We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good spot in a wonderfull city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Guest Inn Chita

Save Saved
You added Guest Inn Chita to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Guest Inn Chita
343 Takatsukicho, Hanayamachisagaru, Akezudori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 600-8174, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 232 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good spot in a wonderfull city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

nice, clean, friendly and good rooms! Found this by tripadvisor. Met a lot of nice people there who informed us where to go in the city. The city it self i well set for biking. We did this two days and it was wonderfull. On the skirts it gets more hilly but as soon as you are back in the city: THE BEST. Would definetley come back (stayed here in 2008)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    19
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
15
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Spent a night here. We got a big dadami room in excellent condition. The guesthouse was extremely clean, nicely decorated and well-organized. Also has a good location, for being right in front of higashi honganji. It takes 10 min walk from kyoto station. If you are looking for a traditional and superb guesthouse with budget price and great location, this is the one. Needless to mention the hopitality.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Lodging in Kyoto is expensive like the rest of Japan - so if you want to experience traditional Japanese style living on a budget then this is a good place to stay. Kahori is very hospitable, speaks & writes fluent English and is very prompt on the email.
The Inn is a 10 minute walk from the station, but if this is your first visit to Kyoto, its a bit difficult to find, especially at night. But we called up Kahori and she came walking to pick us up. The house itself is quite tiny & you have to remove your shoes and wear the slippers provided by the Inn. We had 2 rooms as we travelled with extended family. I think the rooms were a bit dated and quite basic, but they were clean, with sleeping arrangement on futons on the floor. There are no en-suites, the bathroom, toilets & washing are on the other side of the house - a little inconvenient if you have small kids (especially for those late night wee-wee runs), but the wash area is absolutely clean. Two hi-tech toilets, one shower room & a communal wash room.
Kitchen is provided with refrigerator, microwave & kettle & can be used by guests. And there is a small living area for making new friends.
Kahori is a great hostess, with some great tips to see Kyoto & restaurant recommendations. It was a good experience of the traditional ryokan living!

Room Tip: The Triple room is a little more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENGLAND
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I stayed here after reading excellent reviews and I wasn't disappointed. I have never stayed in a traditional guest house before so I wasn't sure what to expect. Guest Inn Chita couldn't have been better. Only a 10 minute walk from Kyoto JR train station. As soon as the owner Kahori introduced herself I felt at home. Kahori speaks excellent English and went out of her way to make us feel welcome. The rooms are very clean and a great size with air-con and TV. I was a little worried about sleeping on the floor but I slept like a log. There are adequate toilets for the number of rooms and 2 showers. We never once had to wait for the shower. There is also a kitchen and we cooked most nights. There is a large Yodabashi store across from the train station which has a supermarket in the basement. Free internet access and for those of you that don't have a laptop with them there is a computer available to use also. There is a washing/drying machine for 200yen. Higashi Honganji Temple is across the road from the Guest House. We met so many interesting people from all over the world and often sat at night chatting to them in the lounge area. I honestly didn't want to leave here and will definitely be stopping here again on my next visit to Kyoto and I will be staying in touch with Kahori and her family.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The inn is an old japanese house. Located in a small alley opposite Higashi Honganji Temple, 15 minutes walk from Kyoto Station.

The hostess was very welcoming and she spoke fluent English. I emailed her the possibility to drop my luggage before check in time and she replied quickly. I got to check-in early around 1pm though, so my luggage went straight to my room in the first floor. The stairs were kinda steep you have to be careful, especially if you carrying suitcases.

The ground floor has japanese bathroom with huge bathtub to soak in, western style shower rooms and toilets, laundry, and common room where you can use microwave and other facilities.

The room I stayed was not too big, but more than enough for a single room. It has TV, side table and futon laid down in the middle. Yukata and towels are provided. The walls are thin but it didn't matter to me. The neighborhood itself was quiet so there are not much noises from the street. It also has vending machine and computer in the lobby.

What impressed me the most was the hospitality of the hostess that makes me feel like home :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dapto, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I stayed here with a friend, and the hostess was fantastic! The house is an older building, with lots of traditional charm. The room was comfortable and clean, and although the bathrooms were shared, they were still individual cubicles, with western facilities, so you still had privacy. Location wise, it's right opposite Higashi Honganji temple, and very close to the Kyoto JR Station. Only about a 5-10 minute walk. Easily accessible, and well signposted. Overall, I really enjoyed my time here, and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

This is a typical Japanese style house, which is nearby kyoto station (5min walk), and I was so amazing it's totally made of wood! The room is spacious, and decorated by tatami. When I went back after my busy trip, I felt very relax! The bed is so soft (even better than hot spring hotel), and the whole house is so clean!
Staff here can speak English, and they are kind and helpful! I quite enjoyed my stay. Great value!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Guest Inn Chita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest Inn Chita

Address: 343 Takatsukicho, Hanayamachisagaru, Akezudori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 600-8174, Japan
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 232 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelWorld so you can book your Guest Inn Chita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guest Inn Chita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.