We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto to your Saves list
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   432 Matsuyacho, Gojo Karasuma-dori Higashi-iru, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8105, Kyoto Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 342 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

For a hotel room in japan it's quite spacious and very well equipped. Good location and friendly staff, would definitely recommend staying here, only thing which was slightly disappointing was the breakfast - powder eggs and limited options, but at ¥545 can't complain too much. Would definitely return!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    696
    375
    51
    7
    4
See reviews for
251
570
53
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

This is my second time staying in this hotel. So comfortable and service is excellent. Room is comfortable and considerably spacious in Japan. I have no doubt in choosing this hotel again for my next trip.

The only thing I wish to suggest to the hotel is to look into their pillow. The hotel only gives 1 pillow to each guest in the room and the pillow is relatively thin.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Cozy and contemporary design. Love the facade of the hotel. Only 3 minutes walk to the subway station. Rooms are clean & comfy. Efficient service. Definitely value for money and definitely coming back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, WA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights over 2013/2014 New Year (which may have some bearing on the difference between my giving it an overall average score and a very good score - purely based on what we recieved for the price we paid at a time when accommodation was at a premium!)

The metro station is right outside the front door of the hotel, and it is about a 20 minute walk to the main sightseeing centre of town. The public transport infrastructure in Kyoto is not as brilliant as other big cities so although there is a station right outside the front door, its not particularly convenient to visit most of the sights and we ended up walking most of the time. If I had my time again, I'd probably choose a hotel in, or closer to Gion.

The rooms are relatively basic and small and the bathrooms are very small, although the kitchenette was a fantastic bonus, as was the downstairs coin laundry.

All in all it was clean practical and comfortable. I notice other people saying they paid around $100 a night. I'd say this is very good value and its a great hotel for this price. It was certainly a lot less than I expected for $250 per night, but as I say, it was new year and accommodation was at a premium. You win some and you lose some.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I stayed for about 3 nights here, for the rest of my trip in Kyoto last summer. I booked this hotel through one of tripadvisor's links so I got a really nice deal. It was something like under $100 per day. The room was spacious, with a full kitchen. Everything was comfortably furnished. The breakfast was great, too. The location was great because Karasuma Gojo is on the way to many attractions. All of the staffs are nice and helpful. They can handle problems both in Japanese and English very well. I will come back again with my family. With the space, facility, and service, under $100 was really a bargain. I was very satisfied.

Room Tip: I did not get a view when I stayed there, so maybe checked about that with the staff when you make y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Very pleasantly surprised by the Citadine Karasuma-Goja, Kyoto apart. hotel. Close to Kyoto railways station and a hop and a skip away from major shrines & temples. Also, just outside the hotel you have bus/metro connections as well as a "7/11" store across the street, open 24/7.
Staff very helpful at the Citadine, English speaking (which is a blessing). Recommend it highly to anyone who wants a home away from home in Kyoto.

Room Tip: Chose a room that has a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Located at Exit 1 of Gojo subway station, this is a very convenient hotel for travelling in and around Kyoto. Our family of 4 stayed here very comfortably for 4 nights in a Premier Double room. Our children are 5 and 7, so it was a tight squeeze in the single sofa bed. Though there was plenty of room for them to climb in with us in the king sized bed when needed.

There are lots of places to eat nearby. If you would like to eat at Yoshimura (right next door and well renowned for its soba dishes) I recommend that you book in advance.

There are plenty of buses passing nearby to take you to the sights, but the subway is very convenient. There are a variety of transport passes available from stations to suit your sightseeing needs. Kiyomizudera is visible from the balconies of the hotel (we stayed in room 701), and it is less than Y800 to travel there by taxi from the hotel. There are plenty of taxis passing by or the staff can arrange one for you.

We stayed here after a few nights of travelling here and there, so the laundry facilities were greatly appreciated by us.

A very special thank you to Akari at the front desk, who checked us in early, recommended itineraries for the day, forwarded our bags to our next location, offered to post our mail in addition to being very friendly and welcoming. If we ever get the chance to travel to Kyoto, we will stay here again. This is our third trip here (first with children), but by far the most comfortable.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto

Address: 432 Matsuyacho, Gojo Karasuma-dori Higashi-iru, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8105, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
#15 Business Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for business and leisure travel, Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto is located a short walk from the business district and Kyoto's tourist belt. Restaurants, shopping and entertainment are close by as are many of the cultural heritage sites. For destinations throughout the city, the subway is highly efficient and the Gojo subway station is outside the residence. It is one stop from the main Kyoto station of Shinkansen. These stylish serviced residences provide the comfort, convenience and security desired while living and working in Kyoto. Choice of Apart'hotel Choose from the studio twin, studio double, studio premier twin, studio premier double and one bedroom premier for the apartment that suits your requirements and budget. Each of these Kyoto serviced apartments is fully furnished with stylish interiors, designer fittings and modern amenities. The prime address allows for easy access to the city as well as a retreat with 24 hour security, services and facilities. The resident's programmes provide the opportunity to explore and discover Kyoto. Relax in the resident's lounge and work efficiently with business facilities available. Ideal Location Discover Kyoto, the cultural center of Japan. The vast number of world heritage sites, shrines, temples, palaces, and cultural facilities are easily accessible to you from Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto. Shopping, restaurants and entertainment venues are also close by the residence and the business district is a convenient 10 minute walk. The Gojo Subway station is one minute from the residence offering access to the network of subways throughout the city. Comfort and Convenience Every apartment is designed to offer space to relax with the amenities to live, work and entertain in comfort. Each apartment is fully furnished with modern and stylish fittings. The fully equipped kitchen has a cooker hob and hood, microwave, refrigerator, and glassware, crockery, cutlery and utensils. Also provided are the bedroom linens, bathroom towels and toiletries and daily cleaning services. Broadband internet access is available in each residence along with direct dial telephone and IDD service. The home entertainment system includes satellite TV, cable, DVD and a HiFi system. To accommodate your stay you may choose extra services from the flexible service menu to fit your budget and lifestyle. Included are the daily maid service, daily continental breakfast, automatic laundry, dry cleaning service and private car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, JAPANiCAN, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Kyoto Karasuma Gojo Hotel Kyoto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.