We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, great location and nice staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tomato Guest House

Tomato Guest House
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Tomato Guest House to your Saves list
Tomato Guest House
2.0 of 5 Japanese Guest House   |   135 Shimizu-cho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8241, Kyoto Prefecture (Kyoto Station)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #107 of 155 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
3.0 of 5 stars 38 Reviews
Kyoto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Cheap, great location and nice staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Je suis venu 3 jours en février, ce n'est pas du grand luxe mais vu le prix difficile de demander mieux. Chambre individuelle sympa, juste un petit bémol sur les toilettes / salle de bain. Le personnel est sympa et parle anglais. Bien situé, proche de la gare et des bus.

I was here on february. It is not top quality, however since the price is low it is difficult to ask more. Individuals room are nice, toilets and bath room a little bit less (it remains correct). The staff speak english and they are friendly. Very convient location, close to the train station and to the buses.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    10
    12
    10
    5
See reviews for
1
7
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Lima, Peru
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I stayed in this hostel 2 days, and I have to say that I just needed a place to sleep and rest while I organized my trip. The staff was able to communicate in English (something that unfortunately few places places in Japan have) and it was really friendly. It's a very convenient location, since it's located close to Kyoto Station, the main transportation hub of the city. However, since it's an old building, anything you do will create noise. I had not problems with that but some might feel uneasy with this. Overall, The helpfulness of the staff is one of the things that I remember the most from this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The place is well placed, just near the Kyoto station and the facilities provide you everything you need, rent bicycle also.
However, the low price reflect the quality of stuffs : Smelly toilet, little futon.
The good services that provide the staff erase all bad things.
It's a hostel that worth it.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

A very basic hostel. Booked due to everywhere else being full. Accommodation was quite old and so therefor cold even in April. There was a heater provided so that was certainly used whilst we stayed. Again showers etc old but met the needs of backpackers but accommodation was poor compared to all other similar priced accommodation we stayed in in Japan

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is the worst hostel I ever been to. Smelled bad, something between wastes, smoke and mold. You could basically hear your neighbors breath. Bad service. If you want the reception to call a hostel, restaurant or what ever, prepare to pay for it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Pubic hairs on the pillows. The sheets. The duvets. The beds. The floor.

Different colour hairs from different people. Blonde hair, brown hair, black hair, asian hair. All over the sheets and pillows. Needless to say they don't bother cleaning it.

I have travelled throughout Asia and this is without doubt the worst guesthouse I have ever had the displeasure of staying in.

Other problems include:

- 2 showers to service 40 beds. Queues and horrible conditions unavoidable.
- 4 toilets to service 40 beds. As above.
- At the end of each corridor is a large metal basin which rumbles loudly whenever someone turns the tap on. You can hear this loudly enough to disturb your sleep from 8 rooms down with the door closed.
- Paper thin walls and noise easily transmitted.
- General level of cleanliness and hygiene extremely low; everything grubby.
- Common room is a small box of a room with a broken TV and computer, couches so dirty you don't want to sit on them.

If that weren't bad enough, the staff are downright rude and unpleasant. When I raised the above complaints with them I was told that it is not a hotel, and if I wanted anything close to a reasonable standard of facilities, I should look elsewhere. I pointed out that I had stayed in better hostels for less money regularly all over the world. They then ignored me and waited for me to leave so they could carry on aimlessly browsing the internet without a care for the customers who had the misfortune to wander into their filthy hovel.

I continued to complain to the woman at the front desk but she completely blanked me while browsing on the internet. This irritated me because I expect complaints are a regular occurrence and this was their standard way of dealing with them.

I then found other members of staff who again, didn't want to talk to me. They disputed the squalor of their rooms and forced me to go and get the the duvet from my room, and stand in the middle of their office pointing at pubic hair after pubic hair saying each time " is this ok? is this ok? is this ok?". They refused to let me talk to the owner and only after half an hour did they agree to give me a refund on the condition that I don't contact the owner or write a bad review.

I hope the owner reads this and either has the mercy to close the hostel and put everyone out of their misery, or fire all the staff, especially the fat receptionist and the small, weaselly man who were most rude and unpleasant.

We moved after a nightmarish 11 hours to the K House in Kyoto, which seems to have won a plethora of awards like "Best hostel in Japan", and deservedly so.

TL;DR: Avoid at all costs unless you are caught in a storm and have literally no other choice.

Room Tip: You will avoid the worst rooms if you turn around and walk out of the door, to literally any other h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The staff is friendly (speaks English and is very helpful), the prices not so bad and the location (close to the main station) is very handy.

BUT: the room was smelling like urinal cake, the Tatami floor was very uncomfortable (super thin mattress), the toilets smelled like urin, the entrances smelled like stinky feet and the whole look of the hostel is lacking some love and style.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tomato Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tomato Guest House

Address: 135 Shimizu-cho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8241, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 155 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tomato Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) and Tingo so you can book your Tomato Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tomato Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.