We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mume

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Mume to your Saves list
Hotel Mume
261 Shinmonzen dori, Umemotocho, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto 605-0064, Kyoto Prefecture (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 343 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

My advice would be to stay here at least a night or two to really enjoy Kyoto.
Fantastic area.
No Spa, but unbelievably clean, friendly, and spacious comfortable rooms.

The butterfly rooms are a little smaller and dark, the Wind rooms are brighter and have a nice view of a little creek and shops. Butterfly if you want to sleep and wind if you want to enjoy view. Two rooms on each floor butterfly on one side and wind on other.

Even had free drinks in evening at great little bar.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    24
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
73
313
28
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
FL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

From the moment you arrive at the Hotel Mume, you are treated with TRULY exceptional customer service. The owner and her staff are superlative and you immediately feel they really want to make your trip enjoyable. Mostly, they anticipated our needs in advance. From simple directions, places of interest, upcoming festivals, shopping, restaurant recommendations to arranging a taxi for the day when it was particularly hot. The service is so effortless - yet impeccable and sincere - it's hard to describe. We've stayed at 5 diamond to theoretical 7* properties and some pretty great boutique hotels all over the World. This was our best experience in terms of service. Ever! It feels like home when you are there. The lounge is so tranquil and a great place to enjoy the outstanding hybrid breakfast and/or happy hour. The entire staff (we had 3 extraordinarily kind favorites in the lounge but sadly forgot to get there names...although they always knew ours) was attentive to every aspect of our stay.

The location in Gion is perfect for walking. Japanese isn't necessary, but our attempts were graciously appreciated.

My wife and two young daughters stayed at the hotel for four nights and, in the end, experienced each of the room types. We loved them all. All are quiet and peaceful - with the most modern amenities/fixtures yet tastefully decorated with beautiful Asian antiques. Our girls loved Butterfly with the neat modern touches and red theme. Wind rooms are brightest and overlook the stream. Flower is simply extraordinary!

So, were there any negatives? Yes, LEAVING this amazing hotel and that we only reserved a four night stay. We can't wait to come back!! Don't hesitate to stay at Hotel Mume!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This hotel is the perfect introduction to Japan. Unlike big 5 star hotels that are much the same wherever you go, Mume is a 7 room hotel that makes you feel at home. I cannot praise staff and owner enough. They went above and beyond what is to be expected from a top hotel. They speak good English and give you all the information you need to move around Kyoto. This includes transport, maps, restaurant bookings and recommendations, etc. Their service is tailored to the needs of every guest.
It is tastefully decorated and has a special charm. The location is excellent, close to antique shops, temples, nightlife, restaurants and public transport.
If we go back to Kyoto, we'll certainly go back to Mume.

Room Tip: There are seven rooms. We booked the cheapest (moon) and it was fine. Quiet and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Hotel Mume offers very nice accommodations coupled with 12 star service. The attention to customer service is above and beyond anything I have ever experienced and I have only stayed at 5+ star properties.

The rooms are simple, albeit elegant. They are not Four Seasons type luxury. More like sleeping in an antique store!

The wifi is great all over the hotel so if you need connectivity for work, no problem

The evening cocktail hour is great. Drink away. If you can consume it, they will pour it.

Service is off the charts exceptional. From restaurant recs. to a driver for the day to sight seeing activities to shopping to whatever. The owner and staff are sweet, delightful, and downright fantastic.

If there is one negative, I would say the same breakfast daily could get annoying IF you stay for a week plus and are used to buffet style. Breakfast is simple and spa like - a hard boiled egg, some assorted breads, yogurt, and fruit salad. The hotel does not have a restaurant so do not expect a menu. I found a delicious french bakery 15 minutes walk and helped myself to some additional calories daily!!!

I strongly urge you to stay at this property. Avoid western style Hyatt and Westin to truly enjoy the Kyoto experience

Thanks staff for a remarkable stay. Can't wait to return with the 3 little ones!!!

The San Diego crew with the Texas Parents - I am sure you will never forget us!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Our first short stay at Mume was marked by an impressive level of service so we returned for a stay of 7 nights. We were again impressed by the extensive and detailed advice we received each day about seasonal highlights and travel in and around Kyoto. The manager, the charming Hisako Shibata, and her staff ensured that we had all the information we needed for each day's activities and travel arrangements. We were also given very successful recommendations for restaurants.
We can highly recommend Hotel Mume as giving personal attention to every guest, a level of service we have never received anywhere else in the world. The hotel is extremely charming, with lovely rooms, and the breakfast is perfect. Espresso coffee is always available, and happy hour drinks are a very pleasant way to relax after sightseeing. We do not think you will find a better place to stay in Kyoto. Just don't book it out, we want to be able to get a room next time!

Room Tip: We stayed in a Wind room both times so have not seen the others but if they are like the rest of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

What a beautiful establishment! And the most wonderful service anyone can ask for. My husband and I arrived very late and they were able to welcome us and even gave us an upgrade to the suite on the top floor. It was a beautiful room with a great balcony looking over the river.
They were so attentive especially with reservations and planning the day, down to the bus/train routes/stops etc. Actually, they started helping me long before we even arrived. I sent numerous emails asking about various aspects of my trip and they always replied promptly and thoroughly. Happy hour every afternoon and breakfast was always fantastic. And how gracious were they to always accompany us to the elevator and bow to us as the doors closed. Really tremendous experience. Thanks Hotel Mume!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We spent three nights here & very much enjoyed the experience. I would describe it as a sort of Western style ryokan, mainly because of the personal touch & the beautiful furnishings. The eclectic mix of lampshades, curtains & furniture resulted in a stunning effect. The staff were so helpful & gave us so much information. They made bookings for us in advance of our stay & recommended places to eat, all of which turned out perfectly. We stayed in the Wind room which was lovely & bright, was spotlessly clean & had just about everything we needed. A nice view of the stream below too. The breakfasts are tasty & plentiful & the freshly baked bread a real treat. Best of all we enjoyed happy 'two hours' when we got a chance to sit back & reflect on the day's activities with a nice glass of something!! It was good to speak to fellow travellers too & to staff at this time. At the end of our stay we felt like we had become good 'mates'! The staff were so helpful & we enjoyed taking tea in the lounge..... however, it would have made our stay even more spectacular had we had a kettle in the room - we do so enjoy that morning cup of tea in bed!!!!

Room Tip: The Wind rooms are delightful - nice & bright with a view of the stream below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#18 of 343 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 2,103 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#24 of 343 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 1,467 reviews
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton Kyoto
The Ritz-Carlton Kyoto
#6 of 343 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 293 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#11 of 343 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mume? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mume

Address: 261 Shinmonzen dori, Umemotocho, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto 605-0064, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 343 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Mume reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mume, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.