We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location in Kyoto!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Styles Kyoto Station

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Styles Kyoto Station to your Saves list
Ibis Styles Kyoto Station
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47 Higashikyujyo Kamitonoda cho, Minami-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 601-8002, Japan (Kyoto Station)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 333 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Best location in Kyoto!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location is great literally 2 minutes walk to the Kyoto station which makes this hotel a super mega hub for exploring not only Kyoto and its nearby sights but a perfect place to travel to Osaka and Nara! If you are coming by bus or by train from anywhere in Japan to Tokyo you don't need to commute any further. Most of the city buses start here which makes this perfect for Kyoto sight seeing. More on the location as Kyoto station has the best food places out of which RAMEN is the king of food here. Great for shoppers with some big labels, department stores and Daiso just minutes away.
The hotel is very nice although rooms are quiet small, you get free WiFi and tea and coffee in the rooms. The staff was great and helped us to book a limousine service to get to the airport. One comment is that some of the staff speaks good English where as some could improve but still we managed.
The room was clean but the toilet seat could use extra time of cleaning but other then that perfect.
I loved that I could dry clean my own cloths as there are washing machines at the 1st floor with some dryers all pretty cheap plus a nice selection of vending machines with beer.
Again overall will be coming back and a great, great hotel!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibis-Styles-FOM, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Ibis Styles Kyoto Station, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear grubenmaster,

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your positive comments regarding your recent stay at ibis Styles Kyoto Station. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the location of the hotel. We are lucky to have Kyoto Station just outside the hotel which enables you to travel around the city with ease.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards,

Takeshi Nyuhara
ibis Styles Kyoto Station
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    80
    25
    3
    1
See reviews for
26
57
23
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

So glad I booked this spot. Not only was it accessible to the Kyoto station (which is a hub for shopping & dining) but the room is tiny but comfortable. Never have I ever slept so well on such a bed. I got a smoking room but it is such that the room never ever smells like cigarettes at all. Big plus to that. Love the addition of the electrical toilet, especially during cold seasons. Breakfast was included in my booking however, the choices are limited because it is a small kitchen and it will tend to get really busy during weekends. Besides, with so many options to choose from, it would be alright to skip breakfast. Other than that, I've enjoyed my stay and I will definitely return to Ibis Styles Kyoto Station the next time.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibis-Styles-FOM, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Ibis Styles Kyoto Station, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear AmeliaRamlee,

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your stay at ibis Styles Kyoto Station. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and you found the bed to be comfortable.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards,

Takeshi Nyuhara
ibis Styles Kyoto Station
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in this Hotel the third time, the first and second time when it still was Hotel Vista run by another company. The location near the Kyoto Station is simply perfect!
Nevertheless, as the hotel was taken over by Accor recently we expected some sort of renovation to have taken place (entrance, elevator, rooms). But at least on the floor where we stayed, nothing had changed except the music on the hallway which was now pop music instead of the former tranquil and decent lounge-music (which in our opinion suits the japanese style of the hallway much better).
The staff is friendly and helpfull. The room was clean, but looked rather used.
We would like to suggest to put an air-moisterer into the rooms (like some well-known japanese ion-products), as the air gets very dry.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibis-Styles-FOM, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Ibis Styles Kyoto Station, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear ReFiVienna,

Thank you for staying with us again. Your comments will be shared with the management for consideration.
Please do not delay in asking for a humidifier on your next visit, we will always be happy to help.

Kind regards,

Takeshi Nyuhara
ibis Styles Kyoto Station
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is good for traveler, it's new, very close to Kyoto station which is convenience. The room is clean in standard size of Japan hotel, provide UCC coffee machine. Staff speak English very well.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibis-Styles-FOM, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Ibis Styles Kyoto Station, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Niramon_J,

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor in relation to your stay at ibis Styles Kyoto Station. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and you have found the location of the hotel to be convenient.
We provide welcome coffee for our Le Club members.

We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel again in the future.

Kind regards,

Takeshi Nyuhara
ibis Styles Kyoto Station
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Right across the road from Kyoto station. Easy access to shopping and restaurants. We based ourselves at this hotel for five nights and caught the bullet train to other places of interest. Very convenient. Hotel staff were friendly. Rooms small but had all the conveniences and were very clean. Great value for money. Interesting Japanese style breakfast at reasonable price. If not your "cup of tea" then there are dozens of eating places just across the road at the train station. We stayed 5 nights and still didn't get to see all of what Kyoto Stations shopping areas had to offer. For convenience, value and cleanliness I will stay there again on my next trip to Kyoto.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the station and experience the "buzz" of Kyoto
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibis-Styles-FOM, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Ibis Styles Kyoto Station, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Ron B,

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback regarding your recent stay at ibis Styles Kyoto Station. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the location of the hotel. We are fortunate to be located in walking distance to public transportation, shopping areas and fine restaurants.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Kyoto.

Kind regards,

Takeshi Nyuhara
ibis Styles Kyoto Station
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankston, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very convenient, just across the road from the station and friendly staff! Can't fault our experience at the hotel! Highly recommend it as a central point for all your travels as it's so close to the station and a short walk to several shopping districts.

While the room in which we stayed in was small, it was very clean and quite and worth the money, and the breakfast that was offered was generous with both western and Japanese options.

I would highly recommend the staying at the Ibis Styles and if ever traveling back to Kyoto would be my go to hotel to book first.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibis-Styles-FOM, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Ibis Styles Kyoto Station, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Gavinator77,

Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review. It was a pleasure to read about your experience at ibis Styles Kyoto Station. Your comments have been shared with the staff. We were delighted that you would recommend staying with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Kyoto.

Kind regards,

Takeshi Nyuhara
ibis Styles Kyoto Station
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Styles Kyoto Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Kyoto Station

Address: 47 Higashikyujyo Kamitonoda cho, Minami-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 601-8002, Japan
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 333 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Styles Kyoto Station 2*
Number of rooms: 215
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Rakuten and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Styles Kyoto Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Styles Kyoto Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.