We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly staff and great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kamogawakan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Kamogawakan to your Saves list
Kamogawakan
3.5 of 5
Ryokan
  |   Chukyo-ku, Sanjo dori, Kawaramachi, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 604-8004, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #202 of 333 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Clean, friendly staff and great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2010

The hotel is very clean though the room is small. The staffs is very friendly and helpful. Great location, train station is within walking distance, convenient shop and coffee shops nearby.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    20
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
10
14
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

This is a nice ryokan, super good location, close to a subway stop and easy walking distance to the covered markets and the romantic Gion area. The rooms are big and the service is excellent (a little cool maybe but otherwise very good).

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

This ryokan is in the category of "traditional ryokans", recognised by Japan's goverment.
A ryokan is a classical Japanese hotel with futons on the floor and typical furniture (low tables, etc..).

Pros:
- It could not be more centrical. It is surrounded by shops, restaurants, 2 metro stations, 1 bus station, and just 1 minute walking from the famous Pochonto street.
- Also it has a great public bath, always very clean, and free access to internet in the lobby.
- Rooms are traditionally furnished. Ours was very big (it was a superior room).
- Breakfast is served in the room, which is very comfortable

Cons:
- It is so centrical, that there is noise during the night, especially in the weekends. Everyone is just passing by the street.
- Rooms are a little bit beat up. Everything is clean, but we missed the charm that we were expecting from a ryokan of this category. The furniture and the bathroom are worn out .
- Breakfast is a difficult proof in the morning. It is possible to choose between Japanese and Western style breakfast. None of them are satisfactory.
- Service can be considered both a good and a bad point. Breakfast is served in the room but only until 8.30. Half an hour earlier of your breakfast time, they knock on the door and 2-3 people enter the room to change bed linen. This is somehow strange, and we would have preferred to be on our own, and that they had changed bed linen once we had left the ryokan in the morning. In any case, it is important to acknowledge that in Japan this type of service is considered as a very good attention to the client.

Overall, we had a nice stay in the ryokan, maybe because it was our first ryokan in Japan. But if I have the opportunity to come back, I might try another ryokan in Kyoto.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2009

At first when I booked this ryokan I thought it would be a bit far from Kyoto main train station but the location was great. It was really easy to get to from the JR station. It's close to the intercity train station and we were right on the river. We had a really nice view from our ryokan of the river and the main street. We were close to a lot of the shopping and restaurant areas. The staff was really nice and helpful. My wife bought a yukata and the female staff helped her put it on correctly before leaving the ryokan that morning. They also offer free internet at this ryokan. I would definitely recommend this place to others. One more thing to add is if you do plan on staying out late, you should notify the ryokan staff so they know to let you into the ryokan.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2009

My friends & i stay'd @ Kamogawa-kan twice during the month of March. The ryokan staff was uber-kind & well-mannered! Although they couldn't speak English, they spoke in Japanese with plenty of hand gestures & body language. During our 2nd stay, we had more people & got a bigger renovated room - it was lovely. The Kaiseki, Shabu Shabu & breakfast were all very delicious & a great value. The ryokan is conveniently located at a corner on Sanjo by the Kamogawa River.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2008

This great ryokan is located by Kyoto's river and close to Pontocho, the famous street in the town centre. There is a metro station and a big bus station crossing the bridge.
Kind staff, nice rooms and a breakfast above average (try occidental style if you are tired of japanese breakfast) .
This ryokan has a big, clean and quiet onsen (japanese public bath) and free Internet service close to the reception.
Price is quite high specially if you are staying for 3or 4 nights but it is fair enough.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kamogawakan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamogawakan

Address: Chukyo-ku, Sanjo dori, Kawaramachi, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 604-8004, Japan
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #202 of 333 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kamogawakan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kamogawakan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kamogawakan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.