We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved staying here - wish it had been for longer!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B&B Keiko

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kyoto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
B&B Keiko
Save
You added B&B Keiko to your Saves list
576-1 Matsumotocho, Ebisugawa Agaru,Gokomachi, Nakagyo-ku | (Teramachidori Ebisugawadori Nishiiru), Kyoto 604-0982, Kyoto Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Kyoto
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We loved staying here - wish it had been for longer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Our family of 5 (with 3 girls aged 7-13) had a fantastic stay here. Keiko is a lovely hostess with great tips on what to do & see in Kyoto. The B&B is in a quiet lane & is very convenient to buses etc - the directions to get there were excellent. Delicious breakfasts that set us up for the day. We had the place to ourselves and loved the tatami matting & traditional Japanese bathroom. Close to restaurants, transport, laundromat etc. Will definitely stay here next time.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
18
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

We stayed for one night in this 80 year old traditional two storey house in downtown Kyoto. We had the house to ourselves and slept in two traditional tatami rooms upstairs with beautiful painted screens and sliding doors. The bath and toilet were Japanese style, giving your the experience of what it was like to live in a traditional house in Kyoto. There was a low table and cushions downstairs where you could drink tea and look out at the tiny garden, which you had to cross to get to the toilet.

Room Tip: Let the owners know your arrival time
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

My family (one child) stayed 5 nights in this B&B and found the place to be value for money. The owner Keiko was an excellent hosts! She had a lovely daughter Juno who happened to be in the same age as my daughter. They both clicked on very well.

Keiko speaks good English. She was able to point us to good attractions and gave us valuable guidance on transport and getting around Kyoto. For info, travel around by bicycle and beware parking the bicycles in tow-away zones. We had the unfortunate experience our bikes taken away. Keiko was very understanding and helped us to retrieve the bikes as our flight was on the following day. There is a free 24-hr wireless internet connectivity which came in very handy for emails and updates.

Keiko cooks excellent American breakfast which is a nice change from the Japanese meals we had been eating daily. There is a common bathroom and a common toilet which may be a hassle if there are many guests. Fortunately there was another family with a kid during our stay.

I will recommend this B&B to anyone, especially small families who will like a value-for-money accommodation that includes a very sumptuous American breakfast (I'm not joking!). It is catered for those who will like to be on the go right after the breakfast and come back after dinner.

PS. Do consider cycling in Kyoto. My 8-yr old daughter cycled on the road with us from B&B Keiko to the city. That's how friendly it was.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

B and B Keiko have two locations; this review is for the downtown b and b. If you want a traditional Japanese experience, you'll have it here. Not all of it will be comfortable but it will be pretty authentic. And not too expensive - as some Kyoto ryokan are.

My room was lovely - big and spacious with gentle light coming through the matchstick blinds. A charming little tokonoma with a calligraphy scroll, a tatami floor, very comfortable futon and effective heating made the room a relaxing haven after a busy day's temple gazing. The bathroom is traditional Japanese style, so you wash yourself first before stepping into the deep tub to soak in and contemplate life. The toilet is outside and Japanese style, which was a struggle to get to on a couple of the very cold days I was there. But the pretty little garden that you pass through to get to the toilet compensates. Raphael is building a western-style loo at the moment, so no adapting will be required after he's finished. There's no TV or any modern technology (apart from the heating and lighting!). N.B There are only two rooms in this machiya (traditional townhouse).

The location is great. Teramachi is a great street to stroll along - head north and you'll find the Imperial Palace; head south and you'll hit the shopping arcades with some great browsing and people watching opportunities. Along the way are lots of interesting shops to tempt you to step inside, as well as a few little cafes. Breakfast is provided at the boulangerie around the corner.

Keiko and Raphael were always friendly and helpful and I can highly recommend this little b and b. After the first couple of days, I found myself slowing down and relaxing - which was a pleasure after the daily hustle and bustle of Hong Kong.

As a bonus, there was a very welcoming Irish bar a block or so away, called The Gnome. Good beer, delicious pizzas and a charming hostess ensured it became my local.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

B&B Keiko was a great place to stay with two families with small children. Great value for money, well located near the northern key tourist points in Kyoto, and Keiko's breakfasts are sensational!

Highly recommend staying at this place if you visit Kyoto. Cyrus & Gary.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

This was a great choice in Kyoto: close to a number of bus stops for easy travel, lots of nearby restaurants, and a 15/20 min walk to some of the major sights. The place itself is quite simple, with a tatami mat room on each floor, and a shared toilet and bath on the ground floor. You are given a key and can come and go as you please; it feels like you've got your own place in Kyoto. Keiko herself is great. She is very helpful (she speaks English, Portuguese, and Spanish in addition to Japanese), dispensing information on sights, restaurants, and the bus system. She serves enormous and delicious Western-style breakfasts (we could skip lunch). If you go in for luxury and pampering, this is probably not your spot; but if you like feeling like you've got your own little home, this place can't be beat.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

I highly recommend this place!

My mother and I stayed at B&B Keiko (the downtown location-Keiko has 2 different houses) for 5 nights at the beginning of August and it was a highlight of our trip to Kyoto. The B&B is comprised of only 2 guestrooms on the second floor of a very traditional feeling 100 year old house on a quiet residential street. Both rooms are spacious and light, with tatami mat flooring, futons for sleeping, beautiful original built-in wooden cabinetry and sliding screens. It is an old house, and retains many original details. From the light fixtures to the old sink in the bathroom to the silk textiles covering the screens. Any fan of design would appreciate a stay here. It really epitomizes the japanese aesthetic in it's lovely functional simplicity. There is a small courtyard garden, a shared japanese style toilet and a lovely separate bathroom.

The neighborhood itself has a very local, residential, quiet feel and we really enjoyed exploring the backstreets. There are lots of great little charming shops (the famous ipo do tea shop is around the corner) as well as very local feeling restaurants. It definitely felt more real than staying in a very tourist oriented area, although it was convenient to many busroutes and within walking to distance Gion district and the river and the imperial palace park where I enjoyed running in the mornings. We found it to be a great base for our sightseeing excursions throughout the city and surrounding area.

Keiko and her cute, outgoing daughter Juno were there to welcome us the night we arrived along with Raphael who stayed in the house and was always there to answer any questions or give advice. Except for one night, we were the only guests and really felt like we had the place to ourselves, although we could always depend on Keiko or Raphael for advice or recommendations. They were both exceptionally kind and helpful. We loved having breakfast every morning at the cafe around the corner, a very popular local neighborhood spot. They do not serve breakfast at the B&B so a delicious breakfast at this cafe/bakery is instead included in the price which we felt was a great value.

This place was ideal for us, but we are pretty independent travelers who appreciate a unique experience. We don't need a lot in the way of services. If you can't survive without an ensuite bathroom or someone there for you every minute to attend to any need this may not be the place. But staying here gave us the feeling we were locals and we felt completely comfortable and at home.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B&B Keiko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Keiko

Address: 576-1 Matsumotocho, Ebisugawa Agaru,Gokomachi, Nakagyo-ku | (Teramachidori Ebisugawadori Nishiiru), Kyoto 604-0982, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Kyoto
Number of rooms: 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B Keiko, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.