We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice way to experience Ryokan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sakura

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sakura to your Saves list
Sakura
433 Kamibentencho Shimokawaradori, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto 605-0822, Kyoto Prefecture (Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Kyoto
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice way to experience Ryokan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

We decided to stay here because of good reviews from different blos, forums and trip advisor contributors. Sure, it was really nice, clean, comfortable... I have no complaints whatsoever. We enjoyed our 4 night stay in this ryokan. They have a really good price, it's just right not too expensive nor cheap. They have free wifi but only in the lobby but if you're room is just on the ground floor then it reaches your room - room 103 to be specific. It's small, we all expect that and they indicate it their website so it was really not an issue. It was clean, very clean. They also provide yukata and change it every two nights. Robert, their front desk at night, was so helpful. He's so helpful to teach you with your itinerary and even will assist you with all your reservations like restaurant and such. It's near the bus stop so it's easy to go to kyoto station.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    7
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Great location. The city center is five minutes's walk away. Bus stop and subway station are at its door. Room was big and bright and quiet and had great view. Even the bathroom was very spacious and clean. Nice bed with down comforter. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

We stayed for two nights in this very new and modern ryokan and we thought it was lovely!
The rooms are a little small and the bathrooms are really tiny (but we found that in many places) - but it is so clean and comfortable and we were really only there to sleep so the small space wasn't too much of a problem. The staff are so friendly and helpful. I was ill one day and one of the staff looked up a doctor for me and drew me a map of where to go etc and what characters to look for on the sign etc - was so nice of her! I have only taken points off for the small room and it is quite pricey.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

We stayed at this Ryokan in April 09. I found their Website on the Internet and I loved the pictures. But in reality I was disappointed. We booked especially the VIP Room because of the private garden but got the first nigth a normal room with only a small window where you can squeeze yourself out somehow and then you have like 1 meter of private space divided to the inner patio - this room was dark and felt very claustrophobic and I went to ask if this really was a VIP room and they told me yes....then I insisted of getting the VIP Room from the picture where we could move the next day. This room was better, with much more ligth and a small terrace and a tiny garden. But the room and bathroom still small and honestly I was disappointed about this place - I expected from the pictures so much more than what there is in reality. The Ryokan is noisy especially the rooms to the inner patio you can hear everything - on the VIP Room on the other side its sligthly better, but outside there is a sort of a pump which is also very noisy....The working staff is very nice, speaks good english and is very helpfull. Location is okay even though if next time going to Kyoto I would rather prefer to stay closer to Shijo or Gion or somewhere close to the Ishibe-Koji Street. So if you go to this Ryokan - stay only 1-2 nigths then its okay but for longer stays I wouldnt recommend - there has to be better accomodations in Kyoto for the same price!

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#19 of 343 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 2,093 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southern Kyoto
Sakura Terrace The Gallery
City Center
Hotel Monterey Kyoto
Hotel Monterey Kyoto
#49 of 343 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 1,541 reviews
Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya
Tanakaya
Tanakaya
#10 of 88 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sakura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sakura

Address: 433 Kamibentencho Shimokawaradori, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto 605-0822, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya , Gion Higashiyama / Kita Shirakawa / Kurama / Yase / Ohara
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Sakura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sakura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.