We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kyoto Station - a Wonder of the Modern World” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Granvia Kyoto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Granvia Kyoto to your Saves list
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Higashi Shiokojicho, Shimogyo-ku | (JR Kyoto Station Karasuma-Central Entrance), Kyoto 600-8216, Kyoto Prefecture   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #18 of 333 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 1,791 Reviews
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Kyoto Station - a Wonder of the Modern World”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2009

Granvia Hotel Kyoto is located directly above the main railway station which is without doubt one of the most impressive architectural achievements in history. The Hotel itself is very impressive albeit somewhat daunting at first and occasionally exhausting to navigate by virtue of its huge size. We booked through Expedia and obtained a reasonable rate with no issues being given exactly the room type we had requested.

Front desk staff have excellent English and are courteous and helpful. They can offer suggestions and assistance with planning excursions and made our visit much more enjoyable - do not be put off by the formality and grandeur of the foyer.

Although it is a bit weird to be on top of an enormous busy station there is minimal noise due to double glazing and screens. The sheer convenience of immediate access to trains, subway and buses (all of which are required to access various parts of Kyoto and its surrounds) outweighs any negatives, and rooms are enormous by Japanese standards.

The station is surrounded by department stores and restaurants. Try Level 10 of the adjacent shopping complex where there is an assortment of the best and cheapest Ramen noodle cafes, with examples of regional cooking from all over Japan. Be prepared to order using the vending machines at the front door - waitresses will assist if you have trouble.

The ease of access to the trains means the Hotel provides an ideal base to explore as far away as Hiroshima, Himeji, Kobe, Osaka and so on using the Shinkansen (Bullet Trains) as day trips. Best nightlife and dining is near the river in Kyoto.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    999
    642
    113
    24
    13
See reviews for
473
701
124
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2009

Like all the other reviews state, this hotel is perfectly situated on top of Kyoto Station (generally where you'll arrive if travelling via train from Tokyo or elsewhere) The station is also where the main bus terminal is, which is the most popular (and easiest) way of getting around Kyoto. Finding the hotel initially was a bit tricky, as the station itself is like a small city... Easiest tip would be to get to the 'front' of the station, facing Kyoto Tower, look either side of you, and you should see two long escalators. Go to the one on the right, and it will take you directly into hotel lobby (the one on the left takes you to Mister Donut and another cafe!) The hotel staff were always polite and helpful, and spoke enough English for us to understand clearly. The concierge was especially helpful and spoke excellent English. The only negative point i have about this hotel is that our room was a really long walk from the lobby, i'm talking around 1/2 km or so!! at the end of each day of hard sight-seeing it made it all the more difficult to trudge for 10mins through the hallways to our room! Although, once inside, I cannot fault the room at all. The usual complimentary toiletries were provided (hair brush, hair ties, razor, toothbrush, cotton wipes etc) there was a flatscreen TV, tea & coffee making facilities (although i dont think these were complimentary?) The location is what puts this place above all others though... right above the station, which as i said is like a small city! there is an underground mall which i could've spent a whole day exploring, and the basement food hall (like most in Japan) was exceptional, and where we ate most breakfasts. We didnt try the hotel restaurants, as its always more fun (and economical) to explore the city. Overall an excellent choice, great value for money and thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

An excellent hôtel.

The rooms are very nice and spacious.

Don't be frighten by the location in the Kyoto station, it is super convenient when you travel from a city to another and the station is well connected to Kyoto center by busses and metro.

The concierge service were very helpful and friendly for lost tourists like us.

On the down side, the restaurants of the hotel are quite expensive but Kyoto offers a lot of dining possibilities.


Don't forget to visit the big food store in the basement of the station, it's a paradise for japanese food lovers.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

Superb location right in the heart of Kyoto, the hotel is an integral part of the new architectural gem that is Kyoto railway station - direct access to the local and Shinkansen services, the tube and the bus network. The station also contains a large mall of good quality shops, restaurants and coffee shops, as well as a tourist info centre and atm services. Right next door is an amazing underground mall with hundreds of high-quality shops and restaurants. The hotel has opulent public areas, superb service in Reception, luxurious standard room, oh-so comfortable beds. We didn't use them, but the hotel restaurants, and their own coffee shop next to reception , all looked fabulous. They had an excellent hire-a-laptop PC service at 1,000 yen per day and free internet connection, which was much more convenient than finding an internet cafe. We will definitely go back, and you couldn't ask for a more convenient location in such a fabulous city.
Excellent base for visiting other key cultural centres within easy reach - eg. Nara, Himeji Castle, Kobe, Osaka,.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2009

We use this hotel as the base to explore Himeji Castle, Osaka, hiroshima, Itsukushima and Nagoya plus all the attractions in Kyoto. Definitely go to JR's website for the best rate. They usually have huge discount if you stay for a couple days. We have Japan Rail Pass and can freely ride Shinkansen. Although you cannot ride Nozomi super express using Japan Rail Pass, you can book Hikari Rail Star which goes the same speed as Nozomi and the seat is equivalent to Nozomi first class seat !! Day trip to as far as Itsukushima can be done easily from Kyoto and the train station and reservation desk are right downstairs from the hotel. The hotel service is impeccable. We do not eat any meal in the hotel since our discount rate does not include breakfast. There are quite a few places to eat breakfast inside the Kyoto station. The room we stayed had an excellent view of Kyoto tower. We did not spend much time in our hotel room but enjoyed watching the street from our hotel room at night.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

I cannot add much to the previous 2 reviews. This was our second visit to the Granvia and I was as impressed as the first time. Although it is not central, it is really well placed to get to the scenic parts of Kyoto - most of which are in outlying areas. The rooms are large and the staff excellent. Breakfast is pricey but good value if you want one to set you up for the day. We ate in the Tempura restaurant which - while in a large hotel - nevertheless has the feel of small, family restaurant. Normally they offer a good deal for those on JR Rail passes. We were there in the peak Sakura rate and paid accordingly. But there were no rooms free in all Kyoto that week, so market forces prevailed. I'd happily go back again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

I have made countless day trips to Kyoto over the years, but rarely have I stayed overnight. This large hotel is just a part of the huge and architechturally fascinating building that towers over Kyoto station, but it definitely is not your typical station hotel. I booked on line and got a good rate and was then upgraded to a very nice and spacious double room with luxury bathroom with one of those showers that fires water at you from all angles. I ate out at one of the many restaurants in the neighbouring shopping arcade so can't comment much beyond the room, but it seems Japan Rail hotels have really got their acto together and if this is anything to go by then I will be using them more in the future.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Granvia Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granvia Kyoto

Address: 901 Higashi Shiokojicho, Shimogyo-ku | (JR Kyoto Station Karasuma-Central Entrance), Kyoto 600-8216, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 333 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Granvia Kyoto 4.5*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 15-story hotel atop Kyoto Station - Broadband connection in all guest and banquet rooms - Easy access to Kansai Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Granvia Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Granvia Kyoto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.