We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location, but.....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tozankaku

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tozankaku to your Saves list
Hotel Tozankaku
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   431 Myohoinmaekawacho, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto 605-0932, Kyoto Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #194 of 333 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
3.5 of 5 stars 84 Reviews
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“good location, but.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

The hotel is easy walking distance to the Gion district and Kiyomizu temple. We stayed in a Japanese style room, which was great, and it overlooked the courtyard garden. However, our girls were horrified to realize that the room had no bath or shower; the only option was to use the public bath. I did not realize this when I booked the room. As a result, they did not bathe for the duration of our stay, which fortunately was only two days.

There are a lot of tour groups passing through, probably because the hotel is a good deal. Also, there is only wifi in the lobby area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    38
    24
    3
    4
See reviews for
39
13
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed here over Easter while visiting my son at university in Kyoto. We booked a Japanese room - tatami mat, no bed. We wanted the authentic experience and we weren't disappointed. The room was fairly large, comfortable, and we overlooked the Japanese gardens below. Listening to the trickling waterfalls below was a great way to get off to sleep. Breakfast again was typical Japanese - very healthy and lots of fish, rice, seaweed etc. It took a while getting used to seeing people walking round the dining area in their kimonos after bathing, but that's just the way they do it. The only negative was that although we were close to some amenities we had to use the metro quite a bit to go sightseeing, which is probably true of most hotels you stay in Kyoto as everything is spread out.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Hotel Tozankaku was about a half-hour walk to the heart of the city. The accommodations were Western-style. The food was reasonable. The staff were very kind. Overall, the hotel was a decent place from which to enjoy Kyoto, but I wouldn't stay here again as it didn't have much character.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snoqualmie, Washington
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012 via mobile

Visiting japan from america. I rented two rooms at this hotel. One was a western style room which was my parents room and the second room for me and my wife and 2 kids was a Japanese style room.

I know what to expect when getting a Japanese room. The usual tatami mat, no bed, instead a futon is taken out and placed on the floor by the staff at night for you to sleep on. I chose this because I like this, its different than anything at home and these rooms accommodate children better. We chose the western room for my parents because they like beds to sleep on and had a shower in the room. The Japanese room would require you to use the Japanese public bath to get clean.

The quality of rooms could not have been so different. The Japanese rooms were large, nice, and comfortable, and overlook a garden area. The western rooms were small, dark, dingy, and placed along the busy street. The western rooms did not have an air conditioner either and made it very uncomfortable because if you opened the window, the street noise was too loud to sleep.

So if you choose to stay here. Stay in the Japanese style room. It's better, it's cheaper, and it's unique to Japan. This hotel is very close to many temples and a bus line 206 is right across from the hotel entrance and arrives regularly which goes write to kyoto station.

This hotel also included a breakfast buffet in our package. It had both Japanese and western style breakfasts. The western was the basics, eggs and bread and fresh fruit. The Japanese breakfast had much more selection.

Overall, the stay here was good. I am sure there is nicer hotels in Kyoto, but they would be much more expensive for sure. So for an overnight stay or two, this place would be recommended.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tozankaku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tozankaku

Address: 431 Myohoinmaekawacho, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto 605-0932, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #194 of 333 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tozankaku 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Tozankaku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tozankaku Hotel Kyoto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tozankaku, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.