We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming. Inspiring. Impeccable.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kyoto Guesthouse Roujiya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kyoto Guesthouse Roujiya to your Saves list
Kyoto Guesthouse Roujiya
2.5 of 5 Hostel   |   22-58 Ikenouchicho, Nishinokyo, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-8375, Kyoto Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 168 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Welcoming. Inspiring. Impeccable.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

If you are looking for a local, charming and welcoming guest house, the Kyoto Roujiya is lovely. I'm a designer, and the Kyoto Roujiya impressed me with its modern, simple space where every detail has been thought through.

We stayed in the private room for two people. It has a large window that opens on one side, a sliding door (with privacy shield) on another wall. The door opens onto a small balcony that looks out over other rooftops and balconies. The balcony isn't really for people-watching or sitting, but it's nice to expand the room space and get fresh air.

I've never slept on a tatami floor before, but the futons were surprisingly comfortable. When you arrive the futons are folded with crisp white linens (starched & ironed!) sitting on top. Once you're ready to sleep, simply unfold the futon, put your sheets on, and doze off. Two futons side-by-side are actually larger than our Queen size bed at home.

The room has enough space for both our luggage (backpacks), a small night stand with a lamp, and a place to lay out my books and camera. The walls are white with a very high ceiling, and at the top are dark wooden beams that criss cross the ceiling.

The bathroom is shared, but they feel more like a boutique hotel or spa (beautiful silk wallpaper, small vases with flowers, hair dryers) than a hostel or communal bath.

The common area is equally pleasant, with a modern, clean white kitchen overlooking a small seating area on the floor (between 4-6 people were always hanging out and chatting there) and a communal dining table.

Our hosts speak wonderful English and are clearly very proud of the guest house, as they should be.

We had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    11
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
13
36
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights in the co-ed dorm room. The dorm, traditional style rooms, and common areas were all beautifully decorated and immaculately clean. The common room and kitchen were really cozy and fun to hang out in. There was internet and travel books to help you plan your next day, and the owners were a great resource for finding fun things to do. They were so welcoming and made the hostel feel a bit like home - I wish we could've stayed in Kyoto longer.

The hostel is an quick train ride from the main Kyoto station and about a 10min walk from there. Be sure to take a copy of the map and directions - there are lots of little streets and though it isn't too hard to find it's always nice to be sure of yourself in a new city.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I stayed in the common dorm room of the Guesthouse Roujiya in July 2011. It was, without a doubt, the best guesthouse experience I've ever had. Roujiya is brand new, and has a beautiful kitchen, common area, and bathrooms. All are spotless, the A/C is great, and Roujiya is a great place for those with shared-bathroom-phobia like me (they're quite private and always clean). The free WiFi is fast. Yet despite all these amenities, Roujiya's best asset is its owners, the Bushimatas. Nao and Kaori are a young couple and speak nearly perfect English. They provide maps and tour recommendations, and rent out towels and bikes (Kyoto is a perfect town to see by bike). They're super knowledgeable, and were one of my favorite parts of my stay in Kyoto. Simply put, Roujiya is fantastic. Its sterling reputation on TripAdvisor is well earned.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Roujiya is a elegant, recently completed ryokan with great owners and bike rental located close to the world heritage site Nijo-jo Castle. The accommodation has all the traditional elements of tatami-matted rooms, sliding doors, communal lounge etc and also communal bath about 100m away. All furniture and fittings are brand new and blend the traditional elements with modern features as well (aircon, showers, communal kitchen), the result is a very cosy and elegant base from which to explore Kyoto. The owners are very friendly and helpful and will do their utmost to make your stay as comfortable as possible - even cycling after me to give me back a key deposit i had forgotten about after checking out before reception opened! The bike rental is reasonably priced and has several options, just bare in mind that though cycling in Kyoto is easy, parking your bike on streets and near sites is not, you have to use parking lots often a few hundred meters or more from sites.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

The Roujiya Guesthouse, in short was perfect for what I needed, with the extra little touches.

I made the choice to stay at the guest house as affordability mixed in with style was something that turned me on more to make the choice, which usually comes at a cost.

