We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional ryokan with great service and great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sakanoue

Save Saved
You added Sakanoue to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sakanoue
4.0 of 5 Ryokan   |   502 Washio-cho, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 605-0072, Japan (Gion Higashiyama / Kita Shirakawa / Kurama / Yase / Ohara)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 193 Kyoto B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Traditional ryokan with great service and great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The manager of this very nice ryokan agreed to take me in at short notice, at the request of another ryokan nearby which had no record of my booking there although it had been made in March 2012, paid for and confirmed (through Expedia). The room was spacious with a pleasant outlook and the bed very comfortable. The evening meal and the breakfast, both served in the room, were excellent. The evening meal had many different courses and although it was all so good, I couldn't finish everything. The lady assigned to look after me was a lovely person and did all she could to make me feel welcome throughout my stay, and waited with me for the taxi when I left. I enjoyed using the deep wooden bath. The location is within walking distance of Yasaka Shrine and other sights, the river and also Gion shops. I was told by staff from the original ryokan that I would be able to drink my own wine (half a bottle left from the previous night's stay) with dinner but that this wasn't usually allowed. Not sure if that's correct, but if it is it would add more than a little to the bill, as I noticed the cost of alcohol provided in-house was on the steep side.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
7
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The Ryokan Sakanoue in Kyoto is a fantastic place to stay if you are after a traditional Japanese experience. From the minute you step foot in Sakanoue, you are made to feel welcome. The staff are very helpful and friendly, and the rooms are of a traditional Japanese style. The included food was great, and prepared with a lot of care and attention to detail. Sakanoue is located in a great spot, in a quiet street, near to lots of local attractions. I would highly recommend Sakanoue if you are coming to Kyoto!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Ryokan Sakanoue provides excellent service. The foods are great. We've ordered a summer special dinner set which used sea eel in every dishes. A hot bath in the fragrance wooden bathtub will gives you a sound sleep after a long day trip.
If you have more than 3 people with heavy luggages, take a taxi from JR Kyoto Station to Ryokan costs around 1200 yen only.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

You are right in the heart of historical place. This traditional Japanese Ryokan provides you everything about Kyoto. Professional services, clean room, wonderful meals. Especially, we enjoyed the wood tubs. My French friend recommended to stay here, and we were totally happy to choose this Japanese style Ryokan. Their warm hospitality is exceptional. I forgot my favorite hat carelessly, but they kindly called us, and mailed it in a couple days with a very delightful letter. We appreciate so much for their attentive services and a good memory.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed here during April, cherry blossom season. Kyoto is just amazing. I would go back anytime!

This ryokan is on a small street. Close to everything. Don't expect lavish surroundings- it is simple and quant. Rooms are traditional style with tatami mats and wood tubs/ showers. Price wise this was rather expensive compared to hotels, but you will not have another experience like this: 15 course dinners and expansive Japanese breakfasts serviced by their super warm staff. Certainly,if you aren't into real Japanese food this may not be the place for you, but if you are adventurous and want an amazing experience- then I recommend a stay here :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Great Ryokan! Easy access to everything once we found the ryokan! Great Service! The staff were very helpful. Be prepared to experience very different food that you may not be used to. Mostly cured seafood! But very tasty!
Comfortable room!
Access: Take bus #206 from Kyoto station to stop called HIGASHIYAMA YASUI (one stop before Gion), and when you get off, walk to the small street after the bus stop, cross the main street and go up the small street. you will come to a dead end - make a left and keep going until you can make another left into another tiny street - almost an alley. Has an apartment building at corner. You should be able to see the only English sign SAKANOE. If you hit Yasaka shrine(orange) you have gone too far! All the street names are in japanese unfortunately.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens gr
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

This ryoakan is absolutely excellent and i would go back anytime!
Located in Higashiyama , the place u want to stay in Kyoto, surrounded by parks and temples and very close to Gion (10min walking) where the nightlife is...

Spacious rooms and traditional atmosphere! Very friendly and hospitable staff !

I totally suggest it!

PS do not worry about the curfew (we did not) , u just inform what time u get back (or give a call) and that is all!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sakanoue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sakanoue

Address: 502 Washio-cho, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 605-0072, Japan
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Gion Higashiyama / Kita Shirakawa / Kurama / Yase / Ohara
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sakanoue 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sakanoue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sakanoue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.