We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Game Hut” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Okariba

Okariba
43-3 Okazaki Higashitenno-cho, Sakyo-ku | Residence Okazaki 1F, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
+81 75-751-7790
Improve this listing
Ranked #81 of 3,578 Restaurants in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 18 Reviews
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Cascais
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“The Game Hut”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

After reading good reviews decided this quirky place sounded fun and it lived up to its name. Aoki the owner has a great sense of humour and entertained us with magic tricks in this tiny restaurant located on Muromachi Street just by Okazaki st junction on north side of road under tall condo and near Hotel Heian no Mori. We had spectacular grilled boar, bear and fish as well as steamed venison eaten thinly sliced and cold in citrus ginger sauce. We also tried fried crickets and baby hornets. Aoki-san topped off the meal with rilled rice balls followed by various homemade liqueurs and firewaters. Everything was very delicious. The price was approximately $20 USD a head. He closes on Mondays. Rustic but excellent little find.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    2
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Highlight of the trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

Great find in Kyoto Japan, food, even though strange, was delicious! The service was relaxed, fun and energetic! Would recommend again and again!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Most memorable meal of the trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stumbled across this place while walking in Kyoto. The chalkboard out front had chalk drawings of a rifle wielding wild boar and a wild boar being barbecued, so I was immediately intrigued. We returned that evening and had what was, for me, the most memorable meal of the trip.

The interior of this restaurant feels like a log cabin, mostly wooden bench seating and a low ceiling. The proprietor stands in the middle of the room and does both the grilling and the service. I had the wild boar, which was fantastic as promised. My wife had the grilled fish, which was also excellent. We also had the vegetable plate, which was very good and included candied locusts.

While the food was great, it was the atmosphere that will make me remember this place. There were only a two or three other tables, all occupied by locals. The proprietor was extremely friendly and generous and, like other reviewers, showered us with un-ordered but fantastic side and specialty dishes. When I told him I wanted sake, he helped me choose one and then parked a magnum in front of me with a glass - self-serve, all you can drink style. It was like eating at a friend's house.

In the end, we stuffed ourselves with great food, poured our own sake and watched the chef at work. It was relaxed, unpretentious, and very delicious. Of all the restaurants we ate at across Japan, this is the one I would insist on returning to because it was undeniably unique.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovot, Israel
1 review
“Special Japanese Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We saw the restaurant as we passed by (can be missed easily).
The food is very good and special (wild boar, deer ) we liked the grilled fish very much.
After a while, the owner came by, offering special plates (on the house) , drinks ('surprise jars'), and tricks ...
we had lovely time, very good food (the fish wild boar and deer were excellent).
Take your time and enjoy.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Authentic Mountain Lodge Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

First off, it has the best grilled trout that I have had anywhere, The specialty of the house is barbequed wild boar, but the boar are really captured as piglets and raised by farmers in the area. Rather than chewy the meat is succulent and the sauce is to die for. A variety of home-made side dishes are worth exploring. Okariba specializes in sake, so there are numerous high-level varieties that are very reasonably priced. THere also an assortment of oddball dishes from the Nagano mountains that you won't find anywhere else in Kyoto. THe "master" is very interesting and he speaks some English,

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Okariba also viewed

 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Okariba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Okariba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.