We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Village Kyoto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Village Kyoto to your Saves list
Village Kyoto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Mibu-Bojo-cho, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 604-8804 , Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #123 of 333 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I was feeling skeptical with this hotel due to mixed review however we did not make a wrong choice. This hotel is clean and neat. It looks new as well.

It is near to a train station where you can hop on to Arashimaya easily. There is also a shin-omiya station but this line does not bring you to Kyoto station. Its not a problem, just hop on to their city bus to reach kyoto station. The nearest subway connecting to Kyoto station is Shijo Station which is about 20mins walk. I strongly recommend you to get 500Yen a day bus pass to visit all the temples. It is very easy and convenient.

The hotel room comes with tatami mat and its spacious in japanese standard. You can choose to sleep on futon or roll down the sofas into sofa beds. The room comes with boiling flask, a microwave (very useful!). There is also a communal hot bath at level 1 for you to soak in.

Tv channels limit to japanese channels so its quite boring at time. Aircon was a bit erratic, it blew air every now and then but its not a problem for us.

The hotel provides free bento breakfast. Its a small bento to keep you full but not very full. We opted for the japanese bento and had the same bento for the next 3 days. Nearby, you can try Lotteria fastfood, a new japanese burger chain which serves quite good burgers like MOS burger.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    85
    30
    10
    6
See reviews for
77
28
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

The only disappointing stay I had in my trip to Japan. We got a fantastic rate (50% off) and a huge room so decided to stay here.

English skills at the reception are limited. Staff are borderline rude who don't make you feel welcome at all. The only time this ever happened to us in Japan. So we knew something was not quite right from the moment we checked in.

Room itself was nice, very modern furnishings and futuristic feel. The theme of the hotel is a half-way between a hotel room and ryokan stay. Great curtains to block out natural light - so well you couldn't tell what time of the day it was in the room. Beds could have been better. Air-conditioning was good. The hallways are outdoors (but undercover) so you're exposed to the elements until you walk into your room.

Location is actually quite good - 10 minute walk to Gion district. And really in Kyoto, buses can take you anywhere you need to go. There's a bus stop right outside the hotel. Cheap taxi ride home after one night out in Gion.

The 50% off rate was the only pull to stay here. Without that, I'd look elsewhere for better service.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

The room was big compared to the standard in Japan. Fridge and microwave in the room. Supermarket (Gourmet City) relatively close to the hotel. English skills are limited in the reception. If you want a hotel close to the subway choose another hotel. We took a taxi from the closest subway (Karasuma Oike) at a price of 930 yen. It was too far with our backpack in the hot weather. An alternative to the subway you could take bus 206 north and get off at Shijo Omiya. The hotel is only a few minutes away from the bus stop. Although the hotel was fine I would probably try another hotel next time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed at three places in Japan while there for 10 days and this was the big disappointment. When we first checked in the AC smelled moldy. They switched our room after the tour company complained for us but they were not too happy about it. It was the only place in Japan where as a foreigner I did not feel very welcome from the hotel staff. The location is near a metro stop but otherwise it's just a commercial section of downtown with not much to offer. They had maps and brochures galore but nothing available in English. The bedding is like an uber-futon, but they won't even set it up for you. You're on your own. If you want a ryokan experience, pick a real ryokan in Gion.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

This hotel was absolutely wonderful. I must admit, I was a bit wary of the traditional sleeping arrangements at first, but found both the mattress and the pillow very comfortable, though it would be nice to be offered a sheet as the quilt we had was far too hot for the summer temperatures, even with aircon. The laundry within the hotel is very easy to use and so convenient. The website states that they offer Japanese and Western style breakfast, though all that is on offer seems to be Japanese style breakfast, which we didn't eat and went out for breakfast in preference - the only redeeming feature is that this breakfast is offered free of charge. We found the location very good - close to public transport; though a note to those who have a JR pass the railway close to the hotel is not a JR line, so you will have to pay. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I liked this hotel. It is situated in the centre of Kyoto, a short bus ride away from the Gion district, and a 15 minutes bus ride to the main JR station (it is very easy to use the buses in Kyoto). It is a semi ryokan experience. There are the advantages of a ryokan with the privacy of a private bathroom. The room itself was large with enough space for five adults (at a push), and the floor was covered with tatami mats. The room had futons which were exceptionally comfortable. We left our futons as beds during our stay, and used the low table with cushions to sit on (bear this in mind if you are not very flexible). The rooms were very clean and well equipped with a TV, fridge, microwave, kettle and Internet access by LAN cable (no wifi). The staff were polite and helpful. Breakfast was provided in the room each morning at a time specified by the guest. There were three cold choices of suchi, rice, or bread. I enjoyed the breakfast, although it may not appeal to all tastes. I did not use the communal bath area.

Overall, my lasting impression is of a good value hotel, much better than most for the price in Japan. I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Few rooms have good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Village Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Kyoto

Address: 5 Mibu-Bojo-cho, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 604-8804 , Japan
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Kyoto 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Rakuten and Tingo so you can book your Village Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Kyoto Hotel Kyoto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Kyoto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.