We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto to your Saves list
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   432 Matsuyacho, Gojo Karasuma-dori Higashi-iru, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8105, Kyoto Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 334 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 1,043 Reviews
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We had a great stay here and Citadines was definitely better than I had expected. The main thing I find that's really great about this place is the staff at the front desk. They are very knowledgeable about Kyoto, whether its sightseeing, dining or general information and they will give you directions, advice, print out maps, help you arrange transport and/or make reservations if needed. The rooms are nice and comfortable and I like the way the lobby and rooms are designed, it feels very cosy. The Bathroom was also good, its a decent size and you get a nice strong shower with good temperature control. The Kitchenette was very useful, we did use it from time to time to cook food. Citadines will also hold your luggage for you before and after you check out if needed.

The Location of the hotel is good, its one train stop from Kyoto Station with the train station entrance just footsteps away. Is it the most convenient location ever? Well, it depends on what you want. If you want to be right smack in the middle of the action, I guess a location nearer to Gion would be better. If you want to have quick and easy access to transportation around and out of Kyoto, then I guess Kyoto Station would be better. However, I would say that there is a cost vs benefit decision to make here as I think similar accomodation at Kyoto station would probably cost more also. I would also say that Kyoto station can get very very busy and I found it nice to be able to escape from that at Citadines.

There are a lot of conveniences within walking distance near the hotel (you can ask the front desk); 7-11 is across the road, there are 3 restaurants next door and tons more in the surrounding area (Yakitori, Yakiniku, Soba, Bento shops, you name it). There's also a supermarket and drugstore on the left hand side. Daimaru and Nishiki market are one train stop down (Shijo Station) and you can walk to Teramachi Shopping arcade from there.

To conclude, I had a very good stay. I think this place is good value for money and it had everything I needed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    649
    341
    42
    7
    4
See reviews for
224
535
51
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, the room, a mini apartment, was a very good size, had all the amenities we needed, and was super quiet, even on the main road. The staff were generally helpful and spoke reasonable bits of English. The only downside to this hotel is the pathetic breakfast (don't waste your time) and the laundry, the drier was useless and it took about 4 hours to dry our clothes. I was however impressed that, having put in these comments, I received a response by email from the hotel manager.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This hotel is centrally located, convenient to bus and subway. It is a short cab ride from the railroad station (which is highly recommended when you have luggage.) The rooms are spacious, attractive and well appointed, with fridge, microwave and cooking top, along with pots, pans, utensils, plates and glassware. Everything is spotless. There are many small restaurants and grocery stores nearby. The staff is excellent and very helpful with directions. Skip the hotel breakfast - it's not very good. But, by all means, book this hotel. We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: We had a higher floor - it was nice and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Citadines is a good size apartment with microwave, fridge etc and washing machines and dryers. It is clean, comfortable and has decent free wifi.

Although the location is a bit isolated from most of the tourist sites it is next to a station on one of the two Kyoto metro lines and only 1 stop from the station. I think it is a better location than the station as you can at least walk back from the down town area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Clean, friendly, Engilsh fluent, across the road from metro station, good local eateries closeby, good range of cuisines within walking or short cab ride distance, interconnecting rooms possible, proactive service levels, good laundry facilities.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The apartment was large for Japan very clean and Modern, its hard to find the front entrance as the sign is high up and it is soooo dark when you go in the front door. But the whole complex is great Breakfast is cheap and adequate washing machines & Dryers available when most needed :-). The staff especially the young man on in the afternoon and evening I wish I got his name was incredible he was so helpful and full of information and after we went to the restaurant he recommended checked with us to make sure it was good. He made our stay so much better.

Room Tip: We had an executive apartment a little more room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed here after also staying in the Citadines in Shinjuku. And equally (if not more so) impressive place for the low price, a short walk away from Shuji-dori and the wealth of restaurants/bars/shops. Kyoto Station isn't too far away for day trips either. The amenities in the room were spot on, and the addition of complimentary yukata was a nice unexpected treat.

The only issue is actually finding your way in there - the lobby is really dark so the door is hard to spot from the outside. Look out for something that seems like it should be a trade entrance...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto

Address: 432 Matsuyacho, Gojo Karasuma-dori Higashi-iru, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8105, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
#23 Business Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for business and leisure travel, Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto is located a short walk from the business district and Kyoto's tourist belt. Restaurants, shopping and entertainment are close by as are many of the cultural heritage sites. For destinations throughout the city, the subway is highly efficient and the Gojo subway station is outside the residence. It is one stop from the main Kyoto station of Shinkansen. These stylish serviced residences provide the comfort, convenience and security desired while living and working in Kyoto. Choice of Apart'hotel Choose from the studio twin, studio double, studio premier twin, studio premier double and one bedroom premier for the apartment that suits your requirements and budget. Each of these Kyoto serviced apartments is fully furnished with stylish interiors, designer fittings and modern amenities. The prime address allows for easy access to the city as well as a retreat with 24 hour security, services and facilities. The resident's programmes provide the opportunity to explore and discover Kyoto. Relax in the resident's lounge and work efficiently with business facilities available. Ideal Location Discover Kyoto, the cultural center of Japan. The vast number of world heritage sites, shrines, temples, palaces, and cultural facilities are easily accessible to you from Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto. Shopping, restaurants and entertainment venues are also close by the residence and the business district is a convenient 10 minute walk. The Gojo Subway station is one minute from the residence offering access to the network of subways throughout the city. Comfort and Convenience Every apartment is designed to offer space to relax with the amenities to live, work and entertain in comfort. Each apartment is fully furnished with modern and stylish fittings. The fully equipped kitchen has a cooker hob and hood, microwave, refrigerator, and glassware, crockery, cutlery and utensils. Also provided are the bedroom linens, bathroom towels and toiletries and daily cleaning services. Broadband internet access is available in each residence along with direct dial telephone and IDD service. The home entertainment system includes satellite TV, cable, DVD and a HiFi system. To accommodate your stay you may choose extra services from the flexible service menu to fit your budget and lifestyle. Included are the daily maid service, daily continental breakfast, automatic laundry, dry cleaning service and private car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Otel, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, JAPANiCAN and Tingo so you can book your Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Kyoto Karasuma Gojo Hotel Kyoto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.