We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with great service and amenities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dormy Inn Premium Kyoto Ekimae

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dormy Inn Premium Kyoto Ekimae to your Saves list
Dormy Inn Premium Kyoto Ekimae
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   558-8 Higashishiokozicho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8216, Kyoto Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 342 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel with great service and amenities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was in a central location to main train station and easy to find after trip from airport. Rooms were small but efficient and had everything you need. Hotel staff was very accomodating and always tried to help us with resturants or directions. Nice bonus to have ramen every night and breakfast was great. Would definately stay again next time I go Kyoto.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    116
    20
    3
    0
See reviews for
50
93
63
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed for three nights at "Dormy Inn Premium Kyoto Ekimae." It is a lovely hotel right next to the Kyoto Railway Station. The location is absolutely perfect. For those who fancy sauna there is one at the hotel. The service is superb. I liked it very much indeed. It was a wonderful stay. Cheers!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

stayed 3 nights at this hotel from 19-21 april. hotel is located right across kyoto station and easily reached on foot within 5-10mins via subway entrance/exit (Porta) or road surface. Importantly, there is a well equipped convenience store adjacent to the hotel for those who prefer something other than free noodles provided by the hotel from 9-11pm. Amenities within the hotel are very good from the onsen to well designed amenities within the room (eg. very efficient exhaust system in toilet and shower room). While the hotel is sited along a main road, the double glazed windows provided effective noise isolation. Breakfast is buffet style with a large selection of japanese breakfast cuisine. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: choose a twin bed room as it is slightly larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in March 2013 for a 3 night stay, while visiting most of the sites Kyoto has to offer. Like all hotels in Japan; as well as the rest of Asia, space is at a premium. Dormy Inn Premium Kyoto Ekimae offers a comfortable stay without a hefty premium. It is located across from the Kyoto station, slightly less than one block, and you can recognize it from the station as it stands out from the other buildings in terms of colour. Check-in was a breeze as I had booked the hotel through japanican.com. Be aware that you cannot book the hotel through their website, so you'll need to see a third party booking site (current at the time this review was written). My only complaint, at check-in, was that I couldn't use my Discover credit card; even though the Diners Club logo is shown as one of the many credit cards the hotel accepts. Discover owns Diners Club and had signed an agreement with JCB. Not a big problem as I had a Visa and Mastercard with me. Staff spoke acceptable English though talk slow with them. The room, twin bed shared with my brother, was small but enough space to move around. Bathroom was small but better than a shower curtain as this had a door you could close and prevent the water from gushing out. Each night there is free ramen on the 1st floor. I had about two and sometimes three bowls of it because it tasted so good. The woman who mans the small cooking stand is very nice but doesn't speak English. Knowing the pronunciation of the Japanese number, that you receive from her, helps a lot when she calls out the number for the guest to pickup the bowl. Can't comment on the onsen. Buffet breakfast was good and featured a variety of mostly Japanese dishes with some Western dishes mixed in. Internet was free and relatively quick.

Right next to the hotel, there is a Lawson convenience store for all your basic miscellaneous needs. If you are foreigner, like myself, you won't be able to use Lawson's ATM machine to withdraw money. Instead, there is a 7 Eleven (7-11) store around the block, next to APA Villa Hotel, which accepts foreign ATM cards.

I left with a good impression of this hotel as it is across from the Kyoto station and avoids fumbling with ground transportation, which can be difficult if you are not familiar with Kyoto. The location also allows you to quickly catch the next bullet train to your destination; whether heading east or west. I would stay at this hotel again if I came back to Kyoto.

Room Tip: The rooms should be all non-smoking as there is a smoking room on the 1st floor. Inquire at check-in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

While the rooms are tiny, the location near Kyoto station, decoration, and amenities -- such as free Ramen, helpful staff, and a public bath make up for the size.

We stayed three nights, then checked out to move to a ryokan for a night. We had planned to move to Nagoya, but were so happy with the hotel, that we checked back in for two more nights in Kyoto.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I've stayed at three different Kyoto properties and really love Westin Miyako Kyoto (gave it 5-star too). But deep in my heart I will always go back to Dormy Inn even though I can use my Starwood points for free rooms at Westin and enjoy Platinum service there. Here are the reasons:

1. Dormy Inn chain's charm
All Dormy Inn chain in Japan shares the same charm (stayed in 4 of them thus far): amazing breakfast, free ramen/soba at late evening if you get hungry, and wonderful natural hot spring on the roof top.

2. Breakfast buffet
Their breakfast buffet at Kyoto is so amazing that I think it can rival a 6,000 yen kaiseiki meal (less the sashimi and yuba). There are so many freshly made Kyoto vegetables, grilled foods, and other options and they are all prepared with amazing taste. I would pay double or triple the price they charge (1,500 yen) and still be satisfied.

3. Location!
This hotel is located 3 minutes walking from JR Kyoto train station (the most convenient place to stay in Kyoto) and next to my favorite Japanese convenience store Lawson.

Finally, let's be fair and say that this hotel is not for everyone, especially if you don't like small size room and need a fitness center (there's none). Further, not all their staff speak great English. But if you want to stay at where Japanese businessmen stay when trying to renew their busy day while having a 4 star experience at a 3 star price, look no further than Dormy Inn. =)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

love the location of this Dormy Inn which is just opposite the Kyoto Station which is the main station connecting Kyoto to other major cities ie Osaka, Tokyo. Kyoto Station also house Isetan and shops for your daily needs. Do visit Isetan before it is about to close to get some supper like sushi and sashimi.

Dormy Inn is one of the many hotel in Kyoto city which has it own onsen. For ladies, a password is provided on request for you to enter the onsen. I treated myself to a dip everyday after a long walk and follow by a bowl hot soupy ramen at the hotel restaurant (top with fresh sashimi from Isetan's supermarket) ;)

Love this place and definitely will come back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dormy Inn Premium Kyoto Ekimae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dormy Inn Premium Kyoto Ekimae

Address: 558-8 Higashishiokozicho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8216, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#11 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
#14 Family Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dormy Inn Premium Kyoto Ekimae 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten and Hotels.com so you can book your Dormy Inn Premium Kyoto Ekimae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dormy Inn Premium Kyoto Ekimae Hotel Kyoto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dormy Inn Premium Kyoto Ekimae, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.