We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and conveniently located hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of A-Yado Gion

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kyoto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A-Yado Gion
Save
You added A-Yado Gion to your Saves list
2-244-2 Nakano-cho, Shinmonzen-dori, Yamatoooji-higashiiru, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto 605-0082, Kyoto Prefecture (Gion Higashiyama / Kita Shirakawa / Kurama / Yase / Ohara)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 155 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 38 Reviews
Oakland, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great and conveniently located hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

A-Yado Gion is on a quiet street just a stone's throw from the Gion area...close to Nishiki Food Market, shopping, train, subway, and bus stations. The hostel is really clean and the staff is extremely helpful. The dorm beds have privacy curtains and individual lamps and outlets for each bed. It can get a little cramped in the dorms as there's not much space for everyone's luggage, but still, it's cozy for a few days. They have guidebooks and information on other hostels in Japan which is a huge help. Also, a simple breakfast is included, a nice perk as most hostels in Japan don't provide breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    15
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
5
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Osaka, Japan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

This hostel was amazing. I definitely recommend it if you are in Gion. There aren't many rooms and it is small but it makes it great because you get to meet amazing people. Also, all the places are very tiny (hostels, restaurants, shops, etc). The staff was simply perfect. They helped us with absolutely everything. When you arrive, they take the time to show you the rooms, the common area, etc. They also always asked us where we were going and showed us how to get there and what they recommended to do. They also try to make you get to all the locations for the cheapest price. They sell bus tickets for a little cheaper, have postcard stamps, maps, etc.

The internet (wifi) worked perfectly everywhere in the building. There are also two computers in the common area to use and cheap snacks, noodles if you don't feel like going out or simply want something small for cheap. They also offer free bread for breakfast and unlimited coffee and tea.

There isn't much to add except that it is very clean and friendly. If you are looking for a good place to eat, I would recommend Teppan Manriyu. They make the best okonomiyaki and are extremely friendly. My friend and I stayed with the staff there talking for about an hour and a half using my Japanese book and their translation apps on their phones. I would go again without hesitation. It is literally 2 minutes walking from the hostel.

Also, Gion is the geisha district so might see one walking around if you are lucky. We saw one randomly when we walked in the streets.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCMC, VN
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

The hostel is small because it is a flat so the room is cramp. But it's clean, good and new mattress. However, the shower attached in the room is not narrow. The kitchen is on another floor having fridge, microwave... I asked the train from Kyoto to Tokyo and the staff print out the schedule of train, time arrive and depart, transfer point... with lots of care! Thank you

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We spend 4 nights at a-yado hostel and it was amazing. Clean, great service in the lobby and it is located right in the middle of Kyoto.
Gion is a nice and cozy part of Kyoto.

Great experience, I would recommend this hostel to anyone who is traveling to the greater Kyoto area.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

very value! especially if you go to Kyoto in winter. i stayed here only for 2550 yen for TWO NIGHTS.

in gion district, near nishiki market, shijo - kawaramachi shopping street, and yasaka shirine. near gion bus stop (3 mins walk) and 5 subway stations (5-10 mins walk).

i stayed in 10 beds female dorm in 3rd floor. A yado only have 2 dorms, which is a female dorm and a male dorm. all dorm with 2 ensuite shower room, yes, you don't need to get outside dorm for take a shower :). hot water is stable with free soap, shampoo, and rinse/detergent. they have 4 toilets (not a japanese modern toilet) beside female dorm (2 female and 2 male).

in 5th floor, they have lounge, PCs with high speed internet, kitchen, dining room, tv, and washing machine (free use until 10pm daily). they sell noodle cup 150 yen and rice. if you smoking, you can sit in front of a yado lounge door, but it so cold when winter. if you want to print something, you just email to reception, and its for free.

i was surprised, for the first time in japan i can mingle and go out with another a-yado female and male solo traveler to eat the best ramen in kyoto.
seriously, a yado is the best hotel i have ever stayed in japan :)

Room Tip: for female dorm, choose the third bunk bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed in a 10 bunk mixed dorm. For the location and amenities you can't beat the price. A quick walk to all the gorgeous temples in Southern Higashiyama region and you're also a quick walk to the nightlife and restaurants of Gion. The lounge area in nicely set up for a friendly atmosphere with beers and snacks for sale and coffee and tea free of charge. The staff is very friendly and helpful too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kai
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I stayed here with two of my friends who were visiting from outside Japan and A- yado was recommended to me by another English teacher who had stayed in the hostel a few months previous.
The setup is great. Having the showers in the men's dormitory while keeping the bathrooms in a separate but convenient section was a big plus. It's nice to not have to worry about preparing for your day in a general mixed-geneder area. The AC was amazing! Being that we were there while the area was setting record highs, it was nice that the staff didn't crank down the AC to save money.
The lounge area provided an excellent place to relax before and after our travels around Kyoto and it almost goes without saying that the hostel is perfectly located in the city. Because of the relaxed nature of the lounge, most of the guests relaxed in the area which made for amazing conversation with backpackers both local to Japan and folks from all over the world coming to see the beauty of Kyoto.
The staff was very kind and extremely helpful, looking up things from parking for my car to places to eat to helping us find a good deal on karaoke!
Next time I'm in Kyoto you can bet I'll stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose an a bunk close to the AC :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A-Yado Gion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A-Yado Gion

Address: 2-244-2 Nakano-cho, Shinmonzen-dori, Yamatoooji-higashiiru, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto 605-0082, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Gion Higashiyama / Kita Shirakawa / Kurama / Yase / Ohara
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 155 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A-Yado Gion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.