We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Same good value for money frm Toyoko inn chain” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Toyoko Inn Kyoto Gojo Karasuma

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Toyoko Inn Kyoto Gojo Karasuma to your Saves list
Toyoko Inn Kyoto Gojo Karasuma
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   393 Gojo-Karasumacho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8418 , Kyoto Prefecture (Shimogyo-ku)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #153 of 343 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
71 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Same good value for money frm Toyoko inn chain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

It is the third hotel of Toyoko inn i stayed in and i kind of like it. very reasonable prices for basic room with basic breakfast but for me it is eaxctly match. it is also very near to the train station which is a great plus.

Room Tip: make a membership card because it has good benefits and i am sure you are going to use it in the fut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    66
    35
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
49
20
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
112 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed here for two nights in a large double room. The room was reasonably large, and the bed was very spacious. The room was clean and included nice amenities. Breakfast was included, and had mostly Japanese menu items, but we were satisfied with the few western items that they had. The location was not bad, being about a third of a block from the Gojo subway station, which was only one stop from the train station. There was a Family Mart very close to the hotel, and there was a McDonald's and other restaurants near the Gojo Station. Kyoto is a fairly expensive destination, and this hotel was very reasonably priced. For the money, this hotel is a very good choice for your stay in Kyoto.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I stayed here 3 days from 17-19th of April. I really enjoyed the stay for the price I paid. The price includes the japanese style breakfast. The hotel is little far from the JR Kyoto station a bus or taxi ride to the hotel is needed. It is close by the Gojo Subway. The bus stop near this hotel Gojo-Karasuma a 600-700Meter walk will onnect you to the entire Kyoto city. A one day pass for 500 yen will let you cover the Kyoto city and most attractions in and around the places.

--Sightseeing
So if you are travelling independently, please prepare your homework in advance or enquire at the Kyoto Tourist Information at Kyoto train station. Always equip yourself with a Kyoto City Map and a Kyoto Bus Map available free at the staion or at the hotel. It is good to move by bus instead of subway because you get to see Kyoto City instead of being underground.

--Breakfast
Toyoko Inn serves Japanese breakfast comprising of toast, ongiri, miso soup, pickles, white porridge, coffee.

--Television
Mostly Japanese channels. Bring your own laptop to watch your own movies/dvd.

The Family mart is just next to the hotel and there is a McDonalds just 50 Meters away.
Toyoko Inn has clean room, clean sheets, hot water, a kettle, a safe, and in room internet access wifi and pay and use laundry. The rooms are small just like any other Japanese hotel but comfortable. I recommend for this hotel for a budget stay.

Ask for a non-smoking room if you are a non-smoker. The smoking room is intolerable if you are a non-smoker.

I will definitely recommend this place for all. Had a pleasant stay.

-Vijay

Room Tip: Ask for a non-smoking room if you are a non-smoker. The smoking room is intolerable if you are a non...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Perfectly formed single room, which I was pleased and surprised to see meant a double bed, especially as I:m sharing with my son. Only gripe is that on the door, the price is cheaper than I booked with Laterooms, which is annoying. Also, it is slightly more than 10 minutes walk (which they say) from the JR station they recommend, and is pretty much equi-distant from the main Kyoto station. Directions on the bus would have been good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Decent room, efficiently designed if very tight. Just remember to put your luggage under the bed if you want to move around! It had a very narrow wardrobe which was more than other hotels we stayed in Japan. We didn't try the breakfast but looked popular and plentiful - you can easily fill up with rice if you want to stick to a budget. We walked to Kyoto station (because the buses are so ludicrously busy) and walked to the shops at Shijo Karasuma, to the food market and even to Ponto Cho and Gion. At least we avoided the crammed buses for some trips. In terms of location, I would probably book the other branch of Toyoko Inn at Shijo Karasuma if I was doing it all again (it's only about 7min walk but more central to shops and food market and nearer the underground tube).

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This Toyoko Inn branch also perform the same standard of Toyoko Inn chain.
Good location for subway travel Gojo station.
The breakfast has a bit more variety compare to other ToyokoInn i have been to.

By comparison of location for shopping the ther ToyokoInn brach Shijo will be more closer to main shopping area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Rooms are tiny and basic but very clean and comfortable. The staff were very helpful and usually spoke enough english for me to communicate with them! Traditional Japanese breakfast was tasty and varied day to day. Highly recommend the luggage forwarding service, which I used from Tokyo to Kyoto. It made train travel much more pleasant!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Toyoko Inn Kyoto Shijo-Karasuma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Hotel Monterey Kyoto
Hotel Monterey Kyoto
#48 of 343 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 1,538 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto Shijokarasuma
Shimogyo-ku
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toyoko Inn Kyoto Gojo Karasuma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toyoko Inn Kyoto Gojo Karasuma

Address: 393 Gojo-Karasumacho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8418, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Toyoko Inn Kyoto Gojo Karasuma 2*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN and Agoda so you can book your Toyoko Inn Kyoto Gojo Karasuma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toyoko Inn Kyoto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toyoko Inn Kyoto Gojo Karasuma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.