We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dormy Inn Premium Kyoto Ekimae

Save Saved
You added Dormy Inn Premium Kyoto Ekimae to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dormy Inn Premium Kyoto Ekimae
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   558-8 Higashishiokozicho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 600-8216, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 141 hotels in Kyoto
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“nice....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

I stayed here for 4 nights in October 2010. It is clsoe to station (can walk there in under 10 minutes easily). I paid well under GBP 100 per night which I thought was good value (I was on a speciific budget). I didn't partake in the noodles in the evening as I always ate out, but I thought it was a nice idea. Room was small but this was expected. It was clean and everything that you would expect. After a long days walk, I had a massage at teh hotel, whcih was very good and easily booked. As I was a solo traveller I found the hotel to my liking. If I was there with family/friends I may choose something more opulent. Having said that this hotel is good.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    128
    78
    15
    2
    0
See reviews for
38
68
50
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011 via mobile

I stayed for 5 nights in March 2011.
The room was small, but it's Japan. That's the way it is. It was clean & comfortable. I loved the breakfast. I was getting used to having salad & rice everyday for breakfast. Lots of things to try. No wifi but there was a computer that anyone could use. I would definitely stay here again. Being so close to the train station was a definite plus.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München, Deutschland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

This hotel is good choice when staying in Kyoto. It is alittle pricy, but it has many factors going for it. First it is located near the Kyoto train station. This is great advantage since the hotel and subways are usually full with passengers. The hotel has an Japanese onsen bath and sauna on the top floor. Anyone that has enjoyed an onsen before knows that this a treat. Secondly you get free Ramen for dinner. Also the breakfast buffet is nice, if you like Japanese food.
Only downside is the size of the room. Tiny. The wasn’t enough space in the room in a double if each person has a suitcase. I would stay here again and will pack less again though

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

Hotel had perfect location and was very quiet although it was within walking distance to station with all amenities, restaurants, shops etc around.
Hotel had their own onsen (hot spring) which we didn't use though. Western breakfast menue was a bit limited, but japanese one was great.
No visitors allowed in rooms. Room wasn't huge but had all we needed, even with traveling with an infant in a travel cot.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

We decided to stay here on our business trip in Kyoto.

I like the staff here as they was helpful and answered all our queires very well. Such as they helped with restaurant reservations and direction. Location wise is awesome as only one block from main train station which will take you anywhere you want to meet or dine.

Hotel is very new, rooms are nicely appointed, very clean. We have breakfast buffet included with the price which then make this hotel very affordable.

Will come back next time!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

On a recent trip to Japan, this was the best hotel we stayed in, hands down.

This is obviously a fairly new hotel, 5 minutes walk from the Shinkansen terminal, and located close to all of the Kyoto CBD. Everything inside is modern, and the rooms were exceptionally clean and comfortable.

The staff at the front desk were extremely attentive and happy, and when we asked them to assist us with gettting dinner reservations at one of the local restaurants, the willingly obliged.

Our standard room was small, as is normal in Japan, but had everything we could ask for, including a HD TV, Japanese style Bidet toilet, good size shower, and all the amenities you could possibly need. There are also vending machines, ice and ironing facilities on most floors as well. The Lawsons store located in the lobby was also very handy and affordable.

One of the best features of this hotel was the traditional Bath House facilities located on the top floor. The mens baths had all of the "Sento" facilitues you would expect and I found these better than the ones you would actually go to and pay for in Tokyo! Given the extended hours these are open for, this was a definate highlight of the hotel.

I would very highly recommend this hotel for Business, Leisure, Families and Couples. It is modern, fresh and represents outstanding value for money. I cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

We walk in to this hotel, the staffs are very helpful and nice. They just open in April. They have spa and sauna which is excellent. Sauna even with HDTV. 5 mins walk to kyoto station. 24Hours Lawson store inside the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dormy Inn Premium Kyoto Ekimae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dormy Inn Premium Kyoto Ekimae

Address: 558-8 Higashishiokozicho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 600-8216, Japan
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
#8 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#12 Family Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dormy Inn Premium Kyoto Ekimae 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Dormy Inn Premium Kyoto Ekimae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dormy Inn Premium Kyoto Ekimae Hotel Kyoto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dormy Inn Premium Kyoto Ekimae, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.