We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good "mountain food", different from all other restaurants we went in Japan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Okariba

Okariba
43-3 Okazaki Higashitenno-cho, Sakyo-ku | Residence Okazaki 1F, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
+81 75-751-7790
Improve this listing
Ranked #82 of 3,584 Restaurants in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 18 Reviews
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good "mountain food", different from all other restaurants we went in Japan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The owner is very nice and funny guy. The food is good "mountain food", and very different from all other restaurants we went in Japan. The restaurant was in its week resting day, but since they had a private group, they let us in.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    2
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“It won't disappoint ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

As it was our first night in Japan I guess it was easy to impress us but nevertheless Okariba ended up been such an experience. We enjoyed BBQ wild boar, smoked ducked, marinated deer and the special dishes for guests crispy, crunchy grasshopper and bee larves. The meat was delicious especially the duck and the deer. The owner whom is the cook was very friendly, during the meal he offered us several types of Sake and Japanese plum wine. Great experience to have dinner in Okariba

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“The wilder side of Japanese cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I visited this hidden gem of the Kyoto culinary scene last week on my honeymoon, after having read the other positive reviews on tripadvisor.
Barbeque lovers will think that they've died and gone to heaven! The incredibly friendly and helpful host got us started with his wild boar skewers for approx. 1400 per portion. The meat was incredibly tasty and tender, making it the best wild boar I've ever had (and in Italy we know how to cook wild boar).
After the boar, the host started bringing us different samples of his other dishes that included a sublime deer tataki as well as delicious grilled vegetables.
Once we'd gobbled our way through this second round of game, our host decided to up the game and challenged us to try the "wilder" dishes on his menu, which in this case turned out to be fried locusts and bee larvae. Now, I'm not a big fan of insects and under normal circumstances I would prefer not to eat them. However, the locusts were actually pretty good (almost like chips), and the larvae tasted a bit of pine nuts. To wash this rather unusual food down, the host offered us some Japanese spirit resembling vodka, that had been infused with killer bees and snakes (quite literally, he brought two jars of liquor, one containing killer bees and the other a snake at the bottom). I personally found the one with the killer bees to taste better.
In the West we tend to think that Japanese food is all about sushi, teryaki, suki-yaki etc. However, that is just the tip of the iceberg, and if you really want to try a place that turns this paradigm around presenting you with delicious food that you will not be able to try in any Japanese restaurant anywhere else, then Okariba is the place for you.
For our unforgettable dinner, my wife ended up paying 6600 yen in total, which we felt was very reasonable given the quantity and quality of the food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascais
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“The Game Hut”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

After reading good reviews decided this quirky place sounded fun and it lived up to its name. Aoki the owner has a great sense of humour and entertained us with magic tricks in this tiny restaurant located on Muromachi Street just by Okazaki st junction on north side of road under tall condo and near Hotel Heian no Mori. We had spectacular grilled boar, bear and fish as well as steamed venison eaten thinly sliced and cold in citrus ginger sauce. We also tried fried crickets and baby hornets. Aoki-san topped off the meal with rilled rice balls followed by various homemade liqueurs and firewaters. Everything was very delicious. The price was approximately $20 USD a head. He closes on Mondays. Rustic but excellent little find.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
1 review
“Highlight of the trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

Great find in Kyoto Japan, food, even though strange, was delicious! The service was relaxed, fun and energetic! Would recommend again and again!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Okariba also viewed

 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Okariba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Okariba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.