We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection! An Unforgettable Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mume

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Mume to your Saves list
Hotel Mume
261 Shinmonzen dori, Umemotocho, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto 605-0064, Kyoto Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 333 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
5.0 of 5 stars 399 Reviews
FL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfection! An Unforgettable Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

From the moment you arrive at the Hotel Mume, you are treated with TRULY exceptional customer service. The owner and her staff are superlative and you immediately feel they really want to make your trip enjoyable. Mostly, they anticipated our needs in advance. From simple directions, places of interest, upcoming festivals, shopping, restaurant recommendations to arranging a taxi for the day when it was particularly hot. The service is so effortless - yet impeccable and sincere - it's hard to describe. We've stayed at 5 diamond to theoretical 7* properties and some pretty great boutique hotels all over the World. This was our best experience in terms of service. Ever! It feels like home when you are there. The lounge is so tranquil and a great place to enjoy the outstanding hybrid breakfast and/or happy hour. The entire staff (we had 3 extraordinarily kind favorites in the lounge but sadly forgot to get there names...although they always knew ours) was attentive to every aspect of our stay.

The location in Gion is perfect for walking. Japanese isn't necessary, but our attempts were graciously appreciated.

My wife and two young daughters stayed at the hotel for four nights and, in the end, experienced each of the room types. We loved them all. All are quiet and peaceful - with the most modern amenities/fixtures yet tastefully decorated with beautiful Asian antiques. Our girls loved Butterfly with the neat modern touches and red theme. Wind rooms are brightest and overlook the stream. Flower is simply extraordinary!

So, were there any negatives? Yes, LEAVING this amazing hotel and that we only reserved a four night stay. We can't wait to come back!! Don't hesitate to stay at Hotel Mume!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    22
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
57
261
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This hotel is the perfect introduction to Japan. Unlike big 5 star hotels that are much the same wherever you go, Mume is a 7 room hotel that makes you feel at home. I cannot praise staff and owner enough. They went above and beyond what is to be expected from a top hotel. They speak good English and give you all the information you need to move around Kyoto. This includes transport, maps, restaurant bookings and recommendations, etc. Their service is tailored to the needs of every guest.
It is tastefully decorated and has a special charm. The location is excellent, close to antique shops, temples, nightlife, restaurants and public transport.
If we go back to Kyoto, we'll certainly go back to Mume.

Room Tip: There are seven rooms. We booked the cheapest (moon) and it was fine. Quiet and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Hotel Mume offers very nice accommodations coupled with 12 star service. The attention to customer service is above and beyond anything I have ever experienced and I have only stayed at 5+ star properties.

The rooms are simple, albeit elegant. They are not Four Seasons type luxury. More like sleeping in an antique store!

The wifi is great all over the hotel so if you need connectivity for work, no problem

The evening cocktail hour is great. Drink away. If you can consume it, they will pour it.

Service is off the charts exceptional. From restaurant recs. to a driver for the day to sight seeing activities to shopping to whatever. The owner and staff are sweet, delightful, and downright fantastic.

If there is one negative, I would say the same breakfast daily could get annoying IF you stay for a week plus and are used to buffet style. Breakfast is simple and spa like - a hard boiled egg, some assorted breads, yogurt, and fruit salad. The hotel does not have a restaurant so do not expect a menu. I found a delicious french bakery 15 minutes walk and helped myself to some additional calories daily!!!

I strongly urge you to stay at this property. Avoid western style Hyatt and Westin to truly enjoy the Kyoto experience

Thanks staff for a remarkable stay. Can't wait to return with the 3 little ones!!!

The San Diego crew with the Texas Parents - I am sure you will never forget us!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Our first short stay at Mume was marked by an impressive level of service so we returned for a stay of 7 nights. We were again impressed by the extensive and detailed advice we received each day about seasonal highlights and travel in and around Kyoto. The manager, the charming Hisako Shibata, and her staff ensured that we had all the information we needed for each day's activities and travel arrangements. We were also given very successful recommendations for restaurants.
We can highly recommend Hotel Mume as giving personal attention to every guest, a level of service we have never received anywhere else in the world. The hotel is extremely charming, with lovely rooms, and the breakfast is perfect. Espresso coffee is always available, and happy hour drinks are a very pleasant way to relax after sightseeing. We do not think you will find a better place to stay in Kyoto. Just don't book it out, we want to be able to get a room next time!

Room Tip: We stayed in a Wind room both times so have not seen the others but if they are like the rest of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

What a beautiful establishment! And the most wonderful service anyone can ask for. My husband and I arrived very late and they were able to welcome us and even gave us an upgrade to the suite on the top floor. It was a beautiful room with a great balcony looking over the river.
They were so attentive especially with reservations and planning the day, down to the bus/train routes/stops etc. Actually, they started helping me long before we even arrived. I sent numerous emails asking about various aspects of my trip and they always replied promptly and thoroughly. Happy hour every afternoon and breakfast was always fantastic. And how gracious were they to always accompany us to the elevator and bow to us as the doors closed. Really tremendous experience. Thanks Hotel Mume!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We spent three nights here & very much enjoyed the experience. I would describe it as a sort of Western style ryokan, mainly because of the personal touch & the beautiful furnishings. The eclectic mix of lampshades, curtains & furniture resulted in a stunning effect. The staff were so helpful & gave us so much information. They made bookings for us in advance of our stay & recommended places to eat, all of which turned out perfectly. We stayed in the Wind room which was lovely & bright, was spotlessly clean & had just about everything we needed. A nice view of the stream below too. The breakfasts are tasty & plentiful & the freshly baked bread a real treat. Best of all we enjoyed happy 'two hours' when we got a chance to sit back & reflect on the day's activities with a nice glass of something!! It was good to speak to fellow travellers too & to staff at this time. At the end of our stay we felt like we had become good 'mates'! The staff were so helpful & we enjoyed taking tea in the lounge..... however, it would have made our stay even more spectacular had we had a kettle in the room - we do so enjoy that morning cup of tea in bed!!!!

Room Tip: The Wind rooms are delightful - nice & bright with a view of the stream below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed here in early May on our honeymoon, we stayed in the Butterfly room which was very romantic with dark walls and a glass wall looking into the shower. The room felt like it had a personality. The hotel was very well appointed and felt very luxurious.

The staff were so kind and helpful from the start and they treated you like friends, offering tips and chatting with us about kyoto and our trip. They had a happy hour each evening when they offer drinks (alcoholic and non-alcoholic) for free, they also take time to chat to guests and offer advice about where to go in the evening.

The breakfast was lovely. Home baked breads, fresh fruit, soup, fruit juice and a boiled egg which kept us going for the morning.

They so helpful offering directions, good recommendations for things to do and places to eat. I mentioned that it was my birthday while we were staying there and wanted somewhere special to eat, they found us somewhere and booked it for us. Just as we were about to leave they brought me a cake and sang happy birthday!!

It was those kind of touches were what made our stay so special, they went way above the expectations for service and hospitality and it is a place that we will always have fond memories of. If we ever get to go back to Kyoto this is the only place we will stay. Thank you to everyone at Hotel Mume!!

Room Tip: The butterfly room was lovely and romantic so ideal for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mume? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mume

Address: 261 Shinmonzen dori, Umemotocho, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto 605-0064, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 333 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Hotel Mume reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mume, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.