From entering the traditional, yet modern house, you notice how clean everything is. New wooden floor's have been placed, and glass paneled doors. The first floor, has the small, informal reception, and moves into the lounge area, with dinning table, kitchen and floor seating. The sleeping area is upstairs, in which I stayed in a dorm, which worked perfectly as there was only one other in the room at the time and a few more proceeding days. The bunk I had was comfortable, and although in a dorm, felt private? A reading light was placed in my area, to have the choice to read if others wish to have lights out. The other rooms in the house include another bunk bed room, and a traditional Tatami set up.

Downstairs the tea pot is always kept filled with water with choices of teas after a days adventuring out.

All guests are free to cook as and when, just as long as you label your item's.

The communal showers, and this is being honest, are the cleanest I have seen in a guesthouse, or hostel listed lodging ever. The fact they also put thought into privacy of the design is something. There are two showers, with an initial sliding door to separate, after which you have your compartment with the shower door. Extra's are also supplied, I.e, shower gels, and shampoo, and a laundry basket is placed in the area for convenience.

This place is small, but it's just right, you're in Kyoto!

If you want to go biking, there are bikes for hire for a reasonable 500 yen, there are also electric bikes for a little more, which I used. The electric cycle was perfect for my complete day racing over to Arashiyama, and back, seriously mileage there. If you need to get around, don't bother with the trains, just grab a map, arm yourself with tips and cycle.

The thing that made my trip in Kyoto special was the owners of this place. They completely went out of their way to always mark another place out, or where best to go over another. My 5 nights there were made perfect because the attention to detail to guests, and equally the house.

The best tip of all, you have to ask about “The Kaiseki” place to go, maybe the one of the best meals I have ever had, and at an amazing deal arranged by them also, I never would have been able to have afforded this meal, unless it was arrange by the guest house, it's just always worth asking.

If you want a place that is modern yet has history all around, stay here. The area is also mostly all residential, so you don't get tourist's running up and down, but you get a taste of real Japan. Across the street is a great public bath house, yep, for a few pounds, dollars, you can bathe then make a choice to dip in blazing hot tubs, or slightly cooler ones for a completely Japanese experience. Down the block is also the local covered way market, and hordes of places to grab food.

If you want, a no fuss place to sleep, at a good price, that's clean, modern, and thinks with good style aesthetics maybe consider here?

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MALAYSIA
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

We stayed 2nts during the rainy days in summer. Still smells of wood, the young owners decorated the double storey house in great lightings & added some old fashion Japanese touched in their dorm & private rooms, our mattress & pillows are a bit too thin, but since there's no other guest around, we took the liberty to stack an extra layer!bathroom was very small, dining & kitchen are nicely constructed, so cooking&washing can be done conveniently. PC connection is very slow. They spoke fluent English, so just ask... Coming from Malaysia, we had a bit of problem practising rubbish segregation, I think the owner was pretty annoyed we kept discarding waste into the wrong bin!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We very much enjoyed our stay in this hostel. The owners were very kind and helpful. The hostel itself was really clean and a relaxing place to wake up in and end up in after a busy day sightseeing. Also very close to nijo castle! Thoroughly recommend to anyone who wants to live in a friendly and clean hostel!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kyoto Guesthouse Roujiya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyoto Guesthouse Roujiya

Address: 22-58 Ikenouchicho, Nishinokyo, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-8375, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 168 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kyoto Guesthouse Roujiya 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guesthouse opened in the end of Jun 2010!Roujiya-feel right at home in the heart of Kyoto.Roujiya is a cozy and modern (yet distinctly Japanese) family-owned guest house in the heart of Kyoto.We are situated in a quiet area just a short walk from Nijo Station and close to......-Many historic sites,including Nijo Castle-Huge market for local people -Delicious restaurants for local people-The biggest 100yen shop in Kyoto ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Rakuten, Despegar.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Kyoto Guesthouse Roujiya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyoto Guesthouse Roujiya Hotel Kyoto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kyoto Guesthouse Roujiya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.