We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but Adequate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hirashin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hirashin to your Saves list
Hirashin
3.0 of 5
Ryokan
  |   Takoyakushidori, Takakura Nishiiru, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-8141, Kyoto Prefecture (Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #243 of 342 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Basic but Adequate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We wanted to have a ryokan experience but yet be close to the city, and this hotel seemed to fit the bill.

Upon arrival and checking in, we were told to be seated while they served us some refreshments. The room we were given was quite large with the classic layout of a ryokan. It was fully self-contained with a separate toilet and bath. Being our first experience in a ryokan, we're not sure how authentic this was, although we suspect it's not what a proper, traditional ryokan would be. However, we just wanted to get a taste of this sort of accommodation, and yet enjoy the convenience of being close to the shopping & eating hub, and it was good enough for us.

We had signed up for the breakfast deal, and we were surprised by the quality of what we were served. It was a tasty, impressive, classical breakfast and we enjoyed it very much.

Free wifi internet was available only in the lobby and while that was inconvenient, fortunately for us there were very few people using it when we were.

It was an interesting experience overall. I don't think this would suit someone looking for authenticity, but sufficient for those who don't mind a taste of what should be, and be near the city center at the same time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    34
    15
    10
    6
See reviews for
11
28
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is a refurbished old building with Japanese style rooms. Kudos to the photographer who took the pictures. Big let down when you see the real rooms. Clean but too expensive. VERY Disappointing breakfast. Don't waste your money in this hotel. I stayed in a minshoku at less than half the price, bigger rooms, better food and better furniture. I booked through a.goda, and it was not only time in my entire trip to japan where direct booking is less expensive

Room Tip: Don't waste your money on this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

It's a mix between a basic hotel and a basic ryokan, problem is you end-up having none of the two!

Food is horrible and I compared it with other Ryokan. Escape from the hotel between 6 and 9pm cause you will endure an horrible tempura/fried smell in all the premises including your room

Location is very good, lots of shop, restaurant, coffee places around.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Service is nothing close to the traditional ryokans. Its got some features of ryokans (i.e. japanese style room, public bath, dinner in room) but overall it was not good if one wants a true Japanese ryokan experience. But its convenient location to the big department stores like Daimaru and tourist attractions like the Nishiki market may compensate for some of the negative elements of the ryokan. The staff were fairly friendly but the front desk staff could improve further. I may not stay there again if I have had more time to plan for a trip to Kyoto.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The seamless check in process was an indication of what is to come: clean rooms equipped with non-dusty kettle, tea pot and cups. The bathroom and toilet were spotless. What more can a traveler ask for?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed at Hirashin as we wanted the atmosphere of a ryokan, but with some mod cons and that's what we got. The Hirashin is in a great location within a few minutes walk from the Shijo subway line, and also within walking distance from other attractions such as Gion, Nishiki market, Ponto Cho, and the Yasaka Shrine. Hirashin is also close to many department stores and restaurants. There is even a Yoshinoya within a few minutes walk if you're after a cheap and tasty meal. We found that some local banks had limits on the amount of money you are able to withdraw, so it was convenient to also have a CityBank ATM a few blocks from the hotel.

Aside from the convenient location, the Hirashin is suited to those after the feel of a Ryokan, but with some mod cons, such as a private western style toilet and shower within your own room. Many other ryokans we looked at involved communal bathrooms and toilets. They also have free wifi as well as two computers with Internet services within the hotel lobby. There is however no printer attached to the computers, which is a shame. Although it isn't clear from their website, they appear to have a curfew, which seems to be common amongst ryokans. We were informed that if we returned to the hotel after midnight we would need to phone someone via our mobiles or public phones, to come to the hotel to let us in. This isn't a problem of course if you're not interested in staying out late.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had some trouble finding out how to buy tickets for the show at Gion Corner and the staff happily phoned the venue to clarify.

We opted for the Japanese style breakfast which was lovely and consisted of salmon, miso, rice and some other traditional things such as pickles and tofu. The breakfast was filling and had a lovely traditional feel. Breakfast is served in a dining hall and is a set menu laid out on your table before you arrive. Breakfast is served in allotted times, the latest being 9am sharp. On the second day of our stay, we received a call to our room reminding us it was breakfast time - the time was 9:02am. If you're after a more relaxed breakfast time.

The room was very large and clean. Our room surprisingly contained a flat screen tv. If you're after a ryokan with some mod cons, I would highly recommend staying at the Hirashin.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This is a modern ryokan located in the centre of Kyoto. Has been commented that this is an expensive location, but I found it to be in-line with most other hotels of comparable standard.

Location: near to Nishiki market, the ryokan sits inside a nice part of the city - located close to good restaurants (Gogyo (on Yanagi Baba Dori) is a must, try their burnt ramen), Majority of temples/shrines are just outside centre, so would advise hiring a bike to see sights, Yen 1,000 per day for the standard bike - the rental company is based in a hotel lobby a few streets away (also on Yanagi Baba Dori)

Room: traditional ryokan room with tatami floors and futons laid out to sleep on. Room was largest I had in my Japan stay, and included all modern requirements such as tv, air-con etc.

"Onsen" - the hotel also has an area on basement which is akin to an onsen, but even the hotel do not sell this as one. Worth a visit at the end of the day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hirashin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hirashin

Address: Takoyakushidori, Takakura Nishiiru, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-8141, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#127 Top resorts Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hirashin 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Rakuten, Agoda, Priceline and HostelBookers so you can book your Hirashin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hirashin Hotel Kyoto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hirashin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.