We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The highlight of our trip to Japan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Uzuki Cooking Class

Uzuki Cooking Class
Shirkawa Street, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Japan
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 77 Activities in Kyoto
Type: Classes/Workshops, Classes
Attraction details
Koranit
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“The highlight of our trip to Japan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Kyoto is the highlight of Japan, and Emi’s class is the highlight of Kyoto!
We learned from her how delicious can be Japanese homemade cooking, and how easy it to cook it. We spent a wonderful afternoon and evening with her.

Dalit & Erez
Israel

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Queensland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“THE BEST COOKING CLASS IN JAPAN!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

Emi is a lovely lady who was one of the most polite people I have ever met. She met us at a bus stop out the front of a uni in Kyoto and took us around the corner to her house. Don't be put off by the directions to her house - it's EASY!! Jump on the #5 bus at Kyoto Central Station and you'll be there within 40 mins. You get to see a lot of Kyoto along the way.

Once at Emi's house (a traditional Japanese house as well), you are taken into her kitchen where she tells you what you'll be cooking up and what ingredients we'll be using. She is not a trained chef, but has a love for cooking - and it shows! A very passionate lady with years of experience in the kitchen.

We cooked up 5 Japanese dishes (2 x fish dishes , soup, rice on the side and a salad) that were fit for the season. They were so much fun to make and Emi really helped us out when making them. We were 3 boys who are useless at cooking, so she handled us very well. After about 1.5 hours, the food was ready and it was simply AMAZING!! Some of the tastiest dishes I have ever tried!! For 4000 yen person, you'll find this is an absolute bargain!!

While eating dinner, Emi told us stories about her family and her life, and she was as equally interested in our lives as well.

I cannot say enough good things about this cooking class. Make sure you get along to it - you'd be crazy to miss it. I found it a lot more fun and exciting than the temples in town.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Interesting experience making gorgeous vegetarian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Emi was happy to cater for us as vegetarians and we made five delicious dishes in the three hour lesson. It was really helpful to learn more about Japanese cuisine and traditional ingredients, which will help us in the rest of our stay in Japan. Great value considering the cost of the high quality meal in Japan. Emi is a great teacher and speaks good English. Highly recommended.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Intense, educational and fun and delicious, too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

Emi's classes are a great way to understand one aspect of Kyoto's culture intimately. Emi welcomes you into her home kitchen, and then guides you through a three hour mad dash through traditional Japanese cooking techniques. I had to work hard to record the details to try to repeat the recipes again one day. After three hours, we were treated to five gorgeous custom dishes, as good or better than one would be served at a top traditional Japense restaurant, That's not bad for the reasonable course price.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great value and fresh ingredients”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Looked this up from a guide and it didn't disappoint. It was good value for money.
Emi met us on time and we had a short walk to her house, Course went from about
3.45 until 6pm. Cooked a range of dishes with fresh ingredients: rice with snow peas,
through to mushroom coated in freshly chopped prawn and then deep fried. All recipes
provided and able to take notes and taste as we went along. There were only 2 of us
on the course so we were able to chat in some limited english.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uzuki Cooking Class also viewed

Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Uzuki Cooking Class? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uzuki Cooking Class, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.