We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional ryokan with great service and great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sakanoue

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sakanoue to your Saves list
Sakanoue
4.0 of 5
Ryokan
  |   502 Washio-cho, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto 605-0072, Kyoto Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 347 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Traditional ryokan with great service and great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The manager of this very nice ryokan agreed to take me in at short notice, at the request of another ryokan nearby which had no record of my booking there although it had been made in March 2012, paid for and confirmed (through Expedia). The room was spacious with a pleasant outlook and the bed very comfortable. The evening meal and the breakfast, both served in the room, were excellent. The evening meal had many different courses and although it was all so good, I couldn't finish everything. The lady assigned to look after me was a lovely person and did all she could to make me feel welcome throughout my stay, and waited with me for the taxi when I left. I enjoyed using the deep wooden bath. The location is within walking distance of Yasaka Shrine and other sights, the river and also Gion shops. I was told by staff from the original ryokan that I would be able to drink my own wine (half a bottle left from the previous night's stay) with dinner but that this wasn't usually allowed. Not sure if that's correct, but if it is it would add more than a little to the bill, as I noticed the cost of alcohol provided in-house was on the steep side.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sydney
Level Contributor
47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The Ryokan Sakanoue in Kyoto is a fantastic place to stay if you are after a traditional Japanese experience. From the minute you step foot in Sakanoue, you are made to feel welcome. The staff are very helpful and friendly, and the rooms are of a traditional Japanese style. The included food was great, and prepared with a lot of care and attention to detail. Sakanoue is located in a great spot, in a quiet street, near to lots of local attractions. I would highly recommend Sakanoue if you are coming to Kyoto!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyChocolateGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Ryokan Sakanoue provides excellent service. The foods are great. We've ordered a summer special dinner set which used sea eel in every dishes. A hot bath in the fragrance wooden bathtub will gives you a sound sleep after a long day trip.
If you have more than 3 people with heavy luggages, take a taxi from JR Kyoto Station to Ryokan costs around 1200 yen only.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bell0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

You are right in the heart of historical place. This traditional Japanese Ryokan provides you everything about Kyoto. Professional services, clean room, wonderful meals. Especially, we enjoyed the wood tubs. My French friend recommended to stay here, and we were totally happy to choose this Japanese style Ryokan. Their warm hospitality is exceptional. I forgot my favorite hat carelessly, but they kindly called us, and mailed it in a couple days with a very delightful letter. We appreciate so much for their attentive services and a good memory.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed here during April, cherry blossom season. Kyoto is just amazing. I would go back anytime!

This ryokan is on a small street. Close to everything. Don't expect lavish surroundings- it is simple and quant. Rooms are traditional style with tatami mats and wood tubs/ showers. Price wise this was rather expensive compared to hotels, but you will not have another experience like this: 15 course dinners and expansive Japanese breakfasts serviced by their super warm staff. Certainly,if you aren't into real Japanese food this may not be the place for you, but if you are adventurous and want an amazing experience- then I recommend a stay here :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgirl02135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Great Ryokan! Easy access to everything once we found the ryokan! Great Service! The staff were very helpful. Be prepared to experience very different food that you may not be used to. Mostly cured seafood! But very tasty!
Comfortable room!
Access: Take bus #206 from Kyoto station to stop called HIGASHIYAMA YASUI (one stop before Gion), and when you get off, walk to the small street after the bus stop, cross the main street and go up the small street. you will come to a dead end - make a left and keep going until you can make another left into another tiny street - almost an alley. Has an apartment building at corner. You should be able to see the only English sign SAKANOE. If you hit Yasaka shrine(orange) you have gone too far! All the street names are in japanese unfortunately.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank papajoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens gr
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

This ryoakan is absolutely excellent and i would go back anytime!
Located in Higashiyama , the place u want to stay in Kyoto, surrounded by parks and temples and very close to Gion (10min walking) where the nightlife is...

Spacious rooms and traditional atmosphere! Very friendly and hospitable staff !

I totally suggest it!

PS do not worry about the curfew (we did not) , u just inform what time u get back (or give a call) and that is all!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aqualized
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Gion Hatanaka
#34 of 347 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 194 reviews
Gion
Kinoe
Kinoe
#179 of 347 in Kyoto
3.5 of 5 stars 49 reviews
Seikoro Inn
#115 of 347 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gion Sano
#51 of 347 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 37 reviews
Maifukan
#14 of 347 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 250 reviews
Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Matsui Honkan Ryokan
Matsui Honkan Ryokan
#21 of 347 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sakanoue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sakanoue

Address: 502 Washio-cho, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto 605-0072, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 347 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Sakanoue 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Sakanoue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing