We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“reserve early” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Toyoko Inn Kyoto Gojo Karasuma

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Toyoko Inn Kyoto Gojo Karasuma to your Saves list
Toyoko Inn Kyoto Gojo Karasuma
393 Gojo-Karasumacho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8418 , Kyoto Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #144 of 342 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Edmonds, WA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“reserve early”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Unfortunately, I could not get a weekend reservation because this hotel is very popular. So I had to break up my trip. If you are a Toyoko Inn member, you can reserve up to 6 months ahead, 3 months ahead if you're not. See their website. This staff speaks English well, was nice to tell me that I had enough points to earn a free night, explained that I didn't have to renew my Toyoko membership because once you join it's forever. The breakfast room was full, but if you wait a minute, someone leaves. Breakfast consisted of sausages and various rice and pickle dishes. No eggs. I did my laundry one afternoon in the hotel, no problems. The only disappointment I had was that the taxi driver took me to the wrong Toyoko Inn when I first arrived. Even after I showed him a map. My Kyoto friend told me that many taxi drivers are now retired military who do not know the area. If you're not tired, and not intimidated by the ant hill that is Kyoto station, ask around for the subway line and take the Karasuma subway one stop to Gojo. I believe you get out at exit 2. MacDonald's is on your right, (across the street), and you are at Lawsons. The big street in between is Karasuma. Walk about 10 mins and the hotel is on the left. Look for the white sign (like a banner) with blue Japanese lettering and the dining area in the front. If you hit Circle K, you've passed it. If you hit Shijo station, you've really passed it. If you get lost, just remember you are on Karasuma street between Gojo and Shijo stations.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    63
    31
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
48
19
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Gojo is located one train stop from Kyoto station, and a short ten minutes walk to Shijo station where you can connect to Osaka with the Hankyu trains. A short half hour stroll will bring you to the lively shopping area of Teramachi Arcade and Gion. It was also near a pick up point for Japan Sunrise tours which we joined for a one day tour of Nara and Kyoto. Nearby was a nice little restaurant (located on the first floor) which served great shabu-shabu.- we ended going there twice.

Room was very clean as is the case with all the other Toyoko Inns we stayed in. Bed and pillows were comfortable and we slept very well. The staff had a fairly good command of English and helpful with maps and directions. We could leave our luggage at the hotel before check in and after check out.

Rate was very reasonable, and included Japanese style breakfast which I wasn't crazy about but was happy to settle for the 2 types of western style breads and coffee.

Most appreciated was the free wifi in the room.

Room Tip: Join their hotel membership - it entitles you to more discounts and a free night after your 10th sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

It is the third hotel of Toyoko inn i stayed in and i kind of like it. very reasonable prices for basic room with basic breakfast but for me it is eaxctly match. it is also very near to the train station which is a great plus.

Room Tip: make a membership card because it has good benefits and i am sure you are going to use it in the fut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed here for two nights in a large double room. The room was reasonably large, and the bed was very spacious. The room was clean and included nice amenities. Breakfast was included, and had mostly Japanese menu items, but we were satisfied with the few western items that they had. The location was not bad, being about a third of a block from the Gojo subway station, which was only one stop from the train station. There was a Family Mart very close to the hotel, and there was a McDonald's and other restaurants near the Gojo Station. Kyoto is a fairly expensive destination, and this hotel was very reasonably priced. For the money, this hotel is a very good choice for your stay in Kyoto.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I stayed here 3 days from 17-19th of April. I really enjoyed the stay for the price I paid. The price includes the japanese style breakfast. The hotel is little far from the JR Kyoto station a bus or taxi ride to the hotel is needed. It is close by the Gojo Subway. The bus stop near this hotel Gojo-Karasuma a 600-700Meter walk will onnect you to the entire Kyoto city. A one day pass for 500 yen will let you cover the Kyoto city and most attractions in and around the places.

--Sightseeing
So if you are travelling independently, please prepare your homework in advance or enquire at the Kyoto Tourist Information at Kyoto train station. Always equip yourself with a Kyoto City Map and a Kyoto Bus Map available free at the staion or at the hotel. It is good to move by bus instead of subway because you get to see Kyoto City instead of being underground.

--Breakfast
Toyoko Inn serves Japanese breakfast comprising of toast, ongiri, miso soup, pickles, white porridge, coffee.

--Television
Mostly Japanese channels. Bring your own laptop to watch your own movies/dvd.

The Family mart is just next to the hotel and there is a McDonalds just 50 Meters away.
Toyoko Inn has clean room, clean sheets, hot water, a kettle, a safe, and in room internet access wifi and pay and use laundry. The rooms are small just like any other Japanese hotel but comfortable. I recommend for this hotel for a budget stay.

Ask for a non-smoking room if you are a non-smoker. The smoking room is intolerable if you are a non-smoker.

I will definitely recommend this place for all. Had a pleasant stay.

-Vijay

Room Tip: Ask for a non-smoking room if you are a non-smoker. The smoking room is intolerable if you are a non...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Perfectly formed single room, which I was pleased and surprised to see meant a double bed, especially as I:m sharing with my son. Only gripe is that on the door, the price is cheaper than I booked with Laterooms, which is annoying. Also, it is slightly more than 10 minutes walk (which they say) from the JR station they recommend, and is pretty much equi-distant from the main Kyoto station. Directions on the bus would have been good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Decent room, efficiently designed if very tight. Just remember to put your luggage under the bed if you want to move around! It had a very narrow wardrobe which was more than other hotels we stayed in Japan. We didn't try the breakfast but looked popular and plentiful - you can easily fill up with rice if you want to stick to a budget. We walked to Kyoto station (because the buses are so ludicrously busy) and walked to the shops at Shijo Karasuma, to the food market and even to Ponto Cho and Gion. At least we avoided the crammed buses for some trips. In terms of location, I would probably book the other branch of Toyoko Inn at Shijo Karasuma if I was doing it all again (it's only about 7min walk but more central to shops and food market and nearer the underground tube).

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Toyoko Inn Kyoto Gojo Karasuma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toyoko Inn Kyoto Gojo Karasuma

Address: 393 Gojo-Karasumacho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8418 , Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and JAPANiCAN so you can book your Toyoko Inn Kyoto Gojo Karasuma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toyoko Inn Kyoto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toyoko Inn Kyoto Gojo Karasuma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.