We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Katsukura, Sanjohonten

Katsukura, Sanjohonten
13 Ishibashicho 3-jodori Teramachi Higashiiru, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 604-8036 , Japan
+81 75-212-3581
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 3,075 restaurants in Kyoto
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sezanne, France
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Easy to find, this restaurant is situated at the beginning of Taramachi Gallery in the street Shijo Dori.
It was a very nice experience, the meals are very good, quality and served with japanese sauces.
The mix Sesame Sauce-meals is surprising.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    23
    11
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Best Tonkatsu!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

On the recommendation from our hotel, we were delighted to arrived at this restaurant - tucked away in a alley in a busy shopping mall.

Tonkatsu was the best we have ever had. Ordered the Premium tenderloin, which came with rice and a cabbage salad. Grinding up sesame seeds before pouring the sauce in was a new experience which we enjoyed.

Absolutely delicious and in a lovely quiet environment - quite a contrast from the shopping mall and the nearby Nishiki market. For fabulous tonkatsu in Kyoto, this is the place!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Tonkatsu and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

I have visited this restaurant with my family multiple times, and we have always been satisfied. It took the food about 10 minutes to come, with appetizers being served to us in way. The food is always great, but the side room in the restaurant doesn't have that great of an atmosphere. But overall, this restaurant is very good for food and service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Tonkatsu heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

If you're after a great Japanese meal, suited to Western tastes, and at a reasonable price, head straight to this place. Best tonkatsu I have ever eaten in Japan - tried the pork, prawns and potato, all delicious. Unlimited rice, cabbage salad and tea means you won't leave hungry. with a beer each we paid less than 5000 yen for two, very reasonable for the amount of food. Nice atmosphere and strangely I saw no other tourists, this place must be a well kept secret! Easy to find, off main shopping street at entrance to arcade. highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Tucked away in a alley in Sanjo shopping alley right next to Nishiki marketplace is one of the most delicious tonkatsu restaurant. We got the best cut of pork tonkatsu that only this branch serves, nine of us was average about 1500 yen for the full course. They also have delicious pickled turnip leaves tsukemono, with all you can eat rice and sweet cabbage with dressing. You grind roasted sesame seeds in your own pestle and mortar dish and add the tonkatsu sauce. We rolled out of the restaurant and walked it off through Nishiki marketplace. The first time, I had this was in Takashimaya dept store in Shinjuku and was looking forward eating at katsukura again in Kyoto. Tasted better the second time around.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Katsukura, Sanjohonten also viewed

Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Katsukura, Sanjohonten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Katsukura, Sanjohonten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.