We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“À bit dated but excellent for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Guest Inn Chita

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Guest Inn Chita to your Saves list
Guest Inn Chita
343 Takatsukicho, Hanayamachisagaru, Akezudori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 600-8174, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 154 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“À bit dated but excellent for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

Good location not too far from the JR station. Very welcoming and helpful staff. The toilet and showers are on the ground floor and the rooms are upstairs making it quite a hike on steep stairs when you have to go! The carpet and decor are a bit dated but clean enogh. Overall, we enjoyed our stay very much and would recommend staying there.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    26
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
21
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

This is the first ryokan we stay in kyoto, and I would say this is the one that I received the best welcome and feel mostly like home.

Although the room is not so big, it is absolutely suitable for two people with comfortable futon and tatami.

The ryokan is very near JR station and the famous Higashi Hongan-ji is just opposite the road. We arrived very late due to the flight but the host waited for us and made us feel like home. It is really great!

Although the shower room and toilet are shared, there are actually two shower rooms in the ryokan so it is not difficult to use one. The washroom is really clean!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011 via mobile

The price is cheap. Kaori-san who is the owner speak english fluently. Although the shower and toilet are seperate and shared, but that make each room is quite big and feel more comfort. There are also main living room for chat and meet new friends. Meanwhile, there are also kitchen and other facility to be used.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

We went back to Japan in February 2011 and stayed at Guest Inn Chita. We were a little unsure about staying at this inn, but I wanted to make sure we stayed at a traditional style ryokan and not in a western hotel and our budget was tight. My husband was afraid of the communal shower/bath idea, but we were pleased to see when we got there that there was a bathroom with two shower heads and a small tub. The tub was regularly filled each night with a cover to keep the heat in between uses. We did not use the tub, but the showers were standing-height and we were able to shower together. There is a marker on the door for when the showers are in use in case you do not want to be disturbed by others while showering.

The heaters in the room can't be left on while you are out and about, and even when you wake up in the morning it is still cold, so this isn't the most ideal hotel for February, but overall our stay was very pleasant and the hotel owner was sweet and helpful. We left our English language Japan guide there for others to use.

This hotel is also right down the street (about a 7 minute walk) from the JR Kyoto train station which makes commuting all over the Kansai area super easy.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tsukuba, Japan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

The staff here is very friendly and helpful. The room is comfortable and clean, though you don't have to expect luxurious hotel furniture or large wardrobe (in my triple room there were some clothes hangers, a small table and two chairs), but towels were provided and promptly changed after each use. The common bath is nice, but, as you obviously might expect, may be crowded in the morning, and you might have to wait a little. Nevertheless I would kindly recommend this inn for its price and its warm atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

Spent a night here recently and I thoroughly enjoyed the ambience and hospitality. The lady who runs the guesthouse is such a dynamic and fun person that nothing was too much trouble for her. Very helpful indeed. My next trip to Kyoto will include staying here for the duration of my stay. Very handy to everything as well.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

Guest Inn Chita is a great place to stay if you want to go sight seeing around central Kyoto.Just walking in the locality you will come across some of the most famous temples in Japan and also some great family run bars and restaurants .The rooms are a comfortable size and kept very clean.Staff speak English and are very helpful. Bike rental is cheap at Y500 per half day.One of the best places Ive stayed on my trip.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Guest Inn Chita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest Inn Chita

Address: 343 Takatsukicho, Hanayamachisagaru, Akezudori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 600-8174, Japan
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 154 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Guest Inn Chita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guest Inn Chita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.