We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personal attention” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mume

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Mume to your Saves list
Hotel Mume
261 Shinmonzen dori, Umemotocho, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto 605-0064, Kyoto Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 333 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
5.0 of 5 stars 401 Reviews
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Personal attention”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights recently and was amazed by the level of personal attention. They treat you as a special guest and are available for whatever you might require. Lovely breakfast and it was great to come back in the evening to a pleasant welcome and a warm cup of tea (or cold beer if you prefer). My room was small and did not have a window but I knew to expect that so it was no big deal. Plan on staying here again next year. Good location in the East part of the city in the really interesting Gion neighbourhood.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    22
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
57
263
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belo Horizonte, MG
2 reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Great hotel, I am writing this rewiev from a Butterfly room, which in lovely decorated, comfortable, romantic, quiet. Breakfast is good, lot of fruits every day, vegetable soup, fresh baked bread... Perfect!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, FL
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

As a veteran of the hospitality industry, it really takes a lot to knock my socks off when I stay at a hotel. Mume did so in a very impactful way. The service is so genuine and caring that the property could have been a dump and I'd still have fond memories - but, the property is far from a dump - it's perfect. Small, contemporary, spotless and very comfortable.

The location isn't for someone who needs to be at 'main and main' but we prefer to be slightly off the beaten path and afforded the opportunity to discover less touristy neighborhoods. That being said, the access is easy, there are multiple train and subway options nearby, and we had no trouble finding it.

I'd highly recommend Mume and can't wait to get back and visit one of my favorite hotels in the world.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We have just received a holiday card from Mume. Our stay there in early November 2012 was the highlight of our trip to China and Japan. The staff were wonderful. They suggested a guide/driver who was extremely knowledgeable and very efficient. Well worth the expense. Other guests who did not use a guide did not see as much as we. We stayed in a Butterfly room which was comfortable and well appointed. The evening happy hour included free coctails and allowed us to meet and mingle with the other guests. We highly recommend staying at this botique hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed two night in January with our 11 month old son. As others have said Hisako and her team go out of their way to ensure that you feel as comfortable as possible.

The rooms were very clean and well equipped but it is the service that makes Mume standout from the crowd. Nothing was to much bother for anyone, and they looked after our son very well.

We got some great tips on restaurants and also where to visit during our short stay. If you are there for the shopping or sightseeing then there is plenty to do within walking distance as Gion is the old part of Kyoto. If you want to see the Golden Pavillion then this is c30 min taxi ride.

If you like great service and small hotels then you would be mad to say anywhere else.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I wouldn't stay elsewhere in Kyoto, this is such a beautiful boutique hotel. Location in the old town is lovely and very convenient, as it is close to many attractions and places to go out, but also to one of the main transport hubs. The hotel itself if very nicely decorated, with a lovely and relaxing common room/bar overlooking a stream. As soon as we arrived we were offered drinks and snacks while we did the check-in, and during our whole stay the staff made sure we always had everything we needed, and more.

We stayed in the Moon room, which is the cheapest but it's still great. The bed was huge and comfortable, bathroom was 5 stars, and of course everything was spotless. The only downside is that the room was very, very close to the building next door, so the room had absolutely no day light.

They had lots of small attentions, like the happy hour every afternoon, and fresh flowers that left an heavenly scent in the corridor. This is probably one of the best places I've stayed in.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed at the Mume in Kyoto for 4 nights in January. The experience was as good as we have had anywhere in the world including 5 star hotels that cost 4 times more than the Mume.
The staff are very accommodating, all speak good english and are always offering advice on where to go and what to do. They made bookings in hard to get restaurants for us and even went to the trouble of arranging a tour of a historic restaurant building after we had finished our meal.
We will always stay at the Mume when we visit Kyoto.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mume? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mume

Address: 261 Shinmonzen dori, Umemotocho, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto 605-0064, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 333 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Hotel Mume reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mume, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.