Japan~

Note: remember to ask them for the map of places to eat, ;)

They also have a great stamping system where you can collect stamps to either redeem vouchers or discount. It's for lifetime! no time limits! and best of all, you can use it at all Hana Hostel's branch and J-hoppers too. Save us alot in renting bicycles hehe


Oh, do not miss:
1.Fushimi Inari Shrine-mother of all tori gates!! the ultimate tori gate experience
2. Kyoto Station-Level 10, Ramen Street- for the ultimate Ramen experience! you can try all possible type of Ramen available in whole Japan here. abit pricey compared to shops but no where else you can find all of Japan's Ramen variety under 1 roof.
3. Rent a bicycle!
4. Kiyomizu-dera and nearby streets-very cultural and great spots for photographs

The list will go on foreva, better stop now.

Writing this review makes me feel like booking a flight to Japan now.
Cheers~

Room Tip: Go for the private en-suite tatami room. Worth every penny ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    45
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
43
27
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

i stayed there for 3 days and it was a very good base for our kyoto experience, and trips to nra and osaka. the room clean and decent, all common rooms nice, and staff friendly. also very conveniently located close to the kyoto station. would stay there again when in kyoto!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Having stayed at the Hana Hostel in Hiroshima and had a good experience there, I was really pleased to find they had a base in Kyoto as well. My friends and I stayed in a triple ensuite Japanese style room, which was cosy and comfortable. The area was quiet and I didn't get roused by a lot of noise from guests so that was good as well. Loads of ammenities including a kitchen, fridge, free rice etc. The staff are very helpful and chatty, and yes, they will hold bags after you check out so you can wander the city unencumbered!

The hostel is a short walk from the station, so easy to find. In the area are convenience stores and restaurants, but best of all the main road you go up towards the hostel passes the Yodobashi megastore (located behind Kyoto tower) which a brilliant place for shopping!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night in a double ensuite room for Y6800. Room is small as expected but given the money paid, i think thats a good value. Comfortable futon for 2 persons and your own ensuite bathroom and toilet at Y6800, what more can one expect ? i am happy with it, slept well here.
Location is good, 5 minutes walk from Kyoto Station. Plenty of food outlets at kyoto station. Nearby hostel is UCC coffee, Lawsons and Sumiya beef gyudon for cheap eat.
Staff is friendly and helpful. On my list for future stay if i return to Kyoto again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shinjuku-ku, Tokyo, Japan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

This hotel just next to Kyoto station which allows us 5 minutes to take the bus or the train is really convenient, the hotel staff super friendly and always there to answer our needs, there is everything takes to make his small kitchen, the room spacious enough for a hotel of this kind and everything is really clean, everything that to say that AC makes the stay here very appreciable and a quick note to say that Kyoto bike for a whole day was a great adventure for me, a very pleasant time to be able to move it in this way as do the inhabitants of this city thank you again and all the team's hotel Sugoi ;)

Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

Had a pleasant stay at this hostel! It has a great location and is easy to find. Very cosy place with nice area to watch tv and mingle with other travelers (if you like that sorta thing). Rooms were okay..we got a double ensuite room which was pretty small as with most hotels in Japan. Only thing we thought could have been better was that the rooms were freezing despite not turning on the aircon. No heaters..even in the bathroom. Other than that, room had hair dryer, wifi too which was a plus. Dont mind staying here again!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor have weak or no wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

Its located just few minute by foot from the Kyoto station, a lot of amenities including free rice :-) Definitely would use again if there's a chance

Room Tip: Buget Traveling very affordable prices
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kyoto Hana Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyoto Hana Hostel

Address: 229 Kogawacho, Shichjo Agau, Akezudori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 600-8149, Japan
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 232 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kyoto Hana Hostel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hana Hostel. “Hana” means “Flower” in Japanese. We try to be a fresh and cheery hostel like a lotus flower floating in the pond. Kyoto Hana Hostel opened in April, 2010.The building used to be a local “Ryokan”. We remodeled this into an advanced international hostel. As we are very close from the station and the guest rooms are well-equipped, we will be an good option to stay for not only backpackers but also for ordinary tourists with suits cases. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Rakuten and Venere so you can book your Kyoto Hana Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kyoto Hana Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.