We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Japanese-style room, prime location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maifukan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Maifukan to your Saves list
Maifukan
4.0 of 5
Ryokan
  |   Minamimonmae Yasakajinja Gion Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 605-0086, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #21 of 331 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Matsusaka-shi, Mie, Japan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Japanese-style room, prime location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The room was absolutely authentic, with tatami floors and wonderfully comfortable futons. We left ours set up all day so we could lounge in between outings, and every time I laid down and curled up under the comforter, I fell asleep. The table was low enough to type at comfortably. The water heater in the room was wonderful, and the little tea crackers they provided were yummy. However, their policy is to only give one tea bag, one coffee package, one sugar and one creamer per day. If you wanted more creamer or sugar you had to pay for it. I thought that was quite ridiculous, considering the price of the room. Keep in mind we were there between Christmas and New Years, but it came out to approximately $225 USD per night, which was much more than we paid at either of the other hotels we stayed at.
The location could not have been more perfect. We literally had to walk less than 2 blocks to get to the Yasaka Shrine, and all of the other shrines and temples were within easy walking distance, including the Kodaiji daibutsu (big Buddha statue, specifically Kwan Yin, the female manifestation of Chenrezig, Buddha of Compassion) and the Kiyomizudera temple. Walking along the streets was an experience in itself. The streets were narrow and the buildings were historical, with little shops selling souvenirs, traditional wares like tea sets, hand-painted fans, and wooden sandals, and all manner of snacks and teas. We saw elegant women in kimonos and even a couple of geishas.
The staff at the hotel was extremely friendly and helpful, some of them spoke quite good English and others only a little, but they were happy to give us maps and circle the helpful places. We asked for recommendations on good vegetarian restaurants and of course the ones they recommended were way out of our price range, but they were helpful nonetheless, and even offered to make reservations for us. One woman even drew a map to a recommended spot and ran it up to our room.
It was about a fifteen minute walk to the south end of Kiyamachi-dori, the main nightlife street with restaurants, bars, adult shops and "girls bars". There is also a lot of more high-end shops on the walk over there, on Shijo-dori.
There was a little restaurant-cafe on the corner about a five-minute walk from the hotel that serves some Western-style breakfasts in the morning. The name and location are printed with the area information and maps in the guest rooms. I can't recall the name (you'd have to go to the hotel to find out), but the food was quite good. They were willing to remove the meat from some foods to make them vegetarian.
Parking was $20 per night and was only about a block from the hotel. It wasn't terribly easy to get in and out, since the lot was rather cramped, and we had to turn in our key when we arrived, although we could ask for it and come and go as we pleased.

Room Tip: the Japanese-style rooms are beautiful, as long as you don't mind sleeping on a futon mat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maifukan, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Maifukan, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you very much for staying our hotel on new year day.
We are very glad to hear that you could stay comfortably in Japanese-style room.
We use your valuable comment as future reference
If you could have another chance to visit to Kyoto again ,
We are really looking forward to seeing you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    54
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
39
48
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

And wifi, which we've had some difficulty finding in Japan. The Japanese style tatami room was spacious and comfortable. Mino, the concierge was very helpful, finding and booking restaurants, advising us how to get around, and furnishing us with plates and forks for our Christmas cake.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maifukan, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Maifukan, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you very much for staying our hotel on the other day.
We are very glad as we could offer you comfortable stay with the
Japanese-style room.
If you could have another chance to visit to Kyoto again ,
We are really looking forward to seeing you.
We use your valuable comment as future reference
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I found it to be overpriced, but the staff is very helpful. They helped me translate to the taxi drivers where to take my group.

The Western rooms are ok, though the bed was hard. The traditional room, which I took, was interesting. There were no beds when I entered the room, just a low table with very low chairs. Then when I came back in the evening, the mattresses were made on the floor, with the bed shoved to the side. It wouldn't be a good choice for older people because it is not easy for them to get up from the floor. Bathrooms were great. The toilet seats were heated!

Very close to their main temple, which is lit up with lanterns at night. There is one great bar that we found off the beaten path. It is called Full House, and is run by a young Japanese couple. The wife speaks excellent "street" American English just from watching American movies. They offered a wide selection of sake. Worth a visit.

Room Tip: Pick the western room if you have knee problems or if you are reserving rooms for the elderly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maifukan, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Maifukan, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you very much for staying our hotel on the other day.
We are very glad as we could offer you comfortable stay with the
Western-style room.
If you could have another chance to visit to Kyoto again ,
We are really looking forward to seeing you.
We use your valuable comment as future reference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

2 major positives of this property are - the staff and the location. Other than that, the rooms are average, bathroom pretty old and its unfortunately overpriced. We did like our Japanese room with windows overlooking the Kyoto streets but we were glad it was only for 1 night, having said that we did sleep well but most probably because we were so tired!

The staff were excellent and very friendly and interested in what your plans were in Kyoto. They noted everything and remembered where you had been and where you were going next, they went out of their way to provide detailed maps, helped with bike hire and overall really make this property worth staying at.

The location was unbelievable! So close to all major shrines and attractions, within the Geisha area so you really did have this lovely feeling of being in the thick of it, and with the bike hire you can zoop about Kyoto in no time taking it all in.

I would recommend this for just sleeping and if you are here for 1 or 2 nights.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

After staying in very expensive hotels in Tokyo and Kyoto, this is a refreshingly good value hotel. Don't get me wrong - the expensive hotels live up to their reputation of outstanding customer service and impeccable attention to detail. However, our last night in Kyoto we wanted something more budget friendly and walking distance to the heart of Gion.

We opted for the Japanese style room. It is a nicely appointed large room with windows overlooking rooftops. Partitioned outside of bedroom are the shower and restroom - all very clean. They have wireless in the lobby and LAN connections in the room. The customer service is friendly enough and helpful when we asked for directions - they also went out of their way to find me an iron which is not standard. We did not plan to eat here but instead wanted to walk around and enjoy the town for dinner and breakfast.

Overall - it is not a top end "authentic" Ryokan (some of which run over a $1000/night) but it is great value without diminishing the Kyoto experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I second that the hotel does not give a true ryokan experience in terms of the building exterior design, and the lack of meals, but given my previous experiences in other ryokans throughout japan, I do not feel that it is inferior to those experiences, but really depends on what you're looking for.

In terms of the basic requirements of lodging, this hotel scores highly - the rooms are squeaky clean, the concierge service is superb and touchingly attentive with the limited english that they could speak. We had a japanese style room with tatami and futons on the 2nd (aka, actually 1st floor). The rooms were small, like most ryokans, but very new. The interior of the main room is typical of a ryokan and neat. The western style bathroom had a shower that worked perfectly and was strong. The restroom had all the basic amenities of a Japanese bathroom (that means the full electronic toilet and decent toiletries).

The following few things could be said for traveling in Japan:
1) Kyoto is highly expensive. Just look at the prices for all the other hotels!
2) Kyoto is a popular destination and busy.
3) The japanese in general are lovely people and their service is most impeccable - extremely polite and helpful, most hotels are very clean, and their work ethic is commendable.
It may seem that Maifukan is not particularly superior to those standards, but it definitely meets up to those high standards at least, and at a fairly decent price for this area. It offers flexibility for guests to find the cuisine that fits their liking around the Gion district, being in the most perfect of locations - walking distance downtown and to the train, as well as easy access to buses, and nested in a quaint quiet street just behind hustle and bustle. With the Marayuma park just next door, one doesn't really need a gym to work out, and it does not advertise itself as a 5 star hotel anyway.

The best part was passing by the Yasaka shrine every night when heading back to bed. I could stay there another month!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanka, Hungary
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

we stayed here 5 days in regular rooms and it was a good choice. several temples and gardens are located nearby, even the riverside pontocho district was just a short walk away, everything else can be reached easily by bus. we good an own wifi router and an appleTC for our room, too. really liked it, recommended!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maifukan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maifukan

Address: Minamimonmae Yasakajinja Gion Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 605-0086, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maifukan 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Rakuten and Tingo so you can book your Maifukan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maifukan Hotel Kyoto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maifukan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.