We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Guesthouse!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kazariya

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kyoto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kazariya
184 Higashi Kazariyacho, Gojo-dori, Muromachi Nishiiru Minamigawa, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 600-8107, Japan (Kyoto Station)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 232 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice Guesthouse!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

5 of us went to Kyoto and stayed in this guesthouse. We think this is the best accommodation we have in Japan. It is very clean and nice. We love the kitchen very much. It is so cozy and we feel that we are like at home. This guesthouse is only 2 mins walk from Gojo station, which we find it is very convenient for tourists like us to go around Kyoto. You can find a few restaurants nearby. And there is a mart just further down the road. You can get whatever you want here. We think this guesthouse has everything that we need. We will definitely go back to Kazariya next time. Thanks Kazariya for the nice memories!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
Couples
0
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Nice tatami rooms and very friendly staff, rooms lack a bit of light though at night.
Internet works very well (close to 5 Mbps download speed).

Unfortunately, the place gets road noise from Gojo-road, traffic keeps going the whole night with vehicles stopping and accelerating at the nearby traffic light.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2010

The ryokan is very near Gojo Subway station and there are a few bus stops around where one can easily access Kiyomizudera or Kinkakuji. Kyoto Station is only about 10-15 minutes walk away.

You can also rent a bicycle for 500 yen/day to Kiyomizudera, Higashi Hongganji and Nijo Castle and Nishii Hongganji which are all around the area. The staff was very helpful and spoke English. She was also able to help us make a reservation at a Japanese restaurant and help us gather information about Kyoto. 1 Day Buss Pass were being sold here as well.

The rooms are quite nice, heater and air conditioner was provided. We also have access to a the internet downstairs and a kitchen with herbs and spices was available.

As for the weaknesses, the western toilet does not have a heater and the ryokan was located on top of a subway line and next to a construction side so nose might be problem for light sleepers. Other than that, we found the ryokan to be pretty decent and a nice place as a base to explore other parts of Kyoto.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Bronx
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

I loved this guest house, It was in a very good location Very close to the gojo station which was only one stop from kyoto station, I loved the atmosphere and the service, the room was spacious and even though I have never slept on a futon I slept soundly each night and woke feeling refreshed. we were very happy.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kazariya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kazariya

Address: 184 Higashi Kazariyacho, Gojo-dori, Muromachi Nishiiru Minamigawa, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 600-8107, Japan
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Kyoto Station
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 232 Specialty lodging in Kyoto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kazariya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kazariya to your Saves